We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal spot, Victorian home as ment to be...”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Cobh and the charming Victorian house on the Hill!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Cobh and the charming Victorian house on the Hill!
Traditional Townhouse situated in the middle of a colorful terrace Living in the famous 'Deck of Cards' in Cobh
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Welcome to Cobh and the charming Victorian house on the Hill!
Traditional Townhouse situated in the middle of a colorful terrace
Living in the famous 'Deck of Cards' in Cobh
Hallway with traditional features.
The Dining-Room has a large table and is open directly to the living-room.
The living-room is comfortable and provides a great relaxed atmosphere...
The kitchen is big and has all facilities...
You will enjoy the comfortable atmosphere in this house...
On the First Floor, there is a spacious Family Bathroom
With a fantastic stand-alone bath, where you can pamper yourself!
The landing on the first floor opens into 2 separate bedrooms.
Cobh has a lot to offer and you will enjoy your stay in this part of Ireland!
You will be fascinated by the scenery Cobh and Ireland have to offer...This is Cuskinny.
The cliffs of Ballycotton are a short drive of 40mn away!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cobh, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal spot, Victorian home as ment to be, wonderfull hosts”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A cosy Victorian house, with the waterfront and the pub in walking distance. All the cons of 19th century homes have been solved: 2 bathrooms, proper beds and bedding, a big kitchen with all the goodies for proper cooking and entertaining, and, minor detail, free front door parking. However, there are always minor, though important, issues to be solved. On that aspect Carole and Patrick are hard to beat. Simply hosts in the truest sense of the word.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your review! We loved having you in the house and we are looking forward to welcome you again!
Thank you!
Carole & Patrick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobbsterr
York, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Owners went above and beyond in every way!!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We just finished a month in Cobh at this house and had a fantastic trip due in large part to Patrick and Carole (and their mother Marion). The house is right in middle of the picturesque Deck of Cards ( steep walk but you get use to it).
Very generous owners who went out of their way to make us feel welcome and showed great hospitality. All 3 of them were extremely friendly, warm people. We even had the enjoyment of golfing with Patrick, although due to his schedule that may not always be possible, we at least had the pleasure as he tried to walk us into the course ( he is a runner and often runs this course in spite of the elevation changes, so we never really had a chance ;-) )
I would definitely recommend this place and am so glad we chose to stay here.
The location is close to smaller stores like Spar, Centra (easy walking distance) with Lidl, Aldi and Supervalu not too far away (still walking distance, but probably better for a car if you are getting any amount of groceries). Also several eating options withing short walking distance both up on top (Sorrentos) or bottom of the hill. And the views are really beautiful, and picturesque with many people taking pictures from various spots on the hill or in the park across the street from the house.
At times in this house we had 8 adults and an 8 year old, even with 9 of us there was plenty of space.
One word of advice for US travelers, the water is very good out of tap. As many times we travel and expect it not to be good we ended up buying water

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: Backing up into the parking spaces on the hill
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray F
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Wonderful Victorian experience In Cobh heritage town”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I recently spent a long weekend here with friends visiting from Germany.It was their first visit to the heritage and picturesque town of Cobh and i choose this beautiful and spacious Victorian house as a base for our stay. The owner was at hand to welcome us on arrival and was very helpful and knowledgeable about Cobh and its surroundings. My friends were suitably impressed.
The house was well equipped with modern appliances. The kitchen has everything required, and we sat around the kitchen table in the mornings for an Irish breakfast and at lunch time. In the evenings for dinner we retired to the separate dining area where there is a warm glowing fire to warm us and some Irish music to please the ear.
The house is colourful but at the same time full of character. We were five people but there is no shortage of space in this home and there is a real homely feel about the house. Bedrooms are spacious with original wood flooring. Two bathrooms both with showers means that there is no queue for showering which is a real plus in my view. One bathroom is sizeable with a very nice stand alone bath. In fact in one bathroom there is an uninterrupted view of the harbour and i watched a ship come in the mouth of the harbour and sail up river.
The house is located within a few minutes walk of the town centre where local pubs have plentiful supply of Guinness and restaurants are within easy reach. Cobh heritage centre is 5 minutes walk of our home base. The train station is situated in the heraitage centre where we caught a train to Cork city for a days outing.
I took my friends on a tour of the Jameson Brewery in the neighbouring towns of Midleton. We also visited Shanagarry and Ballycotton all within easy reach of Cobh
The house has a view of the Cathedral which is also well worth a visit. All in all its hard to fault our Cobh experience except the Irish weather. my German friends were very impressed,the only fault was the Irish weather but in December, rain can be expected when holidaying in Ireland. My German friends are thinking about a summer return trip to Cobh in July. Guess where we will stay....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Evenings by the fire for a chat and a few songs
Liked least: The weather.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
Dear Ray, Thank you for your comment! We remember your stay with your German friends and we are looking forward welcome them again this year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estelle P
1 review
“Lovely and cosy house”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in May 2015

Dear Carole and Patrick,
thank you very much for the lovely time we had in your house. It really felt cosy and just like home. We also enjoy the surroundings of Cobh and the village very much. Great thinks to do in the surroundings, walking near the cliff's, beautiful countryside and the Blarney castle. After a great day discovering Ireland we were both very happy to come back to the warm house! From walking distance to the harbor with lot's of restaurant and pub's. Our favorite pub was the 'Roaring Donkey'!
Tot de volgende keer and greetings from Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
Estelle and Jan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big house but still feeling cosy and modern
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
Dear Estelle, It was a pleasure welcoming you and Jan! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward welcoming you again this year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie D
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
Chere Marie, Merci beaucoup pour ces commentaires! Nous avons hate de vous voir a nouveau cette annee! A bientot, Carole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing