We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage for two”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dan's Cottage

Main photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main photo
Sitting room Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Main photo
Sitting room
Sitting room
Master Bedroom
Kitchen
Enter a caption for your photo
Kitchen
Kenmare Bridge
Bedroom
Sitting room
Old Church ruin
Sheep
Kenmare Bay
Swans at Kenmare Pier
Reenagross ,Kenmare
The Three Statues,Kenmare
Bathroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter S
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Cottage for two”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We quite enjoyed Dan’s cottage which we rented for a week in September. It fit the bill perfectly for two persons. Fionnuala had provided a starter pack of bread, grapes, milk, juice etc. which was quite welcome. We found the cottage had all the amenities we required during our stay and the rooms were very comfortable. The kitchen is quite small but was certainly serviceable and had everything we needed. The Wi Fi worked fine for us during the whole stay. Great spot for touring the surrounding area (Ring of Kerry, Beara Peninsula etc). We would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a place in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Had all the amenties we required for our stay!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22Sue
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top class hospitality”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were actually booked to stay in Dan's Cottage but were told just one month before our holiday that it had been double booked! We were offered a room in the Bed and Breakfast facility 'Kenmare House' on the same site and decided to take that option rather than change all our plans at the last minute. What an excellent decision that turned out to be! Danny and Fionnuala could not have been more welcoming or helpful during our stay. They know their locality really well and made suggestions of routes to drive, local walks and places to see which allowed us to explore the very best of the area. They also made phone calls on our behalf to try and secure us a place on one of the boats to Skellig, all of which it seems were fully booked. They managed to reserve us a place and we had a truly wonderful trip which would not have been possible without their help.
The room itself was spacious, clean and comfortable, with everything we could need for the en-suit bath/shower room and tea/coffee making facilities. I could not recommend this house and its landlord and landlady more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The helpfulness of Danny and Fionnuala
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Reasonable Self-Catering Cottage on the Ring of Kerry”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage is well situated for touring south Kerry - Killarney National Park, Dingle, the Ring of Kerry and Beara are all within easy reach by car - and is located next to the proprietors' large B&B establishment. The cottage has its own parking area.

The bedroom is large and comfortable, the living room rather cramped and the kitchen very small. It is all well equipped, although some fittings and attachments are a little fragile. The cottage is quite dark, with some very dim lights. The wi-fi didn't work at all for the first three days. Thereafter it was reliable only in the bedroom.

Danny was a genial host and a starter pack was provided with a loaf of bread, courtesy of Fionnuala, which was absolutely delicious, and a large bottle of orange juice.

Electricity and oil usage is an additional charge (€25 for the week for us, but will be based on usage), which is an unusual concept for anyone holidaying from the UK, where it is normally included in the rental price.

It is the additional charge for fuel and the spotty wi-fi which prevents this cottage getting a higher review score.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Spotty wi-fi, additional charges for electricity and fuel
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lel01
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable stay - well placed for touring Kerry. Small town with plenty of good places to eat. Cottage had everything we needed for our stay and the owners gave us great travel tips on places to see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing