We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basil Fawlty?”
Review of Peter's Place Cafe

Peter's Place Cafe
Ranked #14 of 19 Restaurants in Waterville
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Lattes were great, but Peter has a similar personality to Basil Fawlty. He didn’t lick our boots, more spit nails.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank AN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

We called in on the motorbike while riding the Ring of Kerry.
The location couldn’t be better. Right on the promenade with tables overlooking the bay.
Table service from the owner and staff who are all very friendly.
We only had lattes but they were very good and the other fare on offer looked excellent.
I can’t say enough about the view and the set up of the cafe. Excellent!!!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

What a character Peter is! Get him to open up to you and you will hear the entire history of the region like you have never heard it before. We popped in for a quick snack and stayed more than an hour. Rare to get such local insights and plain honest food. The plcae itself is like a faded,modest antique emporium. A strange sort of highlight for our trip around the Kerry Ring!!!!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FreqTravW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

We haven't had a chance to drink or eat because we haven't been allowed to get in because prams and buggies are not allowed (there is a sign at the entrance) so if you are young parents you can just go to hell. Or leave your equipment on the street.. and there wasnt any customer inside! And plenty of room to put our buggy and our son. What's the matter with them?...

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

unfortunately worst toasted sandwich i ever had processed ham barely a hint of cheese limp lettuce...never had lettuce in a toasted before. Peter wasn't very welcoming in fact he paid more attention to his turf fire (lovely fire) never once asking us if we wanted anything. tea was hot served in chipped China cups. one late was awful. place was musty. sink in bathroom was out of order.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peter's Place Cafe also viewed

Waterville, County Kerry
 
Waterville, County Kerry
Waterville, County Kerry
 
Waterville, County Kerry
 

Been to Peter's Place Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing