We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in lovely surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property
Cleady River Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cleady River Cottage
Entrance hallway Sittingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Cleady River Cottage
Entrance hallway
Sittingroom
Sittingroom with stove
Downstairs double with ensuite
Upstairs double bedroom
Open Fireplace
Front cosy sitting room
Open plan kitchen/diningroom
Fully equipped kitchen
Cook and chat at the same time so you don't miss out!
Stove in the new sitting room
Guest bathroom with wet room
Dining table seats six with ease
Early morning coffee outside!
South facing patio
Beautiful bike roads
Kenmare Bay
The nearby Healy Pass
Kenmare town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sally G
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay in Cleady River Cottage. The cottage itself is beautifully decorated and really cosy. We found it really comfortable and was well-equipped, with everything we needed for our stay. It could be a bit tricky to find but we were given comprehensive instructions beforehand and had no trouble which was really helpful. The cottage is situated about 5 mins drive from Kenmare, which is a lovely little town and is a fantastic base to explore the local area and the ring of Kerry. We did have a bit of trouble getting hot water for the bathrooms downstairs- we found we had to put the immersion heater on quite a bit in advance to get hot showers in the morning. Upstairs there's an electric shower so this was not a problem. Overall we loved the cottage and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We hope to be back soon!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, cosy cottage
Liked least: We had difficulty with the hot water- we had to put the immersion heater on for quite a while to get hot showers downstairs which was a bit of a pain in the morning
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryan t
Perth, Australia
1 review
“quiet luxury”
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

down a tree covered lane, past a few cows and then a gurgling river as we entered the property.
large grounds, well manicured and a beautifully presented house. Inside was satellite TV, a Bose system, lots of space for some private time (2 big sitting rooms and a kitchen) and a very well equipped kitchen. Heated up quickly and the beds were delightful, as we fell asleep to the noise of the Cleady River .
The chef (partner) felt it was one of the best kitchens she had worked in --and the Nespresso was an added bonus.
We were 5 minutes from Kenmare and the Rings of Kerry and Beara. We found the Bonane heritage park a real hidden gem. We were lucky enough to be visiting when most tourists were not--and we had sunny skies for 2/3 days!!! This property is well suited for families, friend getaways and our little romantic weekend. No hesitation to recommend it without reservation!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet in a very well equipped property
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks so much for your kind review which hopefully will help future guests in choosing one of the best (if not the best) self catering homes in Kenmare!! Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back to Cleady River Cottage in the not too distant future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColaNik
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage was just perfect. Everything about it made our holiday, it was so clean, really well stocked with all you need, great location and beautifully decorated.

It's almost spoilt us for future holidays, we loved this cottage and absolutely loved Kenmare. Will definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weblairs
County Down, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I DOUBT IF YOU CAN FIND BETTER”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic holiday home in a beautiful secluded location yet only a short distance from Kenmare town which has all the shops , bars , restaurants you could want . The house is great , well presented , clean , 3 bedrooms all with en suite facilities plus an extra shower room . Fully equipped kitchen / utility , nice dining area and 2 separate seated areas with tvs ( sky ) . Large private garden and nice outside patio areas . Could not fault this property in any way - we had a great time and will return at some stage - thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House totally exceeded expections
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roli4711
Degersheim
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Nice place to explore Kerry and West Cork. Quiet and very clean.The house is in excellent condition. It is highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Thanks for staying at Cleady River Cottage! I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we might welcome you back again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing