We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A unique massage of the senses!”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bedroom 1 (en suite) Bedroom 3 (en suite)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bedroom 1 (en suite)
Bedroom 3 (en suite)
Bedroom 2 Twin room (double & single bed)
Upstairs livingroom, stunning views of the Mullet peninsula.
Kitchen - Dining area
Family bathroom.
Belmullet CGS (North facing)
Our 2 Luxury Pods.
Boat trips can be arranged by request.
Luxury Pods also availablle
A panoramic view from Claggan Island.
Panoramic view from Belmullet Cgs.
Aerial View of Claggan Island. July 2013
Aerial view with Claggan Island in the background, July 2013
Sunset over Belmuller CGS
Claggan Island Sunset
Claggan Beach with Belmullet CGS in the background.
Claggan Beach (Achill Island in background)
Stunning views of Achill to the south.
Carramore lake. A 15 minute drive away.
The wild Atlantic ocean at its best.
Ballyglass Lighthouse. 20 minute drive from Claggan Island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Lighthouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Belmullet, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Dan W
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A unique massage of the senses!”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The sounds of nesting skylarks and waves on the beach, the local smell of burning turf, the majestic views, the kissing of Atlantic wind and rain (which can be more of a slap!) and the taste of world class local fish and drink make Mayo a place to experience. Taking this further - this island jewel accommodation is ideal for a holiday to relax. The apparent difficult access (across a sandbar) is part of the charm, making for peaceful walks amongst the dunes and beaches.
Starting with the welcome of the sea, mountains and a warm, generous and friendly family - we stayed in a clean, well-designed, warm and cosy, and spacious house with beds in a different league of comfort. The presence of a wii was a nice but ironic touch in light of the wonderful peaceful location (not to say the kids had one go!). Turf burners, farm eggs and
great birdwatching added more to our already-enchanted experience.
Mayo, Belmullet and Erris are an amazing place to go to relax and give the senses some re-charging. The Coastguards station is the ultimate place to experience this from. Thanks to all the Howards. We wish you every success.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you so very much for this wonderful review, not only of the accommodation we are proud to provide but of our local area and county. We really enjoyed the chats during your stay and we hope to see you back again soon. best wishes for the future...until next time!! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ro M
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
“Definitely recommend staying in pod, it's something different and fun!”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in the pod for two nights over Easter. The pod itself is really cosy, private and something a bit different. It has a Scandinavian feel to it. Laurence, our host, lit the camp fire which was lovely and atmospheric. We had some nice walks on the beach and around the island (through the fields!). Cool to stay on a working farm. It's close to Belmullet which has some good pubs and restaurants and some great views of Achill (when it's not misty!). Laurence and his wife Myra were really friendly and perfect hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying on an island farm!
Liked least: no breakfast (although they do give lovely duck eggs)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
Many thanks for the wonderful review. it was a pleasure to meet you and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daragh S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Irish Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and 6 friends stayed in the Belmullet Coast Guard Station during a recent golf trip. Lawrence was an amazing host and ensured that the turf fire was burning on arrival. We even had organic chicken and duck eggs each morning from the nearby farm. The simple but significant touches! The house location is truly stunning and the interiors are luxury. I know where I will be staying on my return to Belmullet next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery
Liked least: The access pathway to the property is via a beach
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Thanks so much for brilliant review. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we really appreciate it. We are delighted you enjoyed Claggan island & look forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lydiadon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the perfect escape”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This place is amazing. we stayed in the pods, looking out to the water, a beautiful view to wake up to. the pods are brilliant, so warm and comfortable,beats a hotel room any day of the week! the facilities on site are great, bathroom in the pod and then a kitchen and ladies and gents showers bedside in a separate building. this part of mayo is a must to visit. We drove out to eagle Island and down to blacksod lighthouse. lovely drive with spectacular views along the coast. I'll definitely be back!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairead L
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“we loved it”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed at the coastguard station over Christmas and we had a wonderful time. The house had been decorated for Christmas and it all looked great. Laurence and his father were both genuinely nice people and the house itself was really lovely- the nicest holiday rental we've ever been to. The fresh carrots (which we had with Christmas dinner!) and duck and hen eggs were very much appreciated. There is a lovely beach within 10 mins walk of the house, which we enjoyed, even in the winter. The free use of the swimming pool at the local Broadhaven bay hotel was a real asset with two kids and a couple of rainy days during our stay. We could also recommend the Gateway leisure centre, a short drive from the house- we went bowling there one day, it also has a nice bar/restaurant and a supervised play area that our six year old enjoyed for an hour.
We're all looking forward to returning to the coastguard station one day..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beach
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your Christmas on Claggan island. best wishes for 2015 and hope to see you back again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing