We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully welcoming Welsh retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Byre

The Byre, a safe and happy place for dogs and people alike, the side field
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre, a safe and happy place for dogs and people alike, the side field
The Byre Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Byre, a safe and happy place for dogs and people alike, the side field
The Byre
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
Looking out of the bedroom window, Spring is yellow in Pembrokeshire
Hallway/Kitchen
Entrance hallway
By the gateway
The stream runs round two sides, great for doggy paddles
The top field with Frenni Fawr in the distance
The public footpath that crosses the top field and goes to Blaenffos
Red Kite hunting over the middle field
The middle of the three lower fields, looking across the valley
Far field
The bridle path, accessible from the top and middle fields
The bridle path with the Preseli hills in the distance
The property is surrounded by green fields
The footpath looking towards Blaenffos
The Preseli ridge in winter, looking east towards Carn Menyn
Newport Bay from Carn Ingli top
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Boncath, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GwenM636
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully welcoming Welsh retreat”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Wendy and Stephen’s lovely cottage last week while in Pembrokeshire visiting friends, and what a wonderful place it is! The Byre is at the end of a track which winds its way down to the property, providing stunning views over the Preseli Mountains and the surrounding countryside. The cottage itself is a stone building which has been renovated to an exceptionally high standard for a 4* holiday let; I’ve stayed in 5* hotels that haven’t come close in terms of the cleanliness and comfort.

When I arrived I found a lovely welcome tray of Welsh goodies and some particularly yummy home-made Welsh cakes. My two dogs had come with me on holiday and they weren’t forgotten in the welcome as Wendy had made some lovely biscuits for them as well. In my rush leaving home, I’d forgotten to bring one of the dog’s beds, so Wendy and Stephen (or should I say Robbie, their bouncy border collie pup) kindly lent me one.

As I said, I was in Pembrokeshire visiting friends, so didn’t have to be up early, which was lucky as I slept exceptionally well throughout the week; the combination of Pembrokeshire air, a comfortable bed and the peace and quiet you only really get in such a tranquil spot made for a super week away. Thank you Wendy and Stephen, I’ll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome.
Liked least: Having to go home at the end of the week.
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June J
welsh Saint Donats
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A mixture of positives and negatives”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Positives: The Byre was clean and well presented. The suitability for accommodating dogs was excellent and as described.
Negatives: The lane leading to the property from the main road was slightly over 1km in length and in a very bad state. We drove it at approximately 5 mph to minimise damage to our car. There were few passing places and meeting another vehicle could necessitate reversing a considerable distance. We live in rural area and are used to narrow lanes and passing places, but the condition of the access to the Byre was unacceptable to us.
We encountered problems with the heating system on arrival, it was a cold evening in October and the heating did not kick in until 8.30pm in the evening and again not until 7.30am the following morning. Wendy's mother who checked us in was unable to help and the situation was not resolved until Stephen came over to the cottage at 8.30am the following morning.
We accept that a preference for a hard or soft bed varies with individuals but we found the bed in the Byre uncomfortable and did not sleep well.
Finally Wendy made no attempt to give us a warm Welsh welcome during our stay, although we caught glimpse of her on several occasions. Our only other contact was with Stephen when he came over on the 4th morning to check if all was well.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The opportunity to exercise our dogs morning and evening on the owners land
Liked least: The location and access road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2016
Firstly we would like to thank June for taking the time to write a review and for her positive comments. There are however a few discrepancies, so we feel it’s only right we respond:

We were a little surprised by the remarks on the track as we carefully and clearly state in our listing that The Byre is 1Km from the road, surrounded by farmland and accessed via a track, not a lane. As guests who say they live in a rural area, we would assume they understand the importance of exercising caution when driving down such a track, particularly as the presence of sheep is not unusual.

Wendy spoke to June’s husband on the evening they arrived and tried to explain about the heating; there was no need to alter the boiler settings as we leave the heating permanently on for our guests’ convenience, rather it is controlled by thermostats on the radiators. When we checked the heating after June's departure we found that the thermostatic valves on the radiators were all set to off or very low, so can only presume this is the reason they found it to be cold.

Contact with guests is a difficult issue; we have found that most people staying in self catering accommodation prefer to be left alone, so following the initial greeting, we leave our guests to relax and enjoy their holiday in peace (but are always on hand should they need anything). Stephen usually greets our guests on their arrival but in this case he was delayed and didn’t arrive home until 11:30pm that evening. Jean, Wendy’s mother, greeted June and her husband on their arrival and explained the situation, making it clear that Wendy (and Stephen the following morning) would be available, should they need anything during their stay. Stephen also went over at the earliest opportunity and made two further contacts during the week. During one of these occasions June’s husband had mentioned all the positive comments in the visitors’ book relating to the comfortable bed, and suggested they found it uncomfortable (and presumably difficult to sleep) due to a back condition.

Finally, we always provide a welcome tray of Welsh produce, in this case home-made Bara Brith, Welsh cheese and milk, bottles of Pembrokeshire water and home-made dog biscuits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaglemum...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So peaceful”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage, the surroundings are stunning. You really feel like you are right in the countryside, which is exactly what we wanted, away from all the hustle and bustle of life. The owners made us, and our dog, very welcome providing home made cake for us and home made dog biscuits for Bodie. We couldn't fault the cottage, it was comfy and had everything we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage with great views, away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay there last week with our dog Charlie.

The cottage itself is lovely and well maintained with everything you could need for a week away.

On arrival Charlie was given some lovely home-made biscuits, and we were delighted with the Welsh cake, cheese, crackers, chocolate and wine.

On our second evening we were attending a wedding, and the owners were so kind to look after Charlie while we were out and took him to their own house to be with them and their lovely dogs - such a nice thing to do.

We had a great week and would recommend staying here for a relaxing and peaceful break from the "real" world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent property and location for our dog to enjoy himself.
Liked least: Vodafone mobile connection not great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vprobst
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay in a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a perfect week in this lovely little cottage surrounded by a beautiful countryside. The owners are very kind and helpful and we had a lot of fun playing with the cute dogs. Many points of interest and everything you need are nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. The dogs really enjoyed your visit and would love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing