We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A well equipped cottage in beautiful County Cork”
other travellers have booked this property
The Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kinsale, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ann S
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A well equipped cottage in beautiful County Cork”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It was our first trip to Ireland but we plan to return. The cottage was well equipped for our group of two couples. The two ensuite bedrooms suited us well and although we would prefer a larger bed the standard double in our room was comfortable and the east facing window enabled us to enjoy being wakened by the sun. The cooker, dishwasher and washer all worked well and the weather was kind allowing washing to dry in the sun but there was a dryer if we had needed it. The open plan living room led out to a decked terrace from where we enjoyed extensive country views and the added bonus of watching a family of foxes each evening (I do realise that they are no bonus for the farmers as they frequently dine on chicken!). We enjoyed fresh milk and eggs from the farm and found it a lovely tranquil base from which to enjoy the stunningly beautiful countryside, interesting small towns and friendliness of all the people with whom we made contact.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location
Liked least: Five nights was too short to explore the area
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan S
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant for families or couples”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are a couple with no children and especially enjoyed the space, the comfortable and well appointed accommodation and the quiet and peaceful location. Those with children would find this setting ideal and we couldn't recommend it more highly.
The premises were spotlessly clean and our host friendly and obliging. There was every amenity provided that we would want.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
striker66
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family holiday”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent a very enjoyable few days at the barn. The adjoining dairy farm gave our kids a valuable life experience in sustainable living - our two oldest boys fell into a morning routine of collecting fresh milk from the parlour followed by eggs in the chicken house - Michael and Eileen were very accommodating and our kids were made to feel extremely welcome. Couldn't recommend it more and great base for exploring Cork.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelfun...
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
646 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Spacious, Well Equiped”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed 4 nights in the barn. It's quite spacious - 2 bedrooms/bathrooms on the ground floor, and the dining/living space on the second floor. It is very comfortable and the kitchen is well equiped. We asked for wi-fi and were able to have it for a minimal fee. There's a washer & dryer - we used both and they worked well as did the dishwasher. It's a very quiet spot in the country and a nice change from city activity. It's an easy drive into Kinsale for dinner if you wish. We did the Ring of Kerry from here and also visited part of the Ring of Beara (strong recommend the visit to Mizen Head lighthouse - great view). Micheal is a very welcoming host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciaradeir...
Rennes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quiet and peaceful place with great relaxation.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I and our two children stayed 12 days at "the barn". Its beautifully restored with a stone fireplace and very spacious indeed. The surroundings are just wonderful. The view from the balcony is terrific and the girls loved the play area (when it wasnt raining). The barn is fully equiped and caters for all age groups, including books and toys for the children to play with. The hosts, michael & eileen were very pleasant to meet and we appreciated the scones, fresh milk and fresh flowers on our arrival. Its situated very near the town of kinsale, which of course is a great tourist spot. And about a 20-25 minute drive to the city. We had the occassion to go to killarney for the day too which took about 1h20 minutes drive, its worth a visit. Just one little remark i must point out, was the 2 frying pans that we used were not of great quality, may i suggest non stick frying pans are best, never the less are stay was an enjoyable one and would definetly reccommmend the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how spacious it was.
Liked least: frying pans
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing