We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect in Every Way!”
other travellers have booked this property
Magnificent view of The Salt Lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Magnificent view of The Salt Lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Magnificent view of The Salt Lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Clifden, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
CandCLout...
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in Every Way!”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us (all adults) stayed at Swan House for two weeks in September.
We were warmly greeted on arrival by Laura and her delightful daughter. Laura showed us around the house and was a most welcoming and helpful hostess as she had thoughtfully provided us with some fresh milk, fruit and a vase of fresh flowers – a lovely touch after a long journey.
Swan House has been built to a high standard and is a spacious property - it is airy, light, very clean and is located on a peaceful hillside with spectacular views out over the Salt Lake. There is private parking for several cars.
The house is extensively equipped and furnished throughout and it contains all you need for a perfect holiday. The kitchen and utility room are especially well equipped to a very high standard. The house has a ‘state-of-the-art’ underfloor heating system which maintained the perfect temperature, whatever the weather, throughout our entire stay. There is also an open fire just to make an evening cosy on cooler Autumnal nights.
Swan House’s location means that it is not overlooked or disturbed and yet being just a short walk along a quiet single-track road into Clifden (with its lively pubs and great restaurants) means the house is perfectly situated.
This was the best holiday home rental we have ever stayed in and will miss its peace and tranquillity - we wanted for nothing and could not have asked for a more comfortable place to be or gracious hostess and would definitely book this house again.
Just to reiterate, as already mentioned in the other reviews of Swan House, the photographs do not do the house or the stunning views enough justice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming and helpful owners
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you Caroline for your lovely review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at swan view house. It was lovely to meet you all and thank you for looking after our house so well.
Best wishes,
Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattExPat
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic house in beautiful location”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the house for one week at the end of August beginning of September. Our stay was perfect in every way. The house is exquisitely equipped and furnished and the views are magnificent. The pictures really can't capture the beauty as you need to see the full panorama. The kitchen is wonderful for cooking and entertaining and two of the bedrooms have full height picture windows overlooking Salt Lake. The house is a nice walk into Clifden but you'll want a car to explore the area. Laura could not have been nicer or more accommodating. We loved our week-long stay and were sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
Thank you Matt for your lovely review. It was great to meet you and Yolanda. I'm delighted you had such an enjoyable trip, you brought us some sunshine too which was great. I hope that you had a safe trip back to South Africa.
Kind regards,
Laura and Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
Thank you Nicky for your lovely words, it was lovely to meet you and your family. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, despite the poor weather.
Best wishes to you all,
Laura and Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jennifer...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“West Coast Perfection!”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We visited Clifden this Easter with 2 young children and stayed in fabulous Dooneen. Before I even start on the house, let me mention how amazing the surrounding country side is, I've posted a photo below of the scenery from our bedroom window. It shows perfectly the unique beauty of Connemara and Clifden. The house itself is spacious, beautifully finished, extremely comfortable and has everything you could need on a trip....and travelling with two children that's saying something! Our hosts were super helpful and gracious and provided a travel cot and baby essentials, gave us excellent local advice on where to eat (great seafood in Mitchell's restaurant and gorgeous breakfasts, healthy lunches and coffee in Steam cafe but they are reviews for another day!) and made us feel very comfortable and at home. The kitchen is gorgeous and very well equipped should you feel like cooking, the bedrooms are filled with little extra touches, cushions, throws and the whole house has a welcoming and relaxing feel. Dooneen is a little outside Clifden but it's an easy and pleasant walk into the town with gorgeous countryside and friendly animals peeking out from fields along the way. If you are thinking of exploring beautiful Clifden village then this is the house for you!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, it was a pleasure having you stay in our house and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Best wishes,
Laura and Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A really super house in a great location; just outside the town of Clifden the three bedroom, three bathroom house has a panoramic view of the surrounding countryside and Ballynakill Lough. The house boasts all the normal needs – washing machine and tumble dryer, dishwasher, large electric Aga oven and gas hob, microwave in a lovely kitchen-diner with lots of space. A large living room for reading or watching the large TV finishes the great package. We had a super week staying here and if returning to Connemara would certainly rent this house again. The photographs on the web site don't do the house justice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Thank you Rita for your lovely comments. It was lovely to meet you all and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes, Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing