We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fully recommened - a gem in Cobh”
other travellers have booked this property
The View With A Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The View With A Room
Captain's Table & Sitting Room Looking Out To Sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
The View With A Room
Captain's Table & Sitting Room
Looking Out To Sea
Roof Terrace with panoramic views of Cork Harbour
Kitchen with granite worktops
Master Bedroom
En-suite bathroom
Bedroom No 2
Bedroom No 3
Bathroom No 2
Sunny Cobh
Harbour View
Ships passing
Colourful Cobh
The former White Star Line Offices now the Titantic Bar and Restaurant
Looking out to sea
Shiver me timbers !
Some American friends arrive in their own transport ! USS Leyte Gulf
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cobh, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Carling63
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fully recommened - a gem in Cobh”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this wonderful penthouse for one week in August, and I can truely recommend everybody who wants to stay in the Cork-Area to consider this apartment. We were 5 people (4 adults and one child), and we had more than enough space, as there are 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a large kitchen / living room area, a small cabinet for the washing machine & dryer, and of course the terrace overlooking Cork Harbour. Almost every day we were greeted by big cruise ships or cargo ships, which were quite a sight.
The apartment is spotless, nicely decorated, everything you need is there. It's very centrally located, all the restaurants, pubs and supermarkets are within walking distance. It is also very quiet, no noise that will disturb a good nights sleep (which is very important for me).
What made the stay even more enjoyable were Ken and his wife, who not only offered us lots of adivse and recommendations but also you can tell that they care about their guests and that their stay is nice. We stayed in several apartements during the last years, but this was the first were we found kitchen essentials like salt, oil, mustard, tea, coffee etc. readily provided, furthermore laundry detergents, dishwashing liqudis and more. We were even more impressend when we discovered a lovely bouquet of lilies provided by (I guess) Ken's wife.
Overall, an thoroughly enjoyable stay in Cobh, if we come back some time we will definitely stay at this Penthouse again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Waterfront Penthouse in Cobh and we really appreciate the kind comments. As frequent travellers ourselves we always try to provide the sort of experience for our guests that we hope to come across on our travels as well. And we get to meet guests from all over the world discovering our great town for the first time. We're delighted you enjoyed Cobh and that you and your family also took in the wonderful views across Cork harbour from our sun terrace.We look forward to seeing you again soon. Ken & Mairead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely comfortable apartment, the sun terrace is fantastic”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is great. I travelled with two teenagers and my husband. It is large, quiet, and well stocked. The sun terrace is a big plus as we spent many afternoons sitting out and watching the ships and boats in the harbour. Boys my boys even appreciated the view and i have great holiday memories of spending time out there chatting. Cobh is great and we enjoyed the live music on the weekend as well as the church bells playing classical or traditional irish music, very clever and all heard from the sun terrace.
Ken was away when we visited and the woman who showed us the apartment was not welcoming or helpful so we had to muddle through. I think a list of shops, where the bins are, how to operate the oven would have been more useful. We were also given one set of keys and i had to go to the car park to pick up bin liners when we got there.
We had a lovely time despite this start and would like to visit Cobh again stay in Ken's apartment as he had been great throughout the booking and obviously takes great pride in his apartment. Well worth the money and would recommend to a friend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the sun terrace
Liked least: the welcome
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Hi Rachel,
Thanks for taking the time to review The Waterfront Penthouse in Cobh. We're sorry to hear your stay got off to an unsatisfactory start - normally we're always around to show our guests how everything works and to make sure the apartment is stocked with everything you need but on this occasion we were away on holiday ourselves.But we're glad to hear everything else made up for it.Next time we'll make sure someone shows you how to work the cooker !
Ken
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances B
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

It looks like one of my group has already reviewed this once, but I just want to reiterate how stunning and well situated this apartment is. Cobh is a lovely place to visit and the standard of this apartment and its view were 2nd to none.

It was easy to travel around County Cork from this location and it is a very easy journey from the airport. I would definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Balcony and the view
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Many thanks for adding another review of The Waterfront Penthouse from your party.
It's great to hear our guests have enjoyed their holiday and we really do hope to see in you sunny Cobh again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara S
1 review
“Perfect,my Happy Place,stunning apartment,stunning Views.”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelled with my Sister and our Daughters.Cobh is a beautiful place,What you see in the brochure is exactly what you get.The Pent house Apartment is second to none"perfect in every aspect'Thank you Ken,it was Wonderful,we will be back for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views,The Apartment
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review of The Waterfront Penthouse and we're delighted all the ladies in your group enjoyed your family get together.
We look to seeing you again soon in your Irish home from home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellymcw8...
London, Canada
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Cobh Ireland is already my favourite place in Ireland. It has the most interesting Marine history including the Titanic story. This Condo has one of the best view's over the ocean, just breathtaking. It was fascinating to watch the sail boats, ferries, cruise ships sail right by our patio and this Condo was built for the view. Every room looks out at the water.
The place is in mint condition and the owners have impeccable taste. The Kitchen is nicer than my own at home. Every amenity was available and we did cook in some nights. The town of Cobh is full of great pubs and restaurants, both fast food and gourmet. The grocery store is right across the street and has a great selection of wine and beer. We did have a little trouble with the fridge but the owner brought a replacement right away. His wife placed a beautiful bouquet of flowers upon our arrival and they lasted until we left 9 days later.
The owner had us call him to meet up and get the keys. There were 6 of us and only 2 sets of keys which did cause a little challenge. 3 sets would have been better but considering what a wonderful time we had, that was no big deal. Thank you Ken for all your advise and helpfulness. We really felt welcome and comfortable. Your place helped make this one of the best vacations and a once in a life time family get together with very memorable moments. We would recommend your Condo and found the rate to be more than fair. Location, Location, Location...... it has it all.
All the best to you and your wife!
Kelly and the Canadians.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: limited keys
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at The Waterfront Penthouse in Cobh and we're delighted that you had such a great time.
We are getting more and more visitors who are returning to Cobh for another holiday having enjoyed it so much the first time round and we're also pleased you had such great weather for the duration of your stay.Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing