We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in a great location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tigh Nell

The master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The master bedroom
Private outdoor patio area The kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The master bedroom
Private outdoor patio area
The kitchen
The living room
The twin room
Upstairs landing
The bathroom
The self catering house
The farmhouse on the left, and the B&B to the right
The driveway, shared with the B&B
Local hillwalks
Local hillwalks
Driving the sheep in Ballydavid
View of the Dead Man
View of the Three Sisters and An Dooneen Pier
Ballydavid Tower
Fishing at Dooneen
Gallarus Oratory
Kilmolkaeder Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Hazhappy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a very enjoyable week staying in this cottage. The owner runs a B&B next door and is very friendly and helpful. The cottage is very comfortable and ideally situated for exploring the Dingle peninsula.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eljay03
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place, good price”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed here for three nights with three children ages 7, 4, and 17 months (in baby cot). The accommodations are part of a larger house but set apart so that you feel like you are in as smaller house of your own. Furnishings are nicely updated and modern, rooms are spacious, and the place is clean very clean although we noticed that our feet turned black if we walked around barefoot. It may just mean that the wooden floors needed to be cleaned more regularly. The place definitely wasn't dusty and was spotless otherwise. Beds and pillows were amazingly comfortable. There are stairs leading up to the bedrooms and bathroom, so I wouldn't recommend it for people with really small children who don't have a lot of experience with stairs. Our daughter does have experience and was fine. It was definitely nice to have a washer and dryer. The kitchen was decently stocked. A small grocery store is withing walking distance, which is nice, and the place is very close to the coast. It's a bit further out from Dingle (10 minutes), so keep this in mind when you book, but it's a fantastic price. Mary, the host, is lovely and takes excellent care of her guests. She is very responsive. It was a bit tricky to find the place. Follow the signs to Hurley's Farm once you see them. That's the same as taking you to the apart/house. There wasn't any wi-fi when we were there, and we found this to be a bit of a pain because we use it to plan our activities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Comfortable beds, cleanliness, price
Liked least: No wi-fi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen F
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“absolutely delightful”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I spent a week in Tigh Nell What a delightful house in a magnificent location The house is ideally situated for walking with fantastic restaurants nearby Mary who is in charge could not be more helpful So accommodating and kind The house is very comfortable spotlessly clean beautiful furniture an ideal base to discover the magic of the area

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This house is beautifully renovated and very clean and comfortable. All amenities are modern and easy to use. Very scenic location. We really enjoyed our stay here. Hope to be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard H
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage, delightful stay”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Tigh Nell has been beautifully renovated and has a cosy lounge, 2 big, well furnished bedrooms, high quality furniture, a solid fuel range in the kitchen and an open fire for winters evenings. The owner, Mary was very helpful and friendly at check in and check out and the house is in the nicest part of the Dingle peninsula. Our kids hadn't expected wifi but this worked well and assisted new year greetings back home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fire and kitchen range
Liked least: Poor water pressure to dishwasher, not a hardship to wash the dirty stuff by hand.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review for Tigh Nell.
It is very much appreciated.
I hope all went well for you on the way home and wish you and your family a very happy 2014.
Kind regards, Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing