We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing holiday in the Vendee”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Lairoux, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian T
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday in the Vendee”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have stayed in a number of holiday gites in France and in the UK and our stay in Le Vieux cafe was one of the best holidays we have had. The Le Vieux Cafe is very well equipped with no need to bring anything from home. All the rooms are large, light and airy with comfortable beds and plenty of space to store your clothes. Even a laptop is available with WiFi. You don't have to miss any favourite TV programmes as English channels are available.

The swimming pool is heated and is kept very clean, the area around the pool is very spacious, a lovely place to sit on sunny days.

An added bonus is a well equipped gym with a running machine, rowing machine, weights, and exercise mats. There is also a games room where you can play table tennis, and there are a number of DVD's and books to stop the children getting bored if the weather is bad.

Our hosts Annette and Jason made us very welcome, we enjoyed our holiday so much this year we have booked another holiday in their gite for another two weeks next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A very relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Weather could have been a bit better.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tizkirsty
North Tawton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for kids and all the family”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This property is very well placed - close to beaches and lots of interesting places to visit. We went on holiday with our five children (from age 3 to 15) plus the grandparents - fun for all the family. I was pleasantly surprised how well the property is stocked with everything you could possibly need in the kitchen and the owners would find you whatever you needed if you were to ask. Jason even lent us his telescope! (very clear/dark skys) Fantastic games room amazing DVD/book library. Swimming pool was clean and warm every day. Can't thank our hosts enough for making our stay such a pleasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warchild6...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Where do I start, great hosts, ideal location, fantastic facilities - plenty for everyone whatever you want from a holiday - highly recommend to anyone

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ethomas73
1 review
“Beautiful property, excellent location”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a fantastic time at le vieux cafe . Beautiful property which is very well maintained and every facility you could think of for the children. Well located near numerous attractions. Would love to go back !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tannerct
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect location, house and hosts.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Absolutely fabulous gite, catering for all your needs. The games room, garden and swimming pool were fantastic, with a wide range of toys, games, books and DVD's for all ages, there is no need to take anything with you other than your clothes. Jason and Annette were extremely welcoming hosts, very knowledgeable about the area and wanted to make out stay as perfect as they could. I would thoroughly recommend the gites to anyone with families as there is so much for the children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool and games room
Liked least: there was nothing to not like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing