We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved”
Review of The Kings head

The Kings head
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Hilton
Price range: US$7 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Pub
Description: It's great to be back! Thank you for your ongoing support over the last year. A few things to consider before you visit: Booking is not essential, though we would recommend you book in advance. Outdoor service is limited to guests in groups of six or two households (no limit on number) is permitted. Please note we may need to vary our opening hours and food service times given the time of year and the unpredictable nature of our Great British weather! Track and trace requirements have changed meaning all guests over 16 years of age must check in and provide their contact details. Unfortunately we must refuse service if guests do not comply. To get the most up-to-date notices on our re-opening, keep an eye on our Facebook page. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Restaurant details
Description: It's great to be back! Thank you for your ongoing support over the last year. A few things to consider before you visit: Booking is not essential, though we would recommend you book in advance. Outdoor service is limited to guests in groups of six or two households (no limit on number) is permitted. Please note we may need to vary our opening hours and food service times given the time of year and the unpredictable nature of our Great British weather! Track and trace requirements have changed meaning all guests over 16 years of age must check in and provide their contact details. Unfortunately we must refuse service if guests do not comply. To get the most up-to-date notices on our re-opening, keep an eye on our Facebook page. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Reviewed 9 October 2021 via mobile

New gaffer Ian has really made a difference to go over and above to offer a great customer experience.
Standard pub grub, but good.
Family and dog friendly. A real community boozer.
Give Ian your support- he’s worth it!
Cheers Ian- mini is still going strong ;-)

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank leejeff18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2021 via mobile

Booked at last minute for 10 people after a day out to celebrate a birthday. Very welcoming and food was really nice. Certainly will be going back.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Fearless34618043645
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

Awful food, cold, badly cooked with rock hard burger bun and soggy pasty on pies. Yeuk. We all left food on our plates never to return. Person behind bar apologising for how terrible they know the place is.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank LetsHopeTheSunShines
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 April 2021

Visited the pub the first week the pubs opened up after lockdown. Although the pub was busy (to be expected on a Sunny Saturday afternoon) the staff worked hard non-stop to ensure good service and were polite and friendly.

Felt comfortable outside with the amount of open space the pub has and how the staff have gone to the effort to make sure tables are spaced apart to ensure social distancing. When using the toilet there's plenty of hand soap and a sanitiser fixed onto the wall next to the door. Plus the track and trace is easy to find and register on.

My friends and I enjoyed the visit that much, I decided to go again a week later with my dad.

If I were to pick fault it would be with Marston's Brewery not developing an app for this pub (if not all their pubs). I feel it would make the lives of all the staff much easier when delivering drinks and taking payments

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2021

Visited at the weekend with a bunch of friends, and super impressed by all the measures put in place. All staff wearing masks, hand sanitiser on all entries to go to the toilets, quick service (especially as it’s outside online). Proper pub food to a great quality, and good choice of drinks. Felt comfor

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank MorganJok19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Kings head also viewed

 
Etwall, Derbyshire
Etwall, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Kings head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.