We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alder Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Storytell...
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I really love Alder Cottage. It's been my second visit and I'm always looking forward to my stay. The cottage is cosy, well-equipped and surrounded by wonderful irish nature. Mary Luthers,the owner, is a great host and her food from Bluebell Organic Farm delicious....if you would like to have it,no must!!! I really hope to be back next year. By the way, May is a great month to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2018
So glad you enjoyed your stay and you were the perfect guest leaving everything spotless!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andomhain...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely week in Alder Cottage”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We spent a lovely relaxing week in Alder Cottage. The house is beautifully presented throughout, warm, bright and cosy with everything we needed. The photos don’t do it justice! Very peaceful location and some beautiful scenery. Thanks
to Mary for her warm welcome and help. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Thankyou so much I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thanks for keeping the place spotless!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinDgo...
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Get away from it all, in style!”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Alder cottage is a great find for travellers who prefer to get away from it all. Stunning location and its not surprising to discover, the owners husband is an architect, the house is beautifully designed and presented. Being vegetarians, it is not always easy to find good food outside cities but Mary sent us the menu in advance and we were delighted with the organic meals she prepared for us. The complimentary organic veg basket we received on arrival was a really nice touch! All round, a great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments we would love to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom M
2 reviews
“Alder Cottage was peaceful, tranquil and well located.”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We spent a wonderful week at Alder Cottage over the end of April and early May. We were looking for something comfortable and well located as a base to explosre the NW or Ireland
and South/Central of Northern Ireland. It couldn't have been better. Access to highways in
every direction were nearby. Manorhamilton was very close and provided everything one
needed for supplies and evenings out. The cottage and it's surroundings offered much more than expected. It was incredibly well equipped, had all conveniences and was very comfortable. Very good value !. Our host was fantastic, very helpful and generous in every regard. We had eggs, bread and jams from their nearby farm and they were incredible ! I hope to stay here again one day. TIP - use GPS coordinates to locate when you first drive there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather, lol.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay and you will be very welcome whenever you come back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F M
2 reviews
“Ms”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A beautiful cottage in a really beautiful setting , very modern and all mod cons , it is an ideal base for touring the north west and Mary the owner is very helpful and welcoming. Can't recommend the place highly enough. A+++++++

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing