We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Curzon, Vendee, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mindyroz
Maisons-Laffitte, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Jacqueline and Gil went out of their way to make our stay an amazing experience. It was so nice to come back to our suite after sightseeing and seeing our room cleaned, water bottles and chocolate treats waiting for us. Our first evening, Gil prepared a delicious dinner. He knew I didn't care for alcohol and he bought a special non alcoholic drink that you add syrup to, so I wouldn't feel left out while the others drank the local wine. One morning, we slept in and after having a delicious breakfast prepared by our hosts, we enjoyed the pool. The location was great and we took day trips every day to explore the area. Gil and Jacqueline gave lots of suggestions for seeing the sights and their favorite restaurants for each place. They have books, flyers and maps to help navigate the area. I had mentioned that we really enjoyed the home made jam that was served during breakfast. On our departure, Gil presented us with a big jar for us to take home. Like I said earlier, they went above and beyond with their hospitality. My husband and I decided we for sure want to go back again and maybe with our kids. Even though we didn't know Jacqueline and Gil before our stay, I know we made new friends and will look forward to seeing them again in the very near future! Gros Bisous and Merci.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Many thanks for choosing us and your kind review. It was great to spend time with you and to share stories over dinner. I'm sure, like you, that we will remain good friends. We hope to see the boys next time!

Our very best wishes to you all
Jacqueline and Gil
Le Clos du Marais
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all wonderful, the shabby chic style with luxury, the two beautiful dogs that resided there and the welcome we received from Gil
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helen M
1 review
“There was nothing we didn't love”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 10 days at the Clos dun Marais with the most wonderful hosts in Jacqueline and Gil. A wonderful place to relax away from the normal stress and hustle and bustle of our busy lives. Absolutely superb accommodation and superb hosts whose warmth and consideration for their guests is second to none. All the 'excellent' reviews are correct in their comments regarding the wonderful alfresco breakfasts to the entertaining and fun dinner parties serving up Gils delicious French food, the gorgeous pool and excellent accommodation. In addition to the above we enjoyed a day out in La Rochelle , a beautiful port town with wonderful eateries, exploring the immediate area right outside of Le cold du marais with its rich abundance of wildlife and the most glorious deserted beaches.
Most importantly the utter quiet and peacefulness was a tonic that relieved the stress of our normal lives.
There was nothing my husband and I did not love about our holiday and I can't recommend it enough. Thank you Gil and Jacqueline.
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jacqueline and Gil
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy R
Pewsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our second visit to stay in this little bit of paradise.
It was as lovely as ever with more little details added from last time.
As ever Jacqueline's homemade jam and Gill's fantastic meals made the holiday.
We had meals every night which rivaled any good restaurant courtesy of chef 'Gill'
The location is near fantastic beaches and attractions, so plenty to do during the day
It was really like staying with friends and we will return

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
That's so kind Tracy. It was so nice to see you all again. We can't wait to see you, hopefully next year. Caramel and Hortense are waiting!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven P
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little paradise in France”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Le Clos du Marais. Very friendly owners,.Jacqueline and Gil are warm people, always there to give advice of information. The room was nice and clean. After a daytrip we could jump in het swinningpool to relax.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2016
Many thanks Steven

It was an absolute pleasure to have you both stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Jacqueline and Gil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing