We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Xmas at the priory

Magical day at the priory today. We were a family group with grandparents, parents, a 6 year old... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Flaming1
via mobile
Christmas gift and craft fair

This is a little gem on our doorstep! The house is absolutely lovely and the volunteers... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
judys860
,
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 302 reviews
  
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
187
89
17
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
89
17
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bronze age cafe menu gardens are beautiful children's playground historic house well worth a visit henry viii tudor kitchen relaxing place to visit dressing up clothes great barn cakes lovely visit group visit old england water mill national trust properties
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

I have been many times to this property with and without children. I have enjoyed the experience every time. Kids can dress up and recreate Tudor times. It's a great day out.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Valentina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

We arrived on an afternoon when they were setting up for a Medieval Weekend so had to dodge cars, portaloo deliveries and people erecting tents etc. which were everywhere. We did manage to get a few photographs of the house before the view was completely obscured but we were not happy about it.
However, the house itself was very interesting and the guides more than helpful. The map to the house and grounds was in the house - it might be a better to hand out a paper version on entry - that way visitors would understand that the gravelled areas formed part of the original buildings - not some obscure garden design feature.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sandie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

A lovely building showing different periods in time/history with great exhibits of several different periods in time, lovely walks in the gardens around the moat. Interesting wildlife, good food and drink, interesting items in the shop.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank andrewboulden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Go for a walk, tea or to explore this wonderful survivor... a very special place with great people working hard to keep it so. A triumph!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Gazzard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Very interesting place to visit,very informative staff who talk you through the interesting facts.
Plenty to see and do with lovely walks around the gardens and a very good cafe too.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews