We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful pool with views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bluebell Cottage looking out onto the vast green valley of Janaillat.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bluebell Cottage looking out onto the vast green valley of Janaillat.
Pool area with relaxing sun-loungers and amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days. Heated pool and terrace area, relax reading a book or just gaze out to the amazing views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Bluebell Cottage looking out onto the vast green valley of Janaillat.
Pool area with relaxing sun-loungers and amazing views, ideal for cooling off on hot sunny days.
Heated pool and terrace area, relax reading a book or just gaze out to the amazing views.
Large secure garden, with Children's Playarea, with playhouse, swings, slide and lots more toys.
Lounge with two large comfy sofas, Digital TV,DVD Player, Log Burner, I dock, games and books.
Fully Equipped with Dishwasher, Fridge, Washing Machine, Microwave, Cooker/Grill and Coffee Machine.
Fully Equipped Kitchen with direct access to the alfresco dining area & BBQ.
Dining Room to seat 10 people with Log Burner. We can also provide a highchair.
Bedroom 1: Double Room with amazing views, lots of original features & plenty of storage.
Bedrom 2: Double Room, with original beams, lovely views of the valley and ample storage.
Bedroom 3: Twin/Family Room, 2 Singles and a Double Sofa Bed, lots of Hanging and Drawer Storage.
Bedroom 4: Twin Room, with Velux window with blackout blind, Storage & electric heating.
Bathroom 2: with shower over bath, toilet and hand basin.
Bathroom 1: with Bath with Shower over, Toilet and Wash Hand Basin.
Relax & soak up the sun around the heated pool, whilst looking out on the amazing views.
Large Secure Garden at the rear of the property. We have swings, Football, Basketball,Badminton etc.
Views across the fields, there are lovely walks and cycling routes through the woodlands.
Lac Courtille in Gueret, only 25 mins away. Ideal for picnics, swimming or a leisurely walk
Lac de Vassiviere....with watersports, beaches or enjoy a & plat de jour& at the many restaurants.
Beach at Lac de Vassiviere, with Cafes, Restaurants and Watersports.
Tourist Train at Lac de Vassiviere, which transports you from the mainland to the island.
Zizim Tower in Bourganeuf, the nearest town with Supermarkets, Banks, cafes and Restaurants.
Inflatables & floats in the water at Lac de Vassiviere....loads of fun!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Janaillat, Creuse, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SimonY119...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Certainly not the holiday we'd hoped for”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

While Gite 2 is pleasant enough and the surrounding countryside is beautiful we certainly wouldn’t recommend staying at Meadow View as our holiday was totally overshadowed by the owners’, Jane & Bryan, completely disproportionate reaction to the accidental damage to a plastic garden table that occurred overnight due to an unexpected storm.

In Jane’s view we didn’t respond to her in a timely manner, which was simply because we were out for the day and not “online”, so she took to making very inappropriate remarks on social media. I think any rational holiday maker would agree that taking 24 hours to offer to pay for any damage is not unreasonable whilst on holiday. Surely a small amount of damage to a garden table does not constitute a major emergency, but if she felt so strongly it surely would have been more professional to call us on our mobile. Also the verbal abuse experienced by my wife and friend the next morning was completely unacceptable and no apology has ever been offered.

What we feel most strongly about is the blatant deceit over the cost of the replacement table, which is the main reason for highlighting to any potential guests as we feel unscrupulous owners should be shown up for such bad practice. On the day of departure we were told, and I quote “It was 90 wasn’t It Bryan”. Assuming worst case that Jane meant 90 pounds we accepted that and it was agreed this would be taken from our security deposit. To be absolutely clear, neither Jane nor Bryan ever offered any proof of purchase so her previous response to our friend’s TripAdvisor feedback on Gite 1 is simply a barefaced lie. However, after waiting a full 2 weeks for our refund, unlike our friends who got theirs back in a week, we were shocked to find they had actually kept £130. We immediately queried the amount and waited a further 3 days for Jane to respond with a very rude email stating she hadn’t “replied sooner as I do have a life away from just running this” and that we had paid for “2 tables at 90 euros each” and that she had thrown the receipt away!!

There are numerous examples of double standards and misrepresentations of the true facts within emails exchanged with her and general unpleasantness and ultimately we felt compelled to speak out and warn prospective guests. So make your own minds up as you only have to look through their feedback to start alarm bells ringing. You should also be aware that several of their ‘guests’ are actually their friends staying with them, so hardly people who will give an unbiased view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being on holiday with our friends
Liked least: Our, at best, deceitful hosts
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
We are very astounded by your untruthful account of events, and inappropriate remarks about our hosting competence.
Our guest handbook clearly states that any breakages or damages should be reported as soon as possible. My main point in all of this, was that the damage had been acknowledged by your wife on the morning it had happened but she chose to ignore it. Even when it was shown to her she firstly deigned all responsibility and wasn’t even willing to pay for the replacement tables. During the day the weather was very windy and it was quite obvious a storm was brewing, so my main point is why was the parasol put up that day, and why was it left up overnight? As for my comment on social media, the post you are referring too was completed unconnected to your incident, but your wife (through obvious gilt) decided to retaliate by saying sending me abusive messages and writing insulting posts on her page.
The amount of the replacement tables was told to you on your departure and a receipt was offered to you, which you said you didn’t need. This had to be brought up again at this stage, because no mention of offering to pay or any contribution was put forward by yourselves during your stay. Obviously you miss heard as the cost of €90 was per table and seeing as we could not replace the table with one large one that seated 8, we had to buy 2 smaller ones, so that future guests could be seated comfortably on the terrace. This cost was agreed to be taken from your “damage deposit” which we did, so I cannot see your issue with this as we have only done what we agreed.
We cannot believe that you have made should a massive point out of what should have been act of common sense to take the parasol down when the sun wasn’t even shining!
It’s a shame your review fails to mention the generous gesture of us doing a grocery shop for you & your friends for your arrival, the translation service offered by us to contact the doctor to make an appointment for you for your back problem, the bottle of wine you wife so desperately needed (and she ask us not to tell you about) and the from the start it appears that money seems to have been an issue as all your wife could insist on telling us was that your friend had been left destitute by her husband and that funds were going to be tight all holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockingha...
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful pool with views”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The gites - this one and the adjoining one, which is part of the complex - are in a beautiful setting with stunning views of the surrounding countryside. The house is spacious, well equipped and wonderfully cool on a hot day. The pool area is gorgeous and the shared garden is big enough for the kids to play football in. I am not sure how clear it is from the description but you have no "private" outside area. The patio area is open to the shared garden and the guests of the second gite have access to the garden via a gate which adjoins the terrace.
Janaillat is a rural and quiet hamlet. If you want to have a relaxing holiday to get way from it all, this the place for you. However the nearest shops, restaurants and everything else are a 20min. drive away. So if you are dreaming of fresh croissants for breakfast, it is quite a trip!
Bryan and Jan and their family who also live on the complex, are wonderful hosts and will help you with anything and everything. They even offered to go shopping for us prior to arrival as we arrived on Sunday, when all the shops were closed!
We were disappointed with the area. The surrounding towns and villages - with the exception of Benevant l'Abbaye - all seem to have an air of having seen better days. This may be charming for some but pretty cafes, restaurants and markets seem hard to find.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool with its stunning views
Liked least: Nearest facilities too far away
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your review. Oh it was a shame you never mentioned to you wanted fresh croissants & baguettes whilst younger here, as the local boulangerie is only in the next village and a short 3 minute drive away.
It also seems a shame that you didn’t see some of the wonderful tourist sites & attractions such as the “Labyrinthe Geant” the world’s largest permanent maze, or the many chateaux in the area or the paid a visit to the lakes with all the watersports & activities for all the family. The local villages have daily markets and we have loads of leaflets in the gite telling our guests all about the area, the restaurants & cafes and we will also have up to date information about fêtes and current events. We are always more than happy to offer recommendations and help in any way possible to ensure you all have a wonderful holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, Location, and Heated Pool
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iskamawma...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and something different”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My family and my friend's family have enjoyed our stay in the Gite, it was a different experience for us...very relaxing. The heated pool was great, Jane and Bryan were very warm and helpful. Our children have enjoyed walking around the village. I love the great sceneries near the Gite, great for taking pictures!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery
Liked least: None really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townley1
Luton Uk
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rural France at it's best.”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This property is set in a very small village that has no facilities so it is very quiet. The surrounding area is quite hilly and the scenery is beautiful. The accommodation and furnishings are all of a good standard but not luxurious - nonetheless more than adequate for holiday needs. There is a daily bread van but we found it better to go to another nearby village - St Dizzier - just over 3 miles. There is a good supermarket and weekly market in Bourganeuf - about a 20 minute drive. What makes this property so special is it location which we found ideal, coupled with the heated swimming pool - we had some great fun and relaxing times in and around it. In addition the owners Bryan and Jane are extremely helpful and a wealth of knowledge on local events and places to visit. It is a very child friendly property. Our extended family had an excellent holiday here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The whole holiday experience
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing