We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
R 2 946
Fully refundable before Sat, 04 May
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 707)
Filter reviews
1 707 results
Traveller rating
1 170
340
112
54
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 170
340
112
54
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monte casino beautiful hotel five star hotel montecasino concierge luxury joburg
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1 707 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2022 via mobile

Terrible service…booked two rooms with family. We had bought food from a nearby well known resturant and looked forward to eating in our rooms. We called room service and asked for plates and cutlery and then the drama began… we told hotel policy is not give guests any plates cutlery etc unless ordered from room service ( which ends at 10pm). I enquired from “ management” as to why is this not on hotels website or house policies etc as normally hotels usually accomdate guests requests and will give them plates and cutlery etc on request so if guests choose to eat in the comfort fo their room.
One person acceded to our request and sent us the cutlety only to have the food and beverages manager call the room and intteroagte us as which employee etc did this . It was terrible .
To add insult to the injury the second room On check HAD a huge clump of human hair on the shower floor! Which begs the question of the level of cleanliess. The towel rails were broken off the wall. The toilet roll holder was broken as well . The Palzzo is suppose to be a five star hotel , but it is far from a five star experience . Rooms are in dire need of maintenance . Service is hugely lacking . Especially at management level. There was NO hotel manager or duty manager on duty except the food and beverages manager who was the only person in charge of the entire hotel staff and was clearly out if his depth in resolving guests complaints .
Simply not worth the five stars . I was fortunate to be refunded one room and was accomdated at the Four star Sun internationl hotel within the Montecasino Precint. This four star was so worth it and far superiour in service and standards than the Palazzo.

This hotel has sadly lost its charm and appeal and i attribute it to poor management , as i have seen over years how the service has detoriated .
Simply not worth the price tag!!

Room tip: Not worth a stay here at all . Staff are disinterested . Poor standards. Birds eating out of cereal dispensers!!!
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NalsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Dear Mr Nalini,

Thank you for your review below regarding your stay at the Palazzo hotel.

The hotel policy has always been that cutlery and crockery is only supplied when the hotel provides the food and beverage. The hotel cannot be supplying these items when items are bought externally. We apply the same policy when we are requested to reheat food purchased outside of our premises. For clarity your request for the cutlery and crockery was in the afternoon and not after our room service had closed.

The hygiene and maintenance issues were brought to our attention in the evening and my Food and Beverage manager (Michael) was on duty on the evening. He engaged with the occupants of the 2nd room and offered a complimentary upgrade to one of our Executive rooms. The couple did view the room and after discussing the room upgrade amongst themselves they opted to check out and move to our sister 4 star property on the complex. All efforts were made to remedy the situation and Michael apologised for the issue that had been brought to his attention. Michael is our Food and Beverage manager and a senior member of the team and quite capable of dealing with complaints. All efforts were made on the evening to remedy your complaint and very unfortunate that the guests decided to check out and into our sister property.

Kind Regards
Catia Viegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2022

1. The family rooms are quite disappointing, parents sleeping in the same room with a 12 and 8 year old is not an ideal situation. Moreover, everything was in two's (cups, glasses, cutlery, gowns, slippers) but it's a room for 4 people. We asked for two more cups and glasses, twice, but they never came.
2. The staff. I had sent an email 3 days before arrival requesting for an early check in (12pm), so that we can get ready for an event that started at 2pm. I didn't get a reply. Upon arrival we're told we have to wait for 2pm, the front desk lady confirms that she can see my email but says there's nothing she can, without even trying. I tell her had someone replied to my email I would've made another plan to get ready elsewhere. Fortunately a gentleman who seemed like the manager was able to assist us. Also, during the stay, the staff on the switchboard line were just not keen to help with anything. Zero effort. Zero customer service. The only staff keen to help seems to be concierge and managers!
3. We were put on a waiting list at breakfast the following day because we were late for the slot we had booked, which I called beforehand that we were going to be late. Of which the lady on the phone replied "well, we're just going to put you on a waiting list because breakfast is a very busy time." Cool. We arrive and stood in a queue to eat for 30 minutes! When we are hotel guests. I've never had that happen anywhere in the world. Needless to say we left without eating breakfast.
Oh and we had nowhere to put our champagne because you have to pay a deposit to have the fridge unlocked, that was a first.
Great hotel, not so great customer service.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank colleenrO6135OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2022

Dear Colleen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Palazzo Hotel. Guest feedback is Vital to our success.

Please accept my sincere apology for the concerns raised in this review, it is never great to receive a negative review however we use these constructively to improve on the service and product we offer.

I hope this does not deter you from choosing to stay with us again and give us the opportunity to restore you faith in us as we look forward to welcoming you back to the Palazzo Hotel.

Kind regards
Julian Joubert
Rooms division manager
The Palazzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2022

We had a short two night stay. The rooms are great, although slightly compact in the family room. The staff are brilliant. The reception staff make you feel like a part of a family. The pool area is gorgeous too. Would love to stay again!

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 698brenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2022

Dear 698brenb,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a such a great review on the Palazzo Hotel.

We are delighted that the team were able to meet your all requirements and that your stay was a memorable one. We will most certainly pass these kind words on to our colleagues as it proves to be highly motivational.

We hope that you do stay again and that your next stay is planned for the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Julian Joubert
Rooms Division Manager
The Palazzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2022

The Palazzo is a great hotel. The service is good. We are regular visitors to the hotel and we normally have a great time in this upmarket hotel.
However I noticed something very disturbing, Guests are now taking music boom boxes to the pool areas and other areas within the hotel. This is very un-classy, noisy and very disturbing. So if you looking for a relaxing outing at a classy hotel I DO NOT recommend this hotel. Its lost it's Class! it is now a sub standard Hotel with no or little respect regarding guests privacy or our personal space.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pmudaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2022

Dear Mr Mudaly,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Palazzo hotel,

Management is aware of the guests that brought a sound system down to the pool and were asked by the Food and Beverage manager to turn it right down as it was disturbing other guests. We do not allow guest to behave in such a manner and disturb other guests who are trying to relax. It’s unfortunate that you believe that we do not respect all of our guests however we can assure you that we do and where other guests are infringing on others we immediately act. Regretfully with the volume of guests that stayed at the Palazzo over the festive season it is difficult to police each and everyone’s actions however we do intervene immediately if untoward behaviour is noticed.

Kind Regards
Catia Viegas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2021

Stay here two nights in October. This is a very nice hotel. The staff were super friendly, the breakfast offered plenty of choices and the service was good. Had dinner in the hotel restaurant one evening and the food and service outstanding.

Room was nice, bed super comfortable and the hotel responded quickly to special requests. I will absolutely stay here again when life brings me back to Jburg.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLikeGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julian Joubert, General Manager at The Palazzo Montecasino, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2021

Dear gregfY1101AZ,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a such a great review on the Palazzo Hotel.

We are delighted that the team were able to meet your all requirements and that your stay was a memorable one. We will most certainly pass these kind words on to our colleagues as it proves to be highly motivational.

We hope that your next stay is planned for the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Julian Joubert
Rooms Division Manager
The Palazzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews