We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Tower's! ”

1584 at The White Deer
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Mallow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated at the gates of Mallow Castle 1584 at The White Deer is an award winning restaurant that showcases local produce in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Set over two floors we can also accommodate larger groups upstairs and have a range of dishes prepared from scratch at excellent value!! Please check our menu.
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

I was silly enough to book this place for my wife's party with another 11 people.

I knew 5 minutes in it was going to be a disaster as they served the Pinot Grigio warm! The girls serving us though were really nice and fantastic at their jobs.

Starter was chicken wings (4) with blue cheese which never arrived. The Mash for main course was Smash which is unbelievable for a Restraunt that raves about sourcing local produce.

The Brioche bun on the Burger fell apart plus the chips were cold when served! Also some of us were nearly finished before other members of family received their main course.

They deducted the Burger of the bill but still overpriced and most of us were still hungry going home.

This place has great potential but unfortunately with the current owner in place this place will fail. It's a pity as it's a nice place with brilliant staff.

Date of visit: September 2018
11  Thank maleilish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1584atTheWhiteDeer, Owner at 1584 at The White Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So sorry that you had such an experience here. Hands up, on the night in question we had a major issue with one of our staff members which we did convey to you. The service was not up to our usual standards and for this we are sorry and apolagise unreservedly.
Unfortunately on the night in question I was not in the restaurant but i do work front of house and thank you for your compliments on our front of house team. This business can be really tough and as with any restaurant there will be an off night. We must just work hard to continuously improve every day and strive to make it better.
You can rest assured that we are one of the few restaurants that genuinely cares about where we source our ingredients but to suggest that we use smash instead of mash is a little harsh. Also, to call into question our commitment here is just something that will push us harder.
It's not a positive or helpful thing for our staff here to have their families and friends read your comment that they will be out of work soon. Perhaps it's just the nature of this business that we are expected to bow to every "off the cuff" comment but again i feel that this comment is also harsh, lacking perspective and over the top. I know and understand what i signed up for here and trust me when i say that our team here was genuinely hurt that your experience was so.
Win, lose or draw here, i feel proud that we have made a considerable contribution to this town. I opened this stand alone restaurant over eight years ago during a recession and feel proud to have provided more than 400 part time and full time jobs. Supporting local business more than most and in more recent times supporting more ethical farming practices.
My door always is and always will be wide open to genuine dialogue and i fully believe that honest constructive criticism is absolutely essential to the success of any eatery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2018

This restaurant is the gold standard for supporting local farmers and artisans and turning their products into five star meals. My wife and I had a local cider that was delicious followed by their superfood salad and the cauliflower tofu curry. It was all delicious. Elaine did a perfect job of serving us. We felt very well taken care of. It was a delight to support this excellent restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lukelundemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1584atTheWhiteDeer, Owner at 1584 at The White Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It makes us so proud when our ethos shines through to a review like this. Thank you for your comments. Elaine will be delighted!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

steak excelent great romantic atmosphere we stayed at least two hours our waiter wasvery good gave us our in a ice bucket so helpfull

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jimbuddy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1584atTheWhiteDeer, Owner at 1584 at The White Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this. You've made us smile!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had a lovely dinner. We tried homemade soup, salad and the Hereford steak and it was amazing. Very tasty and very good. Really good service.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank davidsingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1584atTheWhiteDeer, Owner at 1584 at The White Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Genuinely thankfull for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

A well varied menu of delicious food from around the globe to stimulate your taste buds at excellent prices. Set in a beautiful building with quality furnishings and managed by friendly professional staff, the atmosphere and meal were both pleasant and delicious.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1584atTheWhiteDeer, Owner at 1584 at The White Deer, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so so much for this!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1584 at The White Deer also viewed

 
Mallow, County Cork
Mallow, County Cork
 

Been to 1584 at The White Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing