We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip”

Wild Geese Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Adare
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Wild Geese restaurant is centrally located in the historic village of Adare Co.Limerick, occupying one of the original thatched cottages dating from the 1820's. The restaurant, with its beautiful doll-like settings, lends itself to a relaxing and atmospheric fine dining experience with seating for up to sixty people. The perfect venue for pre and post wedding parties, romantic meals and ideal for a business dinner to showcase the best of locally sourced food. Menus and opening hours are available on our website.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We were traveling with 9 people which can be a challenge in many of these small restaurants. Julie and her staff accommodated us readily. We also had an issue where we had made the reservation, had to cancel because we didn't think we would be back in time due to a flat tire then called back to see if she could seat us 1/2 hour later. She did all of this for us. Julie even stopped in to chat with us and ask how things were going. She also helped us find a County Clare flag for our daughter. (Even though they were the rival team in a big hurling match that weekend!) The food and service were amazing! This is a dinner we will always remember and we are so grateful to Julie and her staff for the kindness!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PBPWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wild g, Owner at Wild Geese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you, wow such kind words, we're delighted we helped you enjoy your vacation. It was our pleasure.
Kind regards,
Julie and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Unfortunatly this is a rare occasion trip advisor has let me down. I wanted to take my husband somewhere exceptional while we were visiting adare to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I seen this was rated no.1 in adare. I also read it was like walking into your grannies house so kept this in mind . . However it was not only old and dated but also dirty and dusty. Easy simple things could improve the look and ambience of the place. The staff were friendly and i couldnt fault them. The food , bearing in mind this is coming from big foodies was a complete disappointment. We ordered the black pudding with scallops. . The black pudding was completely overcooked. The goats cheese with a curry base . . Was not nice too much cheese the base was hard and crunchy. We both got steak . . Both were over cooked. The mushrooms came in a cream cheese sc in a tartlet form it was inedible.we in good faith ordered the sorbet with lemon meringue which neither of us could eat!! Overall massively disappointed and cannot understand how it is so highly rated.

2  Thank Sinead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

We were greeted warmly and treated like family coming to a relatives home. The menu was interesting and authentic. The service was efficient and friendly, but not unctuous. The food and wines were selected with care, and the preparation was interesting and inviting. We certainly will return again.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank WILLIAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wild g, Owner at Wild Geese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear William,
Thank you for the five stars we're delighted you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,
Julie and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Food was very good, helping was generous. Very cosy and great ambience for a family dinner or meet-up for friends. Highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Chin Eng T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wild g, Owner at Wild Geese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Chin Eng T,
Thank you for the strong recommendation, we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Julie and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Highly recommend the Wild-Geese. We were greeted with a warm and informal welcome to this cosy restaurant.
The food was well presented and tasted wonderful.

Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wild g, Owner at Wild Geese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Jonathan,
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we're delighted you enjoyed your meal.
Kind regards,
Julie and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Geese Restaurant also viewed

Adare, County Limerick
Adare, County Limerick
 
Adare, County Limerick
 

Been to Wild Geese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing