We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 552)
Filter reviews
1 552 results
Traveller rating
1 044
330
105
47
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 044
330
105
47
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room irish wolfhound main building stone walls cabra castle the cottages golf course four poster bed free standing bath dublin airport wedding reception wedding venue grounds are beautiful wedding guests stayed longer course dinner cie tour
Filter
Updating list...
1 018 - 1 023 of 1 552 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here in December 2013. It was a stormy night with a howling wind, so we didn't get to see the grounds at all, instead we battened down the hatches in this beautiful hotel. The staff were very friendly and the room was amazing, very spacious.

We had a beautiful meal in the restaurant which was reasonably priced. We ordered breakfast in bed which wasn't so great, but the fact that it wAsnt very warm probably didn't help.

We would definitely return here, but maybe would eat breakfast in the restaurant next time.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SerenaBryans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramblor, Manager at Cabra Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for the lovely review of Cabra Castle Hotel. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like you to know that we have looked into the issue with room service. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this fabulous Castle at the end of October. The location is remote and peaceful and yet easily accessible. The Castle is fabulous in its ancient splendour and when first glimpsed through the trees is a most welcoming sight. Accommodation is available in the Castle and in the Courtyard. We stayed in a room in the Castle, complete with four poster bed, ,separate dressing room and magnificent bathroom with a raised bath. The ambience was magical as was the view from our windows on the highest floor.
The bar was a delight with its open fire and library snug. Dinner in the restaurant was nothing short of a feast. Oscar the Irish Wolfhound accompanied us on our walk through the grounds. Dún a Rí forest park across the road was a haven and the autumnal colours provided the perfect backdrop.
To experience Cabra Castle in Autumn was a treat and I am already looking forward to my next visit no matter what the season.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramblor, Manager at Cabra Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

On behalf of the management and staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of Cabra Castle Hotel and we really do appreciate the feedback. Oscar is always a hit with our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I'll make this review short and sweet! Got married here in Sept '13 and had a perfect experience from start to finish! Cannot find a single complaint from myself and my wife or any of the 200+ guests! Staff literally could not have done more for us,and everybody from cleaners to bar staff to management was above and beyond polite!!!
If I could rate cabra castle with six stars,I would do so without thinking twice!!! Unbelievable venue (and superb value)!!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank paullarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramblor, Manager at Cabra Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review and how we wish you could give us 6 stars! I am so glad that everything was perfect for you both on your very special day. We wish you well and look forward to seeing you both at the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Yes it's a fantastic old quirky castle with a beautiful Irish wolfhound at the door! yes each room is unique and there are lots of nooks and crannys to explore! yes it's in a beautiful rural setting! However, for a 4 star rural quirky castle hotel it was lacking in some pretty basic areas. First off, food is absolutely average, breakfast is no better than a good B&B and dinner was nice but nothing too special to be frank - although we had two lovely ladies serving us so that added to the evening. Our room although large and quirky had a very short bed (my husbands feet were literally hanging over the end) plus it was uncomfortable and 'dippy' in the middle and the pillows were lumpy and tired, far from the feather comfort I was expecting! Wifi is scanty although I understand being in the valley affects it but we were amazed there were no newspapers to be had... many B&B's offer free newspapers... but this 4* hotel didn't. We did have a nice getaway but tbh I would find it difficult to recommend it as an amazing must stay place; I think there are better options and value out there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forrealman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramblor, Manager at Cabra Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your review of Cabra Castle Hotel, we appreciate anyone who takes the time to share their views. We value the opinions of all our customers and we apologise that we did not meet your expectations. We have taken your views on board and we hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I booked a very affordable package deal through Ireland, and Cabra Castle was the first stop along the way. It turned out to be by far and away the most spectacular castle we stayed in... and our fan favorite! We found it very easily using the 'points of interest' setting on the GPS. The entry drive is beautiful and scenic... right out of a fairy tale... it's everything you'd hope a stay in a castle would be! Upon going to check in, we met Oscar... the properties Irish Wolf hound... such a dapper lad!!! This docile giant really made our stay a lot more fun... as we were missing our four legged friends that we left home. The woman at the front desk was exceptionally helpful in accomodating our early check in (our flight arrived in Dublin at 8am... and we went right to the hotel), and accomodating our jet-lagged wake-up calls. Our room was in the 'older' part of the castle. Whatever that meant, it was perfect. Our room was beautiful... exposed stone walls, beautiful regal antique feel, and modern and amazingly tastefully decorated bathroom with the best shower we encountered in Ireland. The bed was firm... just how we like it... very comfortable! We kept it low-key the night that we stayed here... so we went to take a walk after dinner around 8:30 and were elated when Oscar opted to join us. All in all, this place is everything I'd hoped for... and more. It set the bar REALLY high for the rest of our castle-stays... and in fact none of the other accomodations quite stacked up. Stay here!!! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CohenLaurenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramblor, General Manager at Cabra Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of the hotel, we are so glad to hear that you had a such a lovely stay and we are very grateful that you took the time to share your views with us. We do hope to see again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews