We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic relaxed, child & parent friendly...”

Review of Le Cerisier

Heated, fenced swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated, fenced swimming pool
Main house, gite and gardens Le Cerisier kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Heated, fenced swimming pool
Main house, gite and gardens
Le Cerisier kitchen
Le Cerisier kitchen
Dresser
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier sitting room
Le Cerisier king room
Le Cerisier master bedroom
Le Cerisier double room
Le Cerisier twin room
Le Cerisier bathroom with full sized bath
Private garden Le Cerisier
Enjoying the heated pool
Large walled garden
Having fun by the swings
Twiglet our cat
Main gardens
Heated pool
Main gardens
Main house
La Rochelle
St Palais
Ile de Ré
St Jean d'Angèly colourful market town 10 mins away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Villeneuve la Comtesse, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bigjlevy
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic relaxed, child & parent friendly, luxury French gîtes”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled by car from Calais to the gîte in Tout Y Faut and after the 7 hour drive, we were warmly greeted by the owners/family, and settled in nicely with a welcome bottle of Champagne.

We stayed in the Le Cerisier gîte and the restoration from old side building to spacious luxury holiday home is remarkable, with everything you could ask for in situ or provided.

The finish is high spec and attention has been given not just to function but also the look and feel. The bedrooms offered individuality and continued the theme of being fitted out with character furnishing and finishes.

The location was semi isolated with a 10/15 min walk/jog to the Boulangerie - Patisserie in the morning and local Intermarche 10min drive.

We were 15/20mins drive from Surgères and 40/45 mins from La Rochelle and very much in farming country. However even though we visited La Rochelle, Châtelaillon-Plage and Saint Savinien the joy was not having to leave the grounds as the best aspects for our holiday were feeling that we didn't have to any other than relax and have fun with the children in the garden and pool of the gîte. Football on the lawn, chasing around the gardens and trees and jumping in the swimming pool. These were the highlights and the attraction of a fantastic family holiday.

As parent we could relax completely knowing all bases were covered in regards to a secure and safe environment for the children, from the walled and gated grounds to the fenced and security gated swimming pool.

In all great thought had been given to the small details that are so important which made our stay, one we'd like to replicate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed feel the gite offered and the walled garden and pool.
Liked least: The distance to local Boulangerie
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JvanK
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Gites, Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed 24 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have now had 5 holidays in Sue and Simon's lovely gites. All have been fantastic largely down to the gites themselves, the wonderful pool and garden and of course the owners - Sue and Simon.
The gites are beautifully decorated, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The spacious garden and pool are a big hit with all members of our family - the garden has plenty of space for running around whilst parents can relax in the gite's own garden area. Sue and Simon are great hosts - nothing is to much trouble and their local knowledge is invaluable. We've had some great day trips and meals out based on their recommendations, not to mention the odd convivial evening sharing a bottle of wine.
Despite having spent 5 holidays here, we have yet to see and do all that the local area has to offer. It has the perfect mix of beaches, towns, cities, villages and countryside all within a 45 minute drive. It may sound cliché, but there really is something for everyone in this location.
We've yet to find a holiday home that compares to the gites in Tout Y Faut - so have stopped trying to and will be back for our sixth return visit next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gites and the warm and friendly welcome we received.
Liked least: Having to come home at the end off our stay!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Most relaxing stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I stayed in Cognassier with my parents, husband and 2 young children (3 and 5). We had a lovely welcome and a fabulous stay. The house is fantastically equipped for all ages and I needn't have taken any toys for the children at all. The pool and garden is gorgeous and we felt totally away from it all! Nearby are lots of places to visit and good food and wine too. Sue, Simon and their family made us feel totally at home and I would definately recommend it to anyone - Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: Too short a stay
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
squalshie
Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top class accomodation in a relaxing setting”
Reviewed 11 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Le Cognassier for a week in July, 2012 and had a fantastic holiday. The accomodation is top class. Spacious, immaculately clean, situated in a beautiful setting. Sue and Simon were excellent hosts and Harry and Lucy were great friends to our 12 year old boy and 10 year old girl who enjoyed many a cricket and basketball competition while we relaxed in the gardens in the evening. A well stocked co-op shop and very nice boulangerie are within a 5 mintue drive, while larger super markets are only 10-15 minutes away. There is also a restaurant with take away pizza within 5 minutes walk. The Gite is ideally situated to explore the region. We had great trips to Il de Rey (St Martin de Rey is a must visit for its designer shops and top class restaurants), La Rochelle, with is beautiful seafront, aquarium and shops, boating on the Charante in electric boats in Saintes, and enjoying the Blues festival in Cognac. Stunning beaches are about 45 minutes drive away. We could definitely see ourselves revisiting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of accomodation and the hospitality of the owners
Liked least: We were unfortunate with the weather, but it didn't impact on the holiday - we were just unlucky
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy I
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Family Holiday - In picturesque setting”
Reviewed 25 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at one of the Gites at Tout Y Faut the last week of May / First week of June and travelled down from England via the Eurotunnel.
We were met with a warm welcome and settled in very quickly to the Gite which was large and very well kept in terms of decor, cleanliness and facilities, I also saw the other Gite which is slightly different in layout but the same in all other respects.
The garden is very large and beautifully kept by Simon. It is secure with walls surrounding. This was ideal as we have young kids as did the couple staying in the adjacent Gite, and therefore we were all able to fully relax knowing that they were in a completely safe environment. The pool is heated and clean and is maintained daily. It is also fairly shallow, so good for kids learning to swim and perhaps safer than a typical pool, in my opinion. The pool is also gated with a mechanism that cannot be opened by very young kids, again for their safety. Each Gite also has a small private garden with table and chairs for outside dining and relaxing. We had a couple of memorable BBQ evenings with Sue, Simon and the other family staying, which really made the holiday even more fun for everyone.
The surrounding areas are well worth exploring and we made several excursions out: including The beach, LaRochelle and Il de re which are among the best places we have visited on our travels.
I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a family holiday with children as the Paine family are very warm, welcoming and great fun to be with. Playing cricket on the lawn as the sun was setting followed by a few glasses of wine and a few laughs with new friends who seemed like old friends. Holiday Heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything: Garden, Pool, Gite, location and the Paine Family
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing