We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$108
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arch House B&B & Apartments(Athlone)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$92
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 21/07
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$74/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2 324)
Filter reviews
2 324 results
Traveller rating
1 224
604
266
143
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 224
604
266
143
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubl'escale restaurantretreat sectionretreat roomwine tastingleisure centreolder partnew wingthermal suitelake viewbusy hotelfamily breakbar foodtop classmain restaurantlovely hotelgolf course
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2 324 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Organised a meeting here for 50 pax and all ran very smoothly. Lunch was nice and the meeting rooms were nice and bright. Rooms were spacious and clean. Leisure facilities were also good. Lovely hotel with very friendly staff who go out of their way to help you. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank liasaurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, Managing Director at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Liasaurin,

Thank you for coming to Tripadvisor to leave such a positive review about your recent experience here at the Hodson Bay Hotel.

I am thrilled to hear that your meeting here ran smoothly and that you enjoyed all of the elements of your booking.

Should you ever need to organise another corporate meeting we would be more than happy to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
Tim Hayes

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in the Hodson Bay just before a conference and it was everything I needed to relax. I had driven from Connemara so was ready for a snooze. The room was perfect and pretty woman was on which made everything better. Great service and even better food in Hodson Bay. Would highly recommend

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
7  Thank Rachh177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, Managing Director at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Rachh177,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review about your recent experience here at the Hodson Bay Hotel.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all of the elements of your stay here with us, especially the room and the food!

Should your travels next take you from Connemara to Athlone, we would love to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,

Tim Hayes
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here in May to the adults only part of the hotel. Our room was nice and big with a fabulous view of the lake and a lovely jacuzzi bath which unfortunately didn’t work. We had some lunch which was just ok and a bit expensive, ordered 2 cocktails that evening they had no menu or price list I got a shock when he said €19 for two strawberry daiquiri very expensive, but it’s a hotel and it’s not in the town so they can charge these prices. My advice don’t arrive hungry have lunch in athlone town beforehand.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, Managing Director at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Martin K,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay here at the Hotel.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed most of the elements of your stay, however I am disappointed that you found the pricing in our restaurant slightly expensive.

Your comments are much appreciated and your feedback will help us to improve the standard of services we offer to our guests.

Kind regards,

Tim Hayes
Managing Director



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to take trip to Hudson bay hotel for some dinner the carvery was closing up when we arrived so we had to wait half an hour for the bar food to start not a big problem. when the menu arrived the first thing I noticed how overly priced it was it was around €15 for a burger and chips is crazy but it wouldn't have been a problem if the food quality matched the price witch it didn't dispassionately.
My girlfriend is a celiac and by just looking at menu there was nothing witch was gluten free upon asking a waiter they named out some dishes but what made us second guess was when she mentioned that Guinness sausages was gluten free witch after having to go and ask the chef what was gluten free and to not much surprise it turned out the Guinness sausages were not gluten free and the waiter told us that a celiac had previously had the dish and was fine afterwards anyone who knows anything about gluten free would know that's not the case.

Overall me and my family were left disappointed the food could of been a lot better or at least get value for your money witch we didn't.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, Managing Director at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ian G,

I am deeply sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience here at the Hodson Bay Hotel.

We cater for all dietary and allergy requirements and pride ourselves in taking these into account for all of our guests. This is an area we have spent quite some time on to ensure that all guests can experience the amazing food we provide here at the hotel.

We are sorry that your experience wasn't very desirable but we will take all of the feedback mentioned above on board.

Kind regards,

Tim Hayes
Managing Director


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is exactly what we were looking for to spend a relaxing weekend.

The location is beautiful - with the lake, all the greenery and the golf course. The hotel itself is a beautiful building with top amenities. The staff is so nice and helpful - nothing you ask is ever a problem... this hotel had some of the nicest staff I have ever come across, consistently across all the hotel areas.
The room deco is basic, but our room was a very nice size and the bed and pillows very comfortable. The bathroom is basic and a little dated, but it was clean and in order.

Breakfast is amazing and so is lunch in the bar - they have really good carvery.

In terms of activities, there is plenty to do around the hotel:
We used the pool which is big and beautiful and has a lot of features - such as bubble beds, waterfalls and jacuzzi. There is also a sauna and a steam room.
I also had a facial in the Spa and it was so good - the facial included a massage while the products were working and it was just incredible.
We also went to the Baysports activity - unfortunately the water was too cold for us even with the wetsuits, but it’s good entertainment.
There is also a Viking boat tour that takes you to Clonmacnoise. We didn’t have time to do it but it’s definitely another good activity.

Overall a great stay and a great place to spend a few relaxing days. I will definitely go back!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank DublinLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, Managing Director at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear DublinLena,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience recently here at the Hodson Bay Hotel. We always hope that our guests enjoy every minute of their experience at the hotel and thankfully judging by your review, it would seem that we succeeded in our efforts!

Providing friendly, attentive service and offering good quality food are top priorities for us so I’m thrilled that our efforts haven’t gone unnoticed!

I will pass on these lovely comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Tim Hayes
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews