We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly lovely place”
Review of Doolin Cave

Doolin Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77,22*
and up
Cliff of Moher, Doolin Caves, Boat tour, visit...
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Doolin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Stunning Underworld Experience, the Great Stalactite at Doolin Cave is one of Europe's most compelling cave attractions. It is a truly unique and breathtaking experience:- the largest stalactite in the Norhern Hemisphere. Doolin Cave has a Farmland Nature Trail, which is FREE for its visitors.We have unusual breeds of chickens, sheep, cattle and alovely pygmy goat called Minnie, with her little kid called Vincent Van Goat or Vinnie for short.We have also planted lots of native trees and shrubs and wildflower meadows. Our cafe serves lovely fresh salads, soups, breads and homemade cakes We are very proud to announce that we have recently been awarded a Gold Award from Ecotourism Ireland. Hurray!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found myself at the Doolin Cave rather unexpectedly (2 flat tires will cause all sorts of havoc to plans!) and went on a tour. I must say that the delight of the tour guide--Jim-- and the beauty of the cave helped make my day much better than it was shaping up to!! Jim's telling of the story of the explorers--2 young men-- and the development of the cave for us to view it was full of warmth. He is a good storyteller!! There are stairs down into the cave and back up, so be prepared.
Don't forget to view their small collection of animals--unusual ones for the area--and walk the nature path. Interesting!!

Thank Walkers5257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"largest stalactite"
in 41 reviews
"hard hats"
in 37 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 60 reviews
"nature trail"
in 28 reviews
"main chamber"
in 10 reviews
"gift shop"
in 23 reviews
"rainy day"
in 21 reviews
"great tour"
in 25 reviews
"natural wonder"
in 11 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 12 reviews
"worth the effort"
in 9 reviews
"steps"
in 170 reviews
"stalactites"
in 33 reviews
"jim"
in 40 reviews
"clay"
in 13 reviews
"claustrophobic"
in 24 reviews
"discovery"
in 31 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Doolin Cave while travelling round the area. Was totally amazed. Very informative guide, well worth the entry fee. Nice walks to enjoy around the cave including the 'fairy garden' .

Thank sallybrethy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for visiting Doolin Cave and for the Best Review Ever!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here on a wet day while staying in Doolin. The visit isn’t long, the underground tour lasts about 50 minutes. But you get to see a most magnificent Stalactite. The guide was knowledgeable and during the tour talked about how the cave with the stalactite was discovered.
The visitor centre has a cafe, shop and more information displayed on wall boards with photographs of the early days after the discovery and background information about the geology of the area and how the stalactite was formed.
You might be able to make this a two hour visit and for 13eu per person I’d say it’s worthwhile.

1  Thank SeeJayKay_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting Doolin Cave and for writing this review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit. It was unfortunate it was a wet day and that you were not able to enjoy our 1km farmland nature trail. Maybe next time, when you are in the area. Thanks again for your reccommendation!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent five days up in Doolin touring around the west of Ireland. My granddaughters love caves, so we found a couple to visit. They loved the Doolin Cave with its amazing stalactite! The tour was a good length, both distance and time. I would caution about the 125 steps you must navigate to get down and back to access the cave. Wouldn’t recommend if you have any mobility issues, nor for very young children. Grandkids loved it. It’s a fun family day trip.

Thank Jahnmumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B, Manager at Doolin Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting Doolin Cave and writing this review about the amazing Stalactite. It is spectacular, a true wonder of nature!
Well done for taking on the steps but they are a lot easier than the route taken in 1952.
We are delighted your grandchildren loved Doolin Cave and all the family had a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tour of the was very informative. The children enjoyed it and so did the adults. The 8 and 10 year olds were bursting with facts they learned! There are also farm animals on the grounds and the children especially enjoyed the sheep. The cafe is fantastic! The sandwiches were incredibly delicious, the scones and cream were delightful and the pot of hot tea was brewed to perfection. I would go there everyday for lunch if I could! And the cook was so friendly and pleasant......the children adored her and so did we! This was a perfect place and we’re so glad we went there! We highly recommend it. And don’t let looks deceive you.......it doesn’t look like much so be prepared to be happily surprised!

Thank coopman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doolin Cave also viewed

 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to Doolin Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing