We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous property for our 50th wedding anniversary”

Review of Sunnybank House

View of Sunnybank House from the front gate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Sunnybank House from the front gate
Drawing room Drawing room with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
View of Sunnybank House from the front gate
Drawing room
Drawing room with open fire
Main hallway
Stairs leading to the first floor and 8 upstairs bedrooms
Library Room with integrated computer desk
Television room
Television Room
Dining Room- with 15ft Antique dining table which can seat 20
Kitchen- 6 ring hob- 3 ovens - 2 dishwashers- Ice machine
Kitchen pantry and utility room - with american fridge and freezer
Ensuite bathroom - Room 8
Pool and Sauna at dusk
Table and chairs outside back kitchen door near giant Weber bbq and herb bank
Gateway to Sunnybank House
Steps down onto Church Hill - 2 mins walk to the town square. 3 mins to private leisure centre
Driveway from the front door
Side gates, Tennis court and Car park from the front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
11 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Clifden, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
nsbgal
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous property for our 50th wedding anniversary”
Reviewed 9 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I along with 20 of our best friends spent a wonderful week at Sunnybank House. Check-in and check-out were very easy. Shane, the owner of the property lives close by and was responsive to our requests. Although the temperatures were in cool, a number of our guests used the heated pool and the sauna. The kitchen was fully equipped. Shane provided us with wine, cheese, crackers, bread, coffee, tea and fruit as a welcome gift.
The bedrooms were well appointed with beautiful bedding and lovely bath products. The dining room was able to accommodate 20, although a bit on the tight side. The drawing room, library and small sitting room gave us lots of room to hang out.
Downtown Clifden is a short walk from Sunnybank House. It’s a great town with friendly people, a good variety of restaurants and pubs along with shops that have everything a visitor could want.
We hired a wonderful caterer, Doirin McLoughlin who provided us with 3 fabulous buffet dinners and 7 tasty continental breakfasts.
We highly recommend Sunnybank House and would love to return someday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniellew...
County Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
“Amazing two weeks of sun in Ireland!”
Reviewed 14 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We had a large party of friends and family, and the house was superb. Very comfortable, and with a perfect location: a five-minute walk from the Clifden town center, and an ideal launching point for beautiful walks throughout Connemara. In the home itself, the kitchen was well-equipped for cooking, and the ice-maker was great for drinks. The beds and comforters were luxurious. The heated pool was very popular, and they even have a sauna. Thanks, Shane, for a lovely stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith S
1 review
“Beautiful House for our Wedding Party & Family!”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

My now wife and I stayed here with our wedding party and close family, totaling 17 people for a week. This place was beyond what we could have asked for. They answered all of my questions promptly and were very helpful with recommendations in the town (florist, restaurants, things to do, etc.).

The house was large enough to accommodate our entire group without feeling cramped and the noise didn’t carry from room to room. Each room has its own bathroom which offered privacy for each couple. Three of the bedrooms are on the ground level which was nice for anyone who has difficulty with stairs.

The kitchen was the gathering place for our group and the dining room held almost everyone in our party. The pool was heated and often was warmer than the outside temperatures which was wonderful to use. The house offered ample parking for our 7 rental cars and on our wedding day even more cars.

The town was just a few minute walk down a hill and had everything we could have asked for and more. The town of Clifden was very friendly and accommodating to a large group of Americans taking over.

Thanks to Shane and all of his help on the trip of a lifetime!

Keith and Emma

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyLeoN...
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect for Large Family Vacation”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed at the SunnyBank House for 7 days in October. We were a group of 15 adult family members. The house was perfect for us, we had some members of our family that had mobility issues and they were able to use the 3 bedrooms on the ground floor. Each of the 11 bedrooms had it's own bathroom. Some of the bathrooms had showers and some had tubs with showers. The house had wifi that had to be utilized in the one room it was located in. The house had two living room areas with working fire places. The pool and the sauna were closed for the season and there is a tennis court on premises that we did not use. The kitchen was great and the dinning room could fit our entire group. We had two dinners prepared by Jillian for us during the week and both dinners were excellent. One night we had the pork and the other night we had her lamb dish and her chicken dish. The owner Shane was very accommodating and reservations were easy to do and he was helpful when we got to the house. Shane also owns a pub/restaurant Guys in town that we ate at two nights during the week, we all enjoyed our meals there. The house is a perfect spot to explore Connemara from. It is in walking distance to town which has great shops, restaurants and pubs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deebarry
n.ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for large family gathering ”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This is a wonderful house and the owner Shane is very welcoming and generous as a host. It's centrally located to town but has everything you need. Space for everyone. Lovely rooms, turf fires, swimming pool, sauna and tennis court. We were lucky with the weather and made good use of the pool and had a BBQ one balmy evening! It felt like a villa in the Med - the views of the 12 Benns were fabulous when the clouds lifted. My parents were celebrating 50 years of marriage and we now all have wonderful memories of this place. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing