We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay in Mumbles”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Caswell Bay Chalet

Caswell Bay Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Caswell Bay Beach
Caswell Bay Caswell Bay from the Coastal Path
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Caswell Bay Beach
Caswell Bay
Caswell Bay from the Coastal Path
Caswell Bay Chalet
Caswell Bay Chalet
Open plan living/kitchen area
Open plan living/kitchen area
Caswell Bay Chalet Living Room
Kitchen area
Caswell Bay Chalet Double Bedroom
Caswell Bay Chalet Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Caswell Bay Beach
Caswell Bay
Caves on Caswell Beach
Caswell Beach shop
Caswell Bay Beach
Caswell Bay Cafe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bishopston, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jet817546
1 review
“Great place to stay in Mumbles”
Reviewed 21 September 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This was our first time at Caswell Bay and we loved it. The chalet was perfect for our family of four for a week’s stay. Great having a washing machine and all the other conveniences, as well as comfortable beds. The beach, which is just a short walk from the chalet, is perfect for children with lovely sand, lots of rock pools, little caves and streams to make dams in. This is a great location to explore the Gower from. Recommend the walk to Langland Bay from Caswell Bay - this will take you to another great beach.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2018
Thank you for your review. We're delighted you had a great stay and loved Caswell Bay and the beach. We do too! We're pleased that you were able to have fun on the beach and explore further afield too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
advantage...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay in Caswell Bay chalet”
Reviewed 20 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had a lovely long weekend stay in the chalet. It’s very clean, comfortable and well-equipped. Best of all is its close proximity to Caswell Bay which is very pretty with a gorgeous sandy beach. We had a very relaxing time and spent most of our time either on the beach, on the terrace of the cafe at the beach or enjoying the sun on the patio of the chalet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2018
Thank you for your great review - I'm glad you found everything to make your long weekend a comfortable and happy stay. You're right - Caswell Bay has a beautiful beach which is great for swimming, playing or sunbathing. Thanks for your booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E
1 review
“Lovely, cosy comfortable chalet, in beautiful, quiet & peaceful location”
Reviewed 13 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Myself & my partner both very much enjoyed our stay at 58 Summercliffe Chalet Park. Thank you so much!! A lovely cosy, comfortable chalet, equipped qith all the required items we needed. The bathroom has a lovely, warm power shower & is a decent size. The chalet also has a washing machine, with it's own washing line at the back,, which we found to be very useful. A peg bag with pegs are provided. It also has a large extendable dining table.
The only suggestions I can think of to improve the chalet would be a small table near the settee to place your tea cups, or a nest of tables. Also a butter dish would have been useful. But we managed by using a Pyrex dish to keep our butter in, provided in one of the kitchen cupboards. However, these are not criticisms. Just ways to improve the chalet.

The chalet has it's own car parking space at the front, storage shelves above the wardrobes, the double bed was comfortable, & we slept well. The chalet has wifi. A must these days to have access to the internet & email.

On arrival key is ready inside a coded box outside the chalet, so no need to arrive at a certain time to meet up with anyone for the key.

The chalet has blow air fan heaters, blowing warm air if feeling chilly. Or cold air on a hot summers day.

Outside is a wooden garden table with four chairs, where you can either eat or relax with a book, in the sun.

Caswell Bay beach is only a couple of minutes walk from the chalet & near to beautiful woodland walks. Caswell Bay has it's own beach cafe, & shops selling food & refreshments. Caswell Bay is beautiful. My partner has been travelling to Caswell, Bishopston as a young child & showed me the caves in which he used to play as a child, rocks to climb, rock pools & the underground stream which runs across the beach. It is a truly beautiful bay with lovely scenery.

There is an hourly bus service from Caswell Bay which takes you into Mumbles & Swansea City Centre. You can purchase an all day ticket and get on & off the bus as many times as you like. Travelling home on the last bus, the bus stops at the top of the hill, as opposed to Caswell Bay, but we always asked the driver to shout when it was our stop, and they were always friendly & helpful.

Rhossilli Bay, on the Gower is within driving distance. It is a beautiful, quiet and stunning beach. Well worth a visit. Accessible by climbing steps down to the beach. There is a restaurant & gift shops there, & is well worth a visit. You can see the ship wreck of the Helvetia sticking up out of the sand.

Oxwich Bay, 3 Cliffs Bay, & Port Eynon are also well worth a visit.

You can walk along the coastal path from Caswell Bay to Langland Bay. It is approximately a one & three quarter length mile walk, which is very enjoyable.

If looking for an amusement arcade there is one at Mumbles Pier.

Mumbles has two supermarkets. A Co-Op & a Tesco Express, which is open till 11PM at night. Even on a Sunday. Which we found to be very useful. A Post Office, banks, eating places. And two fruit shops.

Oystermouth Castle near the Mumbles & Cline Gardens, Swansea are well worth a visit.

Margaret, the owner of the chalet was very kind and helpful, although we didn't meet her in person. And provided us with the information we needed before and during our stay.

Myself and my partner loved our stay in your chalet and would definitely return again, next time we book a holiday on the Gower. Thank you so much for a lovely stay!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2018
Thank you for your amazing review - we are so happy you enjoyed your stay in the chalet and found it comfortable and well-equipped. We're also glad that you enjoyed revisiting childhood memories in the area. Caswell Bay is hard to beat for its beautiful beach and scenery and we're glad you enjoyed it and all that the area has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dream7892...
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Chalet was clean and comfortable. Families would enjoy the lovely beaches nearby. We enjoyed exploring the Gower and being close to The Mumbles.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2018
Thanks for your review and we are glad you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed fabulous weather. You're right, there are many beautiful bays and beaches on the Gower - I'm glad you managed to explore and enjoy the area. If you're ever visiting again, we'd be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare J
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, clean chalet”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We've just stayed at this chalet for a week. We were 2 adults and 2 children (8 and 12). The location is perfect, it's a 2 minute walk down the hill to the beach, which was fabulous. The chalet park was quiet and clean, everybody we saw was friendly.
The chalet is as it's described. For 4 of us it was good. We've stayed in larger chalets but not as close to the beach so the location made up for the reduced space.
The bedroom cupboards didn't have much space for clothing as they were streamline and we had packed for all weathers. There were shelves above the doors, which we stored our travel bags and suitcases on. In future I'd take less clothing as thankfully there is a washing machine.
The living space and kitchen was well equipped, there's a small fridge as well as the washing machine and we managed with it. It just meant that we had to go food shopping a little more often than we'd prefer. But everything was in good, working order.
The bathroom was clean and a good size.
The garden table and chairs were great and we ate outside most evenings. The chalet got the sun in the morning and until quite late in the day. The location allowed us good views up the park as it's well planted and we watched the birds most days.
You can park outside the chalet.
For us the location was perfect and we'd book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind review - we're delighted that you and your family had a good stay at Caswell Bay and enjoyed being so close to the beach. We're also glad that you found the chalet well-equipped for a family stay. You're right about the sun - we're lucky that it is one of the sun-facing chalets and it makes the chalet and the patio area, in particular, a real sun trap. Thank you again for booking with us and we'd be very happy to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing