We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great location and good cottage”
Relaxing in the evening enjoying the views over Killala Bay and beside your open fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relaxing in the evening enjoying the views over Killala Bay and beside your open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Relaxing in the evening enjoying the views over Killala Bay and beside your open fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Killala, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BanzaiCle...
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“great location and good cottage”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely setting and as others have mentioned, the host Liz is lovely and had enty of recommendations and a fire lit for us as well as wine, bread and smoked salmon. We were in a cottage facing the bay - lovely views - great to sit and watch the curlews when the tide is out. You have a round tower just behind you and the cottages are very convenient for Killala village. Great location for exploring Noth Mayo. The wi-fi was not strong enough to use but that didn't bother my wife and I although my teenage daughter was a bit annoyed. The smoke alarm in our cottage was a bit sensitive (especially as one is right in the kitchen). This is great for your safety but a bit annoying when you are just making toast or cooking a sausage (even with window ans doors open and fan on ot went off). Tv was missing a remote and a bit hit and miss but there are bettsr things to do on holiday than watch tv.

Would defitely recommend the cottages especially for families. You could easily fit two adults and four kids in our cottage - very roomy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2018
thank you guys ,
wifi is being upgraded at mo so hopfully will be much stronger when you caome again.
Also tv remotes sorted now.
best to you all and hope you had a great christmas ,
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasarahor
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Pet Friendly!”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

I stayed here with family for two nights. Greeted by Liz who was extremely friendly and helpful in our planning for the weekend, she was an excellent host. The cottage was spacious and in a beautiful location overlooking the bay. The fire was lit before we arrived so it was lovely and cosy on our arrival. A bottle of wine, some fresh brown bread and salmon was left for us also which was a beautiful touch. The only downfall was that one of the beds were broken so it was very difficult to sleep on. Other than this one small inconvenience, I would highly recommend The Old Deanery to all!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2018
Thank you for all hte lovely compliments ,bed sorted now anytime you would like a return visit you know always welcome
best
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seansmith...
Clonmellon, Ireland
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Arrived on Saturday to a great reception from Liz, a lovely hostess. House was so cosy and well equipped. Views are to die for and a great place for letting the kids have freedom. Very laid back and relaxed holiday. Will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
looking forward to seeing all the smiths back at The OldDeanery anytime it was a pleasure to meet oyu
and thank you for the beautiful flowers and card
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheryl62...
Batavia, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved our cottage in Killala”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Cottages are located in Killala, County Mayo. This lovely, small town is on Killala Bay so sea views are a daily delight. It has a 12th century round Tower and a circa 1670 Church of Ireland stone cathedral. Town has a small but excellent grocery store and fun pubs with great fare. Town is situated within easy driving distance to Down Patrick Head and Ceide Fields. The cottage owner, Liz Keane, is very helpful in explaining the area attractions and in giving excellent directions. The cottage itself was well-equipped and perfect for our needs and we made a cozy peat fire nightly. We enjoyed being able to walk to the pubs, store, pier and historical sites. All in all, a great setting for exploring this part of Ireland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank u so much Guys for the great review
Hope to see u back in Killala one day xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammy62
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a few days break had a great time if your looking for relaxing break it's the p!ace to go cottages are lovely we arrived to a lovely bottle of wine Brown bread and salmon and most importantly the turf for the fire which I made great use of .Liz came to greet us with her bubbly personality and filled us in on everything we needed to know .Make sure u pay a visit to the open door restaurant fabulous and get you fish and chips from the pier really enjoyed our visit

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank u for the great review
Hope to see u back in Killala someday
Best
LiZ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing