We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
IanYork67
Ascot, United Kingdom

Lovely for the family

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Feb 2024
Great spot. Super safw with the whole family including little ones. Food very good, lovely pool and gardens with fab birds visiting on the lawn. Close to all the entertainment.

Rooms good, may be a little tired now. Service a bit hit and miss....very very good to a bit absent.

We stayed with young children.....lovely experience and we will stay again.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Palazzo Hotel, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this review
Responded 23 Feb 2024
Dear InaYork67,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Palazzo Hotel,

The hotel values your feedback and I wish to apologies for the service levels that were not consistent during your stay. I am however very pleased that you and your family felt safe at Montecasino and enjoyed our facilities and hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,

Kind Regards
Catia Viegas
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from The Palazzo Montecasino
Lodge 8
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 305
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 300
  • Vio.com
1.0 km from The Palazzo Montecasino
Free Wifi
Free parking
Relax around the pool
R 1 473
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    R 1 450
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 450
0.8 km from The Palazzo Montecasino
Pool
Restaurant
R 2 551
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 415
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 236
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 397
0.5 km from The Palazzo Montecasino
Free Wifi
Pool
Relax poolside after a long day!
R 1 326
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 982
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 589
0.6 km from The Palazzo Montecasino
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 994
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 692
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 986
0.5 km from The Palazzo Montecasino
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 3 577
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 105
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 977
  • Priceline
0.0 km from The Palazzo Montecasino
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 802
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 802
0.4 km from The Palazzo Montecasino
R 429
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 429
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from The Palazzo Montecasino
R 900
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 900
0.4 km from The Palazzo Montecasino
View more hotels in Magaliessig
Reviews (1 709)
Filter reviews
1 709 results
Traveller rating
1 170
340
113
55
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 170
340
113
55
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monte casino beautiful hotel five star hotel montecasino concierge luxury joburg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1 709 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2024

Nice short stay ,fantastic looking property on the outside,getting a little tired on corridors and rooms ,on that note the beds are comfy with crisp clean bedding and well serviced,the breakfast was very nice with plenty of options and professional and attentive staff .we had a drink the last night on the terrace and the staff serving were great and now we wish we had stayed and had a meal in such a beautiful setting ,something we would do if we came back

Room tip: A must if in Johannasburg
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank steveandsuedring
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Palazzo Hotel, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024

Dear Steven and Sue,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Palazzo Hotel,

We appreciate your feedback and the team is very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,

Kind Regards
Catia Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2024

Great hotel! I disagree with previous negative reviews, our experience was very good indeed.
The property is beautiful, with the Palazzo theme well executed and in excellent condition. The rooms (we stayed twice) are well appointed and comfortable, great bathrooms, beds and facilities.
The pool is lovely.
The proximity of Montecasino is convenient, with its restaurants, bars and theatres.
The service levels are excellent, I stretched the service and was always pleasantly surprised, for example room service breakfast at 5:30am on several occasions. The restaurant is great, very good service and delicious food.
We'll be back!

Room tip: Rooms facing inwards are better.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank toolmanntadgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Palazzo Hotel, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024

Dear Toolmanntadgh,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Palazzo,

The team is so grateful for your wonderful review and comments about the hotel, location and the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,

Kind Regards
Catia Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2023

The accomodations are somewhat dated but in reasonable condition, and the hotel itself is beautiful. The close proximity to Montecasino is an advantage, but there are better hotels at which to watch in Johannesburg.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank seanrC2289LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Palazzo Hotel, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024

Dear Sean,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Palazzo Hotel,

We appreciate your feedback and acknowledge that the hotel is due for a refurbishment. The team is in the process of designs however we want to maintain the Italian look and feel that this complex is designed around.

Kind Regards
Catia Viegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2023 via mobile

From the time you enter the property you are greeted by warm smiles and wonderful hospitality!!! Seeing the diversity in staff being from all over the world was heartwarming. The staff seemed to anticipate your next request excellent!!!!

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ShamiM645
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Palazzo Hotel, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024

Dear ShamiM645,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Palazzo Hotel,

The team was very pleased to read your review and that you enjoyed your stay with us,

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,

Kind Regards
Catia Viegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2023

In summary:

*The property is overpriced, dated and poorly designed and absolutely not what it purports to be in the photos they show on the website.
*The service ranges from inept to rude and the staff seem unable to resolve any problems.
*The food is sub-standard, the evening meal was mixed quality but the breakfast is inedible with food looking extremely unappetizing and in cases, not replenished.
*We booked a double room with a rollaway bed for our 7 year old but were given a room with 2 double beds meaning my wife and daughter had to share. I went to speak to reception for a solution. Their only offer was for us to pay an additional 5,880ZAR (twice what we paid for the original booking) for another room.
* The wifi is slow and intermittent, even for browsing low data apps like Instagram
* The hotel entices you with luxurious images of the property, but does not deliver on good quality in any other respect.

It’s disappointing as we were looking forward to spending our last day at this property but instead we feel stuck here having had very poor sleep, and my wife having not eaten since she’s arrived.

Room tip: Don’t fall for this place, try another hotel.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catia Viegas, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

Dear Mr Monk,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Palazzo Hotel,

I have responded directly to your wife via the email she sent me post your stay and have addressesdthe concerns and comments raised in both of your reviews on Tripadvisor.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews