We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Very Wonderful Place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gearagh House

Gearagh House from front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gearagh House from front
Front and side on view Entrance Hallway of Gearagh House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Gearagh House from front
Front and side on view
Entrance Hallway of Gearagh House
Dining room in Gearagh House
Master Bedroom
Bedroom number 2 (also called the Blue Room)
Ensuite shower room for Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4 (the Green Room) also has an ensuite bathroom
The kitchen in Gearagh House
The west facing deck to the rear of Gearagh House with Swim Spa and seating area
Gearagh House from the top of the back garden.
Sunny spot in the garden
Sun conservatory at back of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Johnnythe...
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Very Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Other than some initial problems with hot water, our group of 11 had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at Gearagh House this past August. A stately and grand home set upon lovely, well-kept grounds, it was everything it was advertised to be: conveniently located, charming, roomy and relaxing. We especially enjoyed gathering in the kitchen for happy hour before adjourning for convivial dinners and conversation about the day's events in the spacious and bewitching dining room. Nearby Clonakilty has everything that you could ask for. You would be well advised to book this place well in advance as it is truly a West Cork gem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
@johnnythemanatee many thanks for the review and glad you and the group enjoyed your stay in West Cork. Thanks also for choosing to stay in Gearagh House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoebe L
1 review
“Amazing house, beautiful location, perfect host!”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I visited in June for a celebration after finishing uni and the visit could not have been more fantastic!

The house is absolutely stunning and the furniture is to die for! The beds are so comfy it's been the best few nights of sleep I've had for ages! The giant hot tub in the garden is perfect for watching the stars in the evening (which was definitely a highlight of the trip for me). The location, although close to the town, seems rural and incredibly relaxing. The scenery is beautiful!

Maoilíosa is the perfect host, and definitely made the visit run smoothly for us! So a massive thank you for a wonderful few days!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Phoebe,

Many thanks for the lovely review.

Glad you and all the crew had a good time and got to unwind after the exams.

Congrats on your fine academic achievement.

You're always welcome to come and stay again.

Best wishes,

Maoiliosa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhmk108
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Something Special”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just returned from a week there with my wife and 3 children. A wonderful, atmospheric house, filled with the most beautiful furniture, and with gothic windows throughout. If you enjoy historic houses, then this is for you. Additionally there is an enormous Jacuzzi in the secluded backyard, and large landscaped grounds. Excellent communications with the owner throughout. Book with confidence.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Dear bhmk108,

Many thanks for the fine review.

Delighted to have you and your family to stay at Gearagh House and that you enjoyed your time there and in West Cork.

Best wishes,

Maoiliosa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meganchit...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing, royal, country break.”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My friends and I came to Gearagh House for a post exam relax/blow out and the house and location could not have been more perfect for it. In the day we read books on the patio and sat in its expansive gardens taking in it's great view from the top love seat. Yet on more adventurous days, we hopped in the car and went to the beach and other activities such as whale watching and the lake are all possible. We made full use of the bbq and kitchen and made big breakfasts and feasts the whole time we were there and in the evenings the massive hot tub was the perfect end to the day with a few drinks in hand. The house itself is beautiful, you feel as if you're staying in a royal manor, and it is located in the most breathtaking part of Ireland. I couldn't recommend this place enough for anything from a mini-break to a two-week holiday. If I had it my way I'd move in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Hi Megan,

Many thanks for the review and congratulations on your recent academic achievements.

Delighted that you were able to wind down in Gearagh House after your exams.

You and your family and friends are always welcome to come and stay.

Best wishes,

Maoiliosa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesfarn...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Irelands' very own pot of gold”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This place has the class of a castle mixed in with a hot-tub the size of my house in a part of Ireland that should be kept a secret for as long as possible. We stayed for 4 days which was too short. It's a private relaxing getaway from the busy city of London and is simply bliss.

Gearagh house has two wings which can house up to 10-12 people. We took 9 people and had so much space that we all lived and relaxed in harmony.

It is a short 10 minute drive to Clonakilty where you find a beautiful little town equipped with many pleasant restaurants and places to grab a drink by the river. Gearagh house has a fully functioning kitchen so we grabbed supplies from the large Lidl in town and cooked for ourselves before dunking ourselves in the hot tub.

Overall whether it's a holiday needed or a corporate retreat to get away from corporate life, this place is the place to be. If you are lucky you may even get a visit from the neighbours lovely dogs.

Maoilíosa is a perfect host and responded quickly at all times. He left us towels, shampooes and we might as well been staying in a five-star retreat organised by a luxury agency. Simply 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Hi James,

Many thanks for the feedback and great to have you guys to stay in Gearagh House. You'll always be welcome back to West Cork.

And congrats on your fine academic achievements!

Best wishes,

Maoilíosa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing