We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful tranquil setting and beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oak Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Challock, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Fiona T
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful tranquil setting and beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a warm welcome when arriving at Oak Cottage and not just by the chickens who were wandering across the long drive. The cottage had everything we needed and we used the lack of oven as an excuse to eat out or buy easy cook teas. The bedrooms were very spacious and full of lovely beams and the view from the main bedroom was beautiful. The out houses looked a bit scruffy but I think that was just the time of year meaning the kitchen garden wasn't at its best. I'd love to come back in the summer and try out the swimming lake. It took less than half an hour to get to Canterbury and we were also able to explore Kingswood.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B
Darwen.
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“An Excellent base for exploring...”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This cottage is well equipped, warm and comfy. We used it as a base for exploring Kent and found it well located for just that.
Cooking facilities are adequate and we didn't miss having an oven, you just have to adjust to suit.
The owners checked in to say 'hi' and make sure we were all okay and also to change a blown bulb.
The wifi works well enough but better upstairs as said.
All in all a great base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minxykar
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic retreat”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

WOW, where to start, having looked on google maps at the local area we knew Oak Cottage would be peaceful but it was beyond our expectations.

Upon arrival Nigel greeted us & showed us to and around the cottage, in mid June the gorgeous scented flowers were in full bloom and the perfume on the warm air was quite something.

The cottage was perfect, the layout was spot on and everything had been thought of, we mentioned our thanks to Nigel as some places we have been are grubby and we have cleaned everything before use but there was NO need for this in Oak Cottage.

The furniture was also gorgeous, we loved the coffee table in the lounge, and the bed was so comfortable and the amount of space in the rooms was fab.

The setting was totally amazing, so quiet but help available if we needed it, lovely animals, geese, chooks, cows and some great wildlife, we sat on the lake jetty and watched the swallows feeding quite a few times. We saw Buzzards, Kestrels, Dragonflies and loads of bees - so good to see.

We loved it so much we booked again on our last night to come back in August!

Challock is a lovely area and we did plenty of walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FixundFox...
muenster
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“quiet, spacious cottage”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

quiet, spacious, clean, wonderful cottage, good location.Very nice & helpful hosts, showed us around the farm...

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alhinai20...
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“very beautiful and clean cottage”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

It was a great experience for me and my family to stay in such lovely cottage in a farm where the kids enjoy there time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing