We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional property and exceptional people!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Shelbourne Town House from across the raod
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
View of the Shelbourne Town House from across the raod
Patio area in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
31alisonl
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional property and exceptional people!”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Staying here was truly a pleasure from booking to me forgetting to pay the electric bill when I left. The house itself is 3 stories of comfort and care. The bottom floor is a lovely kitchen with everything you need from breadbox to washer dryer. We were greeted by Tracey who could not have more patient and kind with our numerous questions and requests from where to eat to where could we find a local driver to take us out to the Beara Peninsula (that's another wonderful tale in itself.) Tracey gave us a lovely welcome bag with wine, local chocolate and coffee for the espresso maker. The living room has two comfy chairs and a love seat, TV and soft blankets. The property was very clean. The WiFi worked wonderfully but keep in mind in Ireland there are limited TV channels in much of the lodging. The one bathroom had all we needed with nice towels and lovely soaps provided. The bedrooms were restful and thoughtfully decorated. The beds were comfy and we slept well. The property could be challenging for people with mobility issues as it is on several floors. All in all the Shelbourne is a grand lady that truly has become more beautiful as she's aged. We are already planning our next stay in Kenmare and the Shelbourne is our only choice. And back to the electric bill- we got a sweet message hoping we enjoyed our stay and how would we like to pay the electric. After two credit card fails (I forgot to notify bank we were out of the country) we finally got our bill settled. Sarah and Tracey couldn't have been kinder. Ah Ireland, I miss you already.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for such kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay in our holiday home and we would love to see you come back again in the future.
I hope you are well rested after your stay and ready to embrace the world again.
Smiles and sunshine
Tracy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great residence in town center!”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We have visited Ireland several times, and we always stay at the lovely, well-appointed Shelbourne Townhouse in Kenmare. Kenmare is a lovely town, and this townhouse draws us back due to its perfect location for all of our activities in the town and our daily excursions to the countryside. The townhouse is lovely and cozy with fireplaces in the living area and kitchen. One of our favorite things is to spend time warming by the fire in the living room. The townhouse has four levels with the kitchen on the bottom floor that has access to a back garden which leads to an alley attached to one of the main streets in Kenmare.
The owner/manager is local and owns The White Room which is a charming linen/gift shop in town. She and her staff are always accessible and helpful, and they make our stay special and enjoyable. Shelbourne Townhouse is truly a gem as are the special ladies at the White Room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to town center
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
Thank you for the lovely review you gave us. It was lovely to see you both again in Kenmare and we look for ward to seeing your lovely smiles again soon.
Many thanks and hope you have a great christmas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: decor and location
Liked least: having to leave!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
madmartin...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent location, luxurious accommodation”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed here for a week and really enjoyed this comfortable home from home. We have rented many houses over the years and can honestly say this house would rank in the top three.
Kenmare is a fine town to visit and we were right in the hub of everything. Eating out is expensive as would be expected in a top tourist location and we shopped locally in well stocked supermarkets and cooked in the kitchen which had everything we needed down to a sharp knife and plenty of plates, dishes etc.
Parked was easy in a free car park straight across the road.
We would have no hesitation in returning'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely town house right in the middle of Kenmare town, excellent!”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Great house right in the centre of Kenmare walking distance to great restaurants, pubs and individual shops. The house had everything you could possibly want right down to to providing an umberella. Lovely touches which made you feel you were home from home. The girls who looked after the house were great and nohing was too much trouble, very friendly and helpful. We would definitly recommend and are planning to return next year.
Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the staff who were available to answer any questions we had. The house is fab and very central to lovely restaurants,pubs and live music. The house had some lovely touches which really made it feel like home from home, EXCELLENT!
Liked least: the mattress in the main bedroom was very soft and dipped in the middle, if that was changed the whole place would be perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing