We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location, great service”
other travellers have booked this property
Anahorish Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Anahorish Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Anahorish Cottage
Vaulted ceiling with skylight in kitchen
Well equipped kitchen
Wood burning stove
Master bedroom and en suite
Double shower
Clifden only 5 mins away
Kingstown Bay North side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Clifden, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Alan C
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning location, great service”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and I stayed recently for 10 days, and absolutely loved it. Fabulous location right on one of the Atlantic inlets, with huge wall to wall picture windows giving 180 degree views. The interior has lots of lovely personal touches too - a string of lights along the windowsill, tea lights etc - which make it feel like home, not a holiday rental. And although the owners live 90 minutes away, we were very grateful to their local 'handyman', who was round in 5 minutes and immediately fixed a slight problem with the shower!

We loved the cottage so much we only ate out twice in Clifden - both times at Mitchells, which was excellent (booking's recommended, and for the best atmosphere get a table downstairs). Marconi looked lovely too, with a similar ambience to Mitchells, and we noticed that customers who Mitchells had to turn away were sent round the corner to Marconi.

Mary & Fergus, many thanks for helping to give us a fabulous holiday. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary L
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This beautiful cottage is in a gorgeous location, the view of the water from the picture windows was a constant draw and we were more than happy to settle in and absorb it all on the couple of very rainy days we had. It's a lovely cottage to relax in, rather than just being a 'base'. I don't think we have ever felt so relaxed in a holiday rental, this was a combination of the views and the cottage itself. Its a 15 min car trip into Clifden, with some lovely cafes and restaurants. We did a lot of cycling and running and it's a great location for exploring from in this respect. There is enough to do in the area if you can tear yourself away from Anahorish!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the cottage - a lot of love and attention has gone into it's decor and design (i.e. the picture windows onto the water view).
Liked least: Leaving, we felt quite sad!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locality
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
393martin...
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage with fantastic views”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed for one week in this cottage over the Easter break. The cottage is well equipped ( although no television) very comfortable, clean and tastefully furnished. The views from the cottage are panoramic and stunning. Clifden is a short 10 minute drive away, and the cottage is suitably located to explore Cleggan, Connemara and Kylemore Abbey. We visited a number of very good bars/restaurants in Clifden, most notable Mitchells and Griffins. Would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
We now have a high definition TV having taken on board your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comini-Bu...
Genoa, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing house, views and location”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Anahorish for the first week of August 2015 and would have loved to stay much more. The first thing that hits you once you enter the house is the incredible views; as much as we were expecting them after seeing the pictures on tripadvisor, I believe nothing can prepare you for the reality which is just astounding, The house itself is immaculate, incredibly clean with the interior decorated with light colours; a bit of a provencal taste which fits well with the light that comes from the huge windows overlooking the sea in front of the sky road.
Two very confy bedrooms fit for a family of four and a a good sofa bed facing the bay in case you have, like us, an additional guest for a couple of days.
The house has all you need for self catering; the "breakfast and dining" area are really well positioned and it was a pleasure to sit with our kids in the morning and have breakfast all together (or back from a long day of sightseeing in the evening).
The house can be heated easily and quickly in case it is needed (we had to for a couple of days due to terrible weather but at home we felt safe and cozy!)
Clifden, with its nightlife and pubs, is just 15 minutes away with 3 major supermarkets (one open until 9PM, the second until 10PM).
Not sure I should share this secret but there is an amazing beach (one of the best we encountered on our 2 weeks in Connemara and Mayo) just a 5 minutes drive from the cottage.
In general, we couldn't recommend the place more and would have stayed longer if we could have; out of 14 days in western Ireland, we had only two really bad days of wind and rain and to pass them with our kids in this cottage has made it even more special.
Thanks to Mary and Fergus for sharing this amazing place with us and making us feel at home in their beautiful country.
Hope we can come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and Light
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing