We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lodgewood Cottage

Quiet area close to the center of Kenmare town. Just a three minute walk to Main Street.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Quiet area close to the center of Kenmare town. Just a three minute walk to Main Street.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Quiet area close to the center of Kenmare town. Just a three minute walk to Main Street.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sarah B
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 30 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

If you're looking for comfort and to rent a home from home for your family, then lodgewood is the place to go! Marian and David are so welcoming and the newly refurbished house is so spacious and relaxing (not to mention the big garden, perfect for eating outside or for kids to play). We had a wonderful time staying here...for the 3rd time and we hope it won't be the last! Kenmare is a beautiful thriving town with gorgeous scenery and lodgewood cottage is only a two minute walk right to the town centre....you will not be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2018
Thank you very much for your excellent review. It was our pleasure to have your family staying again at Lodgewood Cottage for the third time. I hope we will be in a position to accommodate you once again sometime in the future.
Best regards and take care, David and Marian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbjemry...
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lodgewood Cottage Kenmare”
Reviewed 7 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful. Nicer even than the pictures! Also, extremely close to the village, with a suntrap of a garden. Highly recommend. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for writing such a glowing review. It was an absolute pleasure to have such wonderful guests staying at Lodgewood Cottage. We hope we will be in a position to accommodate you again sometime in the future.
Best regards and take care, David and Marian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bosscanbe...
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All you could ask for ...”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at Lodgewood Cottage with friends for two delightful weeks. The cottage is immaculately clean and very comfortable. Marian and David are exemplary hosts, and Marian's soda bread was a highlight. The cottage is in a very quiet area, but two minutes away through a little laneway are the wonders of Kenmare. Kenmare itself is a wonderful town to explore, and is a great base for seeing the sights of the Beara and Kerry peninsulas as well as being within reasonable striking distance from Cork. We all loved the cottage and recommend it highly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for such a glowing review. It was such a pleasure to meet such nice people, who were great communicators and so respectful of the cottage. This is one of the rewarding aspects of holiday rentals meeting such wonderful people.
We would be delighted to accommodate you again sometime in the future.
Take care.

David and Marian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelleg...
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My mother, sister, and daughter booked this cottage due to location close to the center of town. We got so much more! The house was VERY clean and had everything we needed to function on a daily basis. We felt more than right at home. Each of us having our own updated bathroom was a plus and the kitchen was so easy to relax and cook in, especially with the view of the yard over the sink. The yard is beautiful as well as the location. The owners were so nice upon check in (Marion even baking us bread) and throughout our stay. We did however leave a day early only to get up to Galway before coming back to Boston and David came right over to check us out. If I ever go to the area again I wouldn't stay anywhere else but the Lodgewood Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Layout of home and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
It was lovely having nice guests like you staying in the Lodgewood Cottage. Thank you for the lovely review and hopefully we will be in a position to accommodate again some time in the future.
Take care.
David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denisslyn...
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent accommodation in Kenmare”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A good welcome from David O'Dwyer. Bungalow in a perfect location, only minutes from Main Street. Clean, well-furnished and well-equipped 3-bedroomed bungalow.
Kenmare is a great town and a perfect base for touring the Beara and Iveragh peninsulas.
A barbecue would have been nice (excellent weather while we were there)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for your excellent review. It was a pleasure to have you staying in the Lodgewood Cottage and hopefully we will be able to accommodate you again some time in the future.
Take care.

David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing