We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Fanningstown House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fanningstown House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Fanningstown House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Adare, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Caroline...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

House is wonderful. Spotlessly clean and tidy. Angela left a fantastic welcome basket that left us with the essentials for at least a couple of days. Rooms are all beautiful and luxurious. Didnt want to leave. Limerick and surrounding areas are good but we prefered cork which is just over an hours drive away but well worth it. Have stayed in lots of holiday rentals over ireland and so far this one has been the best. Go try here you wont be dissapointed. Thank you so much angela. Next time we are in limerick you will be getting a booking from us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwmcpa201...
Watsonville, California
1 review
“The home and the hosts were absolutely spectacular!”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The house is wonderful in all respects. Fully stocked kitchen, great bedrooms and baths and plenty of room to relax. Conveniently located about an hours drive to places like Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula, Cliffs of Mohr. Surrounding area and town are upscale. Close to highway for connecting to destinations.

Great pubs in Adare for a lunch or dinner plus a market that had everything needed for the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the property.
Liked least: Limited TV.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, perfect setting”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We travelled as a family to celebrate my mother's 70th (it was a surprise). We had the most wonderful time and the house had everything (and more) that we could have needed. We will definitely be returning! Thank you so much!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmmc
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fanningstown House - exceptional!”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I cannot recommend this house highly enough. I booked it literally on the day of our arrival in Adare for a family emergency. Angela, the owner, was exceedingly kind and helpful and readied the house for us within a few hours.
The house is immaculate and well stocked and Angela also provided a comprehensive welcome pack of basic foodstuffs for us.
The location is easy to find; it is about 4 miles from the picturesque village of Adare, so a car is definitely a must. Limerick city is a short drive along the motorway and, for holidaymakers, it is a wonderful location to day trip in various directions.

The ground floor of the house has disabled access via ramps at the back (into the sun room). There is a downstairs double bedroom (not en suite) and a downstairs cloakroom, but unfortunately no downstairs shower/bath.
The kitchen is a wonderful gathering area, with a table to seat 10 people easily. Kitchen has modern appliances and plenty of crockery and utensils. There is a utility room with washing machine and tumble dryer. Central heating is metered and charged additionally.
Wifi is included.
There is also a formal dining room as photographed, but we did not use it.
The living room is cosy and has a bright sun room off it to the west, where I enjoyed the view across the fields as I read my book and sipped coffee.
Upstairs there are two huge bedrooms, one with en suite and walk-in wardrobe, and two slightly smaller double rooms, one of which also has an en suite bathroom. There is a beautiful sunny sitting area on the landing.

All in all, this house would suit large family gatherings, or two families holidaying together.
As others have mentioned it lends itself well to wedding parties, being within three miles of Adare Manor and the Dunraven Arms and even closer to Fitzgerald's Woodlands Hotel.

Ordinarily I would not need to book accommodation in Adare because we have family in the area, but I would be more than happy to stay at the house again. Thanks again to Angela for such wonderful customer service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very spacious for large group
Liked least: No issues at all
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Dear Mary
Many thanks for the encouraging review and for the recommendations
Best wishes
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CycloneJo...
Des Moines, IA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect place to explore ireland”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here 9 nights with a total of 10 people in our group. We could not have found a more perfect spot to unpack our bags and explore the surrounding area (Galway, Cliffs of Moher, Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula, Cork, Cashel, Limerick and Adare). House was exactly as advertised- bedrooms were clean and spacious, bathrooms were spacious and updated, kitchen was extensive and used for many meals, sunroom was our favorite room and many nights spent outside on the patio. John and Angela were always available if needed. We shopped at the Centra grocery store in Adare and at Dunnes Store in Limerick. The Thatch Bar was a short drive away and perfect for local conversation. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing