We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Indian Food”

Indiana Thai & Indian Restaurant & Takeaway
Ranked #21 of 24 Restaurants in Macroom
Price range: US$4 - US$22
Description: Customer information: We do not use flavour enhancers in any of our dishes it is all spices & herbs that we make fresh & that is guaranteed! No artificial flavours. No flavour enhancers OR additives are used. We do not use MSG (E621). We only use 100% Irish meat we use vegetable from local Farm
Restaurant details
Description: Customer information: We do not use flavour enhancers in any of our dishes it is all spices & herbs that we make fresh & that is guaranteed! No artificial flavours. No flavour enhancers OR additives are used. We do not use MSG (E621). We only use 100% Irish meat we use vegetable from local Farm
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Visited Macroom as part of a weekend trip and decided to try this restaurant the first night. The restaurant was empty when we arrived and the service remained poor throughout the time we were there. The starters were greasing and over cooked. The drinks we ordered were lukewarm. The main courses of Butter Chicken and Chicken Tikka Masala were inedible. To top this experience off we we ordered off a set a set menu for €34.95 and were charged €42.40. There was no point complaining at this as all we wanted to do is make our escape. Not only the worst Indian food I’ve ever eaten but the worst food I’ve ever paid for.

2  Thank Jess O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndianaRestaurant, General Manager at Indiana Thai & Indian Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear sir or madam,
We are Really sorry for that . You was complained about out Butter chicken and Chicken tikka masala. That’s 2 item are our very good Saler. And both food are sweet food. If you want to different kinds of test you can tell us when you order your food . You order from set manu it’s price is €35,95 not €34.95. You also order drinks that price will be separated also. Drinks it’s not included with meal deal. Anyway thanks for your review we inform to our management team . If you order anytime let us know. We will give you complementary food on the house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Loved the chicken Korma and the butter and nan bread was delicious it doesn’t strain your bank account

Thank CathalNeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndianaRestaurant, Manager at Indiana Thai & Indian Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thanks very much for your lovely review

Hope see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Never ever disappoints for eat in or take away! The naan bread is to die for and the classic Tikka Masaala with pilau rice is delicious. The staff are always so friendly and accommodating. Very well priced. Don't miss out!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HelenNiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndianaRestaurant, Manager at Indiana Thai & Indian Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thanks very much for your lovely review. Hope see you again.

Regards,
Management from Indiana Asian cuisine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Moved from a city of over 200,000 to a small town in Cork in 2015. In England we had a unbelievable choice of Indian Restaurants and Takeaways (also I have been to Goa 3 times so well used to quality Indian food), here not so many choices of Indians, and we drive to the Indiana often just for a meal, and that is over 20 minutes drive away.

We found the tastes people have here differ as they don't like spicy food so much, and we have found the Indian restaurants serve the food very mild to what we were used too. So yes if you don't like spicy food just try something as it is down to what Chilli they use to make the real heat. Tell them how hot or mild you want it. You wont be disappointed.

I would like to say we now use Indiana just once a month, but we actually use it more... The staff are polite and friendly, and they are willing to make your order to however hot or mild you want it, just ask. Our 2 children aged 9 + 10 ALWAYS come with us everywhere and this is where they love to come most, and no they don't eat currys, but they now love Chicken Pakora, sometimes they opt for Goujons, but now we find they want it with rice not chips.

I have sampled various meals and side orders, and all top class cannot fault them. The girls love desert as well. My hubby loves the Onion Bhaji's as the size is large and he prefers them that way.

Now down to drinks. The Indiana don't have all alcoholic drinks, they have some spirits and wines, and Lager. We bring our own Guinness. But as was said when we first went there bring your own drink, they are interested in food sales, but saying that often we have had drink from Indiana and not been disappointed.

I personally would say if your not sure try their Buffet on Sunday Lunch time 12-4 I think and its cheaper than usual menu, they usually have a good selection of Indian food also including Thai dishes, and if what you want isn't on the buffet you can still ask for it from the menu.

We use the Indiana as a family group of 5, but have often seen parties and even seen people going in on their own after shopping.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Myself and my better half always enjoy an Indian and to be honest would know the difference between good and bad.This was average we had the house special delight and was lacking in heat but the meat was was tender and a Korma .The Korma was the winner but just lacked a little freshness. Pashwari Naan was delicious as was the onion bhaji. If you are need of an Indian "fix" then do try it otherwise not outstanding

5  Thank john B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indiana Thai & Indian Restaurant & Takeaway also viewed

 
Macroom, County Cork
Macroom, County Cork
 
Macroom, County Cork
 

Been to Indiana Thai & Indian Restaurant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing