We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
169
27
7
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
27
7
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones ring of kerry lake view her husband breakfast room perfect stay full irish breakfast skellig michael dark sky reserve monastic site ann's place extra driving r r local sights an absolute gem lovely location days fishing
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

I stayed three nights. The house is 3 miles away from Waterville, set just above a beautiful lake. Ask for dinner ahead of time. You'll be glad you did. I wouldn't hesitate to return here again. My wife agrees.

Room Tip: all the rooms face the lake. It's a very short walk to the shore.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AngusMacTavish0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

We cannot say enough good things about our stay at Currane Lodge. The McCarthy family was most accommodating and helpful, even trying to help us secure a landing tour of Skellig Michael. They also provided us the opportunity to explore Church island, with a family member as our personal tour guide.

The lodging was clean, and the food was delicious. Ann does a beautiful job with presentation of meals, so much so that you feel like you are in a luxury hotel in Dublin someplace.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy_williford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Lovely country Irish home- all needs were met. Hosts were welcoming and very nice. The scenery was breathtaking. We only stayed one night. Would stay again if ever in area. Family run. Knowing as a great fishing area

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

As we followed the signs to this obscure B & B, we said that it's either going to be exceptional or really bad. Well, it was finding a little slice of heaven! The rain had just stopped and the sun was low in the late afternoon sky. The water, sky and setting sun were just beautiful!

Ann could not be any more helpful and accommodating! The breakfast and room were very nice, and we really enjoyed our conversations with Ann. We felt like friends when we departed.

We'd definitely recommend this B & B!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelnut57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

Ann was a great host, took very good care of us. Also insist of having the lamb for dinner – it was without exaggeration the best lamb I had ever had! Breakfast was great too. Overall a quiet and secluded place with a lovely view of the lake and potential to go fishing as well. Just bear in mind, it is small and family run so people expecting hotel level service (specialised staff for different functions, quick service etc.) may be disappointed. It's really a question of what experience you are looking for...

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shikhar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews