We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
199
217
148
79
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
217
148
79
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages leisure centre pitch and putt bit dated gb tours west lodge roast beef kids club west cork family break bantry bay nice walk food was lovely coach tour lovely hotel from start to finish enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 710 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

My husband and myself went for a scenic drive around West Cork. We arrives in the afternoon and said we will chanced it to find a place to overnight at. We found West lodge and we were nor disappointed. We got booked in by a very friendly lady at reception. Everything we needed were thoroughly explained. We left our bags and ventured into Bantry. West lodge Hotel and its grounds are stunning . The view is beautiful and we spend a lot of our time walking around there. We came back and have a beautiful evening meal before we retired to bed and started our journey exploring West Cork...... We will defnitely be back. Highly recommend it ........

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Westlodge last weekend. The warmth of the staff, the comfort of the hotel, the facilities available to the kids and the dinner & breakfast menu combine would definitely recommend the hotel to a friend. We certainly will be back. Thank you for a wonderful mid term stay.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GlobeTrotting446124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatGill, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Thank you so much for lovely comments. We are delighted you had such a good time, it make it all worthwhile for us as a Team. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future and hope fully you will see even more improvements. Till then goodbye and thanks again.

Slan Go Foill

Pat Gill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage over Oct bank holiday weekend,cottages are charming and warm with everything you need for a self catering break-full cooker,fridge,freezer,microwave,electric kettle,toaster,iron,ironing board,hair dryer,washer/dryer for all those muddy socks and tracksuits from the many and varied walks around Bantry.Cottage had plenty of towels but no toiletries,you can use all of the facilities of the Westlodge Hotel including swimming pool,sauna,steam room,jacuzzi,gym,restaurants,bar.We ate breakfast in the hotel each morning,typical breakfast fare-cereals,yoghurt,full fry,brown bread,toast and plenty of tea/coffee.It would be nice to see a broader selection (like pancakes,croissants,waffles,)of food,especially for those who don't eat a full fry every morning. Breakfast cost an additional €10 per adult and €5 per child.Nevertheless the food is tasty and filling and really sets you up for a morning of walking,hiking or a boat trip to Garnish Island/Whiddy Island.Bantry town is only a few minutes walk through a lovely wooded walkway and then on to a footpath by the harbour into Bantry town.Lovely harbour,great views and lots to see and do in town including Bantry House & Gardens,Museums,boat trips and of course shopping and eating!

Room tip: Cottages ideal for families,larger groups as can cook,wash clothes,relax in living room.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire122015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Had a family wedding here last week and it was amazing! From entering the hotel the staff were so attentive to us, especially Karrie at reception who could not have been more helpful at the desk or when she was running around the floor during the reception! Food was great and the bedrooms were modern and spacious. Will be recommending the hotel in future!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Quest29367111110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Everything about this place was a massive let down. Room was very disappointing. Hotel wasn't busy but still so loud anyone walking in the hallway echoed through the room, loud bangs and thumps all night. Worst 2 nights sleep I have had. Beds were nice and it was clean at least. Restraunt main was nice, starters and bar food was bland anything fried including the brie tasted like fish except the fish which was overcooked and tasteless. Facilities for children are a joke 2 tiny slides outside. We were told by reception the pool opened at 8am, arrived at 9am with very excited 3year old, No kids before 10am. Directed us to a play area we could wait in. Play area was insulting payrides and broken toys. Felt bad for bringing my family here wont be coming back.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatGill, General Manager at Westlodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Keith,
Thanks for your review. I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your recent stay. We are in the middle of a total refurbishment programme and out of our 100 rooms we have 60 rooms already fully completed to an excellent standard which includes five beautiful family suites. it would seem you were staying in one of our older rooms which we do charge less for but they do need to be updated and we are well on course to completing this asap. These new rooms are very comfortable and have have all the mod cons you would expect in a modern hotel.
As for your experience in our leisure club, it is true that we do not permit young children till after 10 am as we use this time to facilitate our older members and residents. We do have signs stating this but our reception should have clarified situation better when you inquired about the opening time, so i do apologize for this. We provide many great facilities for families
.indoor playroom 2nd floor
.Pitch & Putt
. Putting green
.soccer pitch
.outdoor playground
.tennis court
.squash court
and kids club during peak periods
We normally get very good reaction, but i will get our maintenance staff to check all our facilities to ensure they are in good order.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your trip this time , but i would love to invite you back again and try and show you the massive efforts we are making to offer better customer value and experience every day by reacting to comments such as your in a positive light and continuing to reinvest in the hotel on a on going basis. Please contact me personally to arrange re-visit if you so wish. Till then goodbye and thanks for taking the time to share your views.

Yours sincerely
Patrick Gill
General manager 086/2685139

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews