We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing - Fabulous accommodation and views!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The house and beach
Sunrise to front showing the balcony and sand at low tide - A perfect place for breakfast
Part of the view from the balcony
The dining table and through to the kitchen
the beach from the top of the back garden
The house and beach
The private beach picnic area in the garden to the side of the Boathouse
The Boathouse and driveway showing parking to the rear
Part of the view from the balcony with the tide out
Breakfast on the balcony
Sunbeams on the driveway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Llanbedrog, Pwllheli, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SRoss66
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The Poorhouse!!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
5
people found this review helpful

The Views from the Boathouse are spectacular! however, our experience was rather disapointing ,this is the first holiday cottage I have seen a mouse trap in the sitting room,the sofa's had an odour of dirty nappies and baby lotion, we would presume the previous occupants had used them as baby changing facilies, although the kitchen was well appointed the cleanleness of the sink cupboard was deplorable, the maintenance in some area's was a bit poor and the Boathouse is looking very tired inside, the TV unit had a precariously stacked entertainment system on top of a stool, we found this unusual feature strange in what was described as a higher end holiday cottage and verging on dangerous.

The bathroom had a rusty heated towel rail, the shower screen which needed a good cleaning, the seal was covered in mould, the shower head was unacceptably contaminated with fungal mould which is generally publicesed as a major countributor of lung disease and legionnaires disease, hopfully we will survive this experience.

We have included photos of these problems, also the stained carpets and poor general maintenance, we also booked the cottage before being informed it was accessible down a narrow track which would not be lend itself well to larger cars, it also means regularly opening and closing gates, we are fortunate we only had an Audi A3 and managed to get to the property and did not have to park 300 yards away and walk down the dark unlit wooded track with our bags etc.

Overall, the Boathouse was not of the quality we expected although the views are spectular, as it is situated on Cardigan Bay looking across to Snowdon, we felt this is what it has been sold on but is generally over priced as we would consider it to be more hostel accomadation, we most certainly will not return, upon informing the owner of our disapponting stay, we were less than impressed by his attitude, and do not feel the quality of this property will be addressed as it is currently up for sale.

We hope people find this honest review helpful, although we found it overpriced for two people, larger groups would obviously be more cost effective although it would still be of low quality .....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: the cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
Anger, frustration, sadness…...all emotions that I felt when I first read this review by someone knowingly misrepresenting one of the most iconic properties in North Wales
Firstly this review should be read in the context that this guest stayed for the duration of her holiday – having been provided (as all guests are) with my personal mobile number and the written instruction to call me immediately if she had any problems. She didn’t contact me at all, only asking for her money back once she arrived home.
For further context EVERY REVIEW this person has ever written while in Wales lists EVERYTHING to be either POOR or OVERPRICED (whether that be accommodation or any of the pubs or restaurants she has visited) Finally the review was only placed a month after her holiday when her spurious demands for compensation were rejected.
Had she rung me the day she arrived to express her disappointment I would have instructed the cleaning company to deal with any issues whatsoever (even to clean the offending base shelf of the cleaner’s cupboard that she has photographed – notice there are no photos of cupboards anyone staying would ever actually use)
We would always cater to clients reasonable requests immediately – it would be commercial suicide not to.
For the last 6 years we have enjoyed a massive level of repeat guests and never a single complaint from anyone before this mainly inaccurate review.
The TV unit was removed before this guest’s visit because it had been damaged – a brand new unit is now in place.
However, I also need to address the factual inaccuracies
The beautiful avenue driveway (clearly photographed on the website) is regularly used by our delivery lorries and vans and so cars of every shape and size can drive to the allocated parking directly behind The Boathouse. The Boathouse lounge does not contain a “mousetrap” and The Boathouse is not currently for sale.
There is a gate at each end of the driveway (again clearly shown in the photos) but in all honesty I cannot understand how having to open a garden gate could spoil anyone’s holiday.
In her original complaint letter to me she wrote that she felt the accommodation was worthy of a 3 star grading – for this review I see she has listed it as “Terrible” and “hostel accomadation” {sic} – obviously for effect, but knowingly an utterly false misrepresentation of the level of accommodation.
I suppose it was inevitable that we would eventually encounter somebody whom it was literally impossible to please, although we were not even given the opportunity to try, as she stayed the entire duration of her holiday without contacting us whilst there. Perhaps she was too busy producing the largely magnified photographs she has placed on the site vastly increasing the scale and size of any small issues she may have found.
I can only compare this guest to someone who eats a full meal at the restaurant, licks their plate, and then says they didn’t like it, asking for their money back.
I see that the guest considers her review to be honest – I am afraid I cannot agree with her and neither will you the moment you walk through the door.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne T
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing - Fabulous accommodation and views!!”
Reviewed 23 March 2013 for a stay in June 2012

The property was amazing, very spacious and well equipped. Very comfortable beds and so clean. The surroundings and views are absolutely breathtaking. Will definately go back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
Thanks for your lovely review - Next year's booking is already in the diary and we look forward to welcoming you back then!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jw73drhh
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A stunningly beautiful place of retreat.”
Reviewed 7 March 2013 for a stay in October 2012

Having stayed at the boathouse now several times over several years I can honestly say that there are few places quite so beautiful. Set on the beachfront, when the tide comes in there is a real sense of seclusion. Sunset and sunrise on the balcony looking over the bay to Snowdonia is breathtaking. A walk to the top of the mountain at the foot of which the house sits affords specacular views of this spectacular coastline. The house itslef is generously appointed with all the necessary requirements for a home from home. Good kitchen appliances and equipment, BT vision for those quiet nights in and good quality linen.
In many ways I am retiscent to put this review online as I would love to keep it for myself. However, recognising that I cannot be there all the time it is only fair to share this with like minded people who can appreciate what a special place this is.
I wholehearedly recommend the boathouses to you at any time of year...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
Thanks for your lovely review - next year's booking is already in the diary and we look forward to welcoming you back then!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing