We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful find!”
other travellers have booked this property
Private and sheltered courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private and sheltered courtyard
Time for bed The perfect spot for a morning coffee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Private and sheltered courtyard
Time for bed
The perfect spot for a morning coffee
Living room
Duck pond
Bedroom dressed for a proposal (and she said yes!)
Relax in the sunny garden
Garden patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Sidlesham, Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tony O
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Found on Facebook advertising as dog friendly accommodation. We loved the stable accommodation located on a lovely peaceful road. Julia gave us some excellent advice on places to eat The Crab & Lobster 5 mins walk away booking in advance a necessity! We also visited the Crown & Anchor in Dell Quay both served fantastic food & the staff were very friendly. There were lovely walks around the area particularly around Pagham harbour. Thank you to Julia for making the extra effort to making our stay so enjoyable. We hope to visit again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
It's good to know that you enjoyed your stay and the local eateries and I look forward to welcoming you again - Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roboncio
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great accommodation for a short break”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here in mid August for 3 nights attracted by the flexibility of the dates on offer and also the property was dog friendly. We needed to be in Chichester but this was very convenient.

The property is very attractive and very well appointed for its size and we appreciated the welcome pack. Although there were 3 of us there was ample room. The enclosed garden was great and it was lovely to sit out when sunny. Some lovely walks around Church Norton.

The TV reception was a bit intermittent but we didn't use it much anyway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review and I hope to welcome you again - Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great weekend break!”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here while we in Sidlesham for a wedding. Rather than heading down for just a night, we decided to stay for the weekend and this place was just perfect. Julia is a great host and made us feel very welcome. The accommodation is very comfortable and the little touches on arrival are just what you need after a Friday afternoon drive, especially the white wine that was chilling in the fridge! The garden is lovely - we had sun for breakfast and for dinner.

The local area is stunning - if you like to run or walk, there are plenty of public footpaths that take you through some beautiful Sussex countryside. We plan to go back again so that we can explore more of the local area and just relax in an amazing setting. We can highly recommend The Stable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely review! So glad you enjoyed your stay and the wedding and I look forward to welcoming you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon S
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I'll let you in on a little Secret.....”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I were looking for a couple of days away from our busy and stressful life so we grabbed our small dog and headed to the seaside.
The Stable at Rookery Farm Barn is a self-catering holiday cottage located 4 miles off the A27, south of Chichester.
We turned into Rookery Lane driving past a handful of small houses and were soon in open countryside with cornfields. After about 1/2 mile The Stable at Rookery Farm Barn Comes up on the right and we parked next to a small duck pond. The Stable has its own enterance which leads into a little courtyard and to the front door. Also off this little courtyard is a very private walled garden for the exclusive use of guests of the Stables (complete with BBQ).
The owner Julia met us in the courtyard and showed us around. The Stable is essentially a one bedroom holiday cottage with a very well equipped small kitchen with dining area, seating area with TV and views of the garden and a lovely bathroom with shower, sink and wc. It is very well presented and very clean. Julia had stocked the kitchen with a kind of 'starter Pack' including tea, coffee, fruit juice, milk, wine and snacks just to welcome us.
The Stable also has condiments including vinegar, tomato sauce, HP sauce, mayonnaise and marmalade. We were given lots of information about the area and directed to the local pub 'The Crab and Lobster' which is just a 6 min walk away and serves really top class food, wine, beer and real ale. Julia is lovely and the perfect host and left us very much to ourselves but giving us her mobile number saying text if you need anything and I am 2 mins away. We didn't need anything but before Julia left us she let us into a little secret. Just 10 mins away, past a farm shop, near a Church and after walking past wild life you come to a beautiful beach that the rest of the UK does not know about. We went and found ourselves on a beach, on the south coast, on a hot sunny day in July and we were the only people there. It was prefect for us and far from the madding crowd. If you would like to see this place too just ask Julia but don't say I said.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Thank you and good to know that you enjoyed your stay. My best kept secret is not so secret now .....! I hope to welcome you both again and Lulu, of course. xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joerg M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Stable is a beautiful, charming and well equipped accommodation. Everything is perfectly clean and lovingly decorated. Julia was very sweet and we were warmly welcomed with a generous tray full of crisps, cookies, tea etc. We couldn't have asked for more! Thank you for making our stay a very pleasant one!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2015
Hi Joerg! It was a pleasure to meet you and your lovely family. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you all enjoyed the rest of your trip to the UK. Thank you for your lovely review and I hope to welcome you again - Jx (I wish I could speak a foreign language as well as you do!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing