We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Affordable Cottage - Great Location”
Adare Farm Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Adare Farm Cottage
Dining Area Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Adare Farm Cottage
Dining Area
Kitchen
upstairs bedroom
downstairs twinroom
View of grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Adare, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
VTMChris
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Affordable Cottage - Great Location”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at this cottage. There were four of us traveling and we were very comfortable here.

LOCATION: The cottage is located on a quiet dairy farm just a short drive from the center of Adare. When going into town we parked behind the Adare Heritage Center and from there we were able to walk around the area. There are a number of good pubs and restaurants, among our favorites were Aunty Lena's (pub, easy to find a table), Pat Collins (pub, a bit busier) both had great food. Also enjoyed the Blue Door for a bit more upscale dining.

There is also a Centra (supermarket) near the Heritage Center that we used to stock the cottage.

For our last three times in Ireland we have chosen Adare for lodging for its central location (Cliffs of Moher, Blarney Castle, Muckross House, the Rock of Cashel are all must sees in this part of Ireland).

COTTAGE: The cottage has two bedrooms (one with twin beds) and a loft. There are two bathrooms although you may find the water pressure best in the shower of the main bath. The kitchen had plenty of dishes, flatware, glasses and mugs for our needs, as well as cookware and cooking utensils. Also had a dishwasher and clothes washer, and a hairdryer.

There were also a number of power converters which we made use of to charge our phones. Never had a single problem with the Wi-Fi even with four people using it. We did need some help figuring out the tv which Bryan was only too happy to provide.

I didn't know what to expect in terms of electric and heating costs, but it was very reasonable for 7 days with four people, it was under 25 euro.

QUIET: The cottage and farm are set back from the road quite a bit, it was VERY quiet here.

We had stayed at another cottage in Adare on prior trips and this one can't be beat, especially considering the price. The farm is a beautiful and quiet property and we enjoyed seeing the dog Miller each day. We were very comfortable here and look forward to staying here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable bedding, quiet location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim C
Escondido
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“charming and comfortable”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were so pleasantly surprised by this lovely farm cottage. The house was beautiful, comfortable beds, great showers and well equipped kitchen. The family was very nice and helpful especially Bryan. Great tips about the area. And of course the dog Miller was a highlight as he was on our doorstep to welcome us at any hour and was very sweet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the showers had good water pressure and quiet location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripplan2...
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place ever!!!!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

I had never booked a stay on a site like this...I was not disappointed!! The cottage was so comfortable it felt like home and we didn't want to leave!!! I probably asked 50 questions before our stay as we had never been to Ireland before and the owner Bryan was so sweet and speedy in replying to each one. The cottage had everything we needed to be comfortable. At the end of a long day sightseeing it was nice to come back make a fire and enjoy the recliners! Miller the farm dog is the official greeter and definitely takes his job seriously. My 18 year-old and him were fast friends and he helped fill in the void of not having our own dog around. We were very surprised that Bryan and his family actually had taken the time to post instructions inside the cabinets for everything from how to operate the hob to what numbers to call in case of emergency. Being from the USA everything here is so different that his discreet way of leaving instructions made it all less foreign to me!!! I was able to just jump right in and cook. He had suggestions for places to go on day trips. In talking about our past it sparked a memory he had of a movie that reminded him somewhat of the history of Ireland and he actually loaned us the movie. We enjoyed it and learned a bit about the past happenings here. We enjoyed his showing us how the farm worked and explaining the difference between dairy cattle here versus the ones back home. I am not sure we will ever have the chance to comeback but if we do I am going to do it when this cottage is available!!!! We also booked another place that is nice enough but have as a family all agreed we felt more comfortable at Bryans!!!! It is far enough out to not be in the city but close enough to go to the pub in the evening if you wish. Perfect location!! Thanks for the use of your cottage it was perfect and we had a wonderful time!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
It was great meeting you and thank you for your kind words.It is always our aim to make our guests feel right at home and we are glad you felt this. I hope we get the opportunity to meet again.Bryan and Ruth and of course Miller.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie079...
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at this cottage - wonderful hosts and so easy to make day trips!”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This is a comfortable self-catered 3 bedroom cottage on a working dairy farm. The king bed is upstairs in a loft environment, the double has a small ensuite and there is a twin room. There is an additional large bathroom downstairs. The downstairs bedrooms are small but there is ample bureau space for clothes. As we were older travelers we decided to stay in just the downstairs bedrooms so we didn't have to go up and down stairs during the night but younger travelers would surely find the large upstairs loft bedroom a plus. The kitchen and bathrooms are modern and well equipped. It was a cold february trip but the heaters (additional charge at end of trip) and wood burning stove heated well. The cottage is well situated near Adare with plenty of pub and food eatery choices, bank, grocery and pharmacies. We were able to make a great day trip each day and get back in time for dinner and a warm fire! Our host allowed us to observe a dairy milking one morning, as well as calf tending, which we very much enjoyed. The farm dog Miller was always at our door to welcome us home each night. This is a basic accommodation, but if you are looking for a comfortable lodging to experience Ireland at its best, at an affordable price with very kind people, you will not be disappointed.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaniceAsh...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow! Met and exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Adare Farm Cottage is on a working dairy farm that has been in the same family for many years. The house is lovely and has three bedrooms and two baths. One bedroom is in a loft upstairs and the other two, as well as both baths, are on the main floor. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a large dining table as well as a very comfortable seating area where you can relax after a busy day of seeing the sites. The owner, Bryan, knows all you need to know about the area and is happy to help with anything you need. And, Miller, the family dog will make you smile whenever you see him!

The house is just a mile or two outside of Adare and day trips to the Cliffs of Moher, Burren, Ring of Kerry, and Dingle are easy. The village of Adare is beautiful and has several pubs, restaurants, and shops as well as a grocery store.

We had a great stay and would certainly stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing