We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 2 900
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
R 2 803
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
R 2 708
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
9
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
9
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2024

We just went for supper. It was really beautiful, the food was excellent as were the staff. It was very quiet, the gardens were lovely and the peacocks were stunning. I would highly recommend the hotel in every respect. There are two types of rooms, in the main house and others overlooking a lawned quadrangle. A must if visiting George

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank gersonchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

We went with friends for an evening meal, the hotel was very quiet but the food was outstanding, would highly recommend, beautiful settings and very good service from the staff, hotel had a wonderful ambiance.
The peacocks are also a show stopper

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ameliakev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2023

The most wonderful hotel stay i have experienced in a long time. This place has excellent written all over it. I’ve been to George South Africa over 12 times and so glad I found this hidden gem. From our arrival we were greeted by Tamhi. An excellent and well mannered young man who gave us a full tour of the hotel and the facilities. Not to mention his help throughout our stay in organising a golfing trip at kingswood to being on hand if we needed anything in the room. To the bar staff in the evenings the two young gentlemen were absolutely first class and took care of all our needs. The staff were amazing and some of the best I’ve come across. Breakfast, what can I say wow, so tasty and prepared to perfection. I’ve stayed in many places across George South Africa and I can assure you this is the first place I would check out when returning again. Thank you for having us and I look forward to returning again soon.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Turls2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ronnie Webster, General Manager at The Hawthorn Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2023

We appreciate your kind words and compliments. Your review is received with gratitude. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you back soon. Regards. The Hawthorn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2023

My experience at this hotel was incredible. The staff are so welcoming, sweet and professional. The rooms are so clean and so comfortable. The food was lovely and the set up of the hotel is so antique and so classy. I really recommend this hotel and give it a 5 star rating.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anastacia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2023

We four elderly gentlemen had an excellent lunch at The Hawthorn Boutique Hotel Restaurant. We are all well travelled in the Southern Cape, and for many years have had our monthly lunch at restaurants there. This place is rather special and is bound to be highly rated. It has only been open for a short time, but the ambience and service along with the cuisine make it stand out. George is lucky to have such an upmarket restaurant

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ronnie Webster, General Manager at The Hawthorn Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2023

Thank you for visiting us and we appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews