We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful gem and perfect getaway from the crowds”

Review of Casa Verde

Superking size bedded main bedroom with ensuite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Superking size bedded main bedroom with ensuite
Double bedroom with double height ceiling
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Superking size bedded main bedroom with ensuite
Double bedroom with double height ceiling
The dining room on the terrace with river views
Super kitchen with all mod cons including ice cream maker!
Luxury seating on the terrace
Looking out from the terrace to the rio
Family bathroom
En-suite shower room to main bedroom
Sanlucar looking towards Portugal
Night-time on the Rio
Promenade at riverside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sanlucar de Guadiana, Province of Huelva, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
43roberts...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful gem and perfect getaway from the crowds”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Southern escapes were recommended to us by friends who stayed in their cottage in the North of Scotland. Casa Verde- is absolutely beautifully renovated and has everything needed to ensure a relaxing holiday: facilities excellent for cooking and barbecue-ing, wide choice of books, we spent many evenings on the patio playing cards or scrabble, listening to beautiful singing (Fado) clearly reaching us over the waters from Alcoutim; more than enough choice (and quite reasonable) for eating at one of many eateries in both Sanlucar and Alcoutim. Perfect base to explore South West Andalucia, but also easy reach to Seville, and Sierra de Aracena. Fantastic for birdwatching. We also enjoyed a number of walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: More boardgames available to while away stiflingly hot mid-days would have been good(we took our own cards and scrabble)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wsasm01
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real Spanish Rustic charm situated in absolutely amazing location”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Ok grab a cuppa and enjoy!

Adam & Linda Age 42/43 – Hobbies- Travelling , Triathlons ,Adventure Races and Good food.

Flights from Glasgow direct- Very cheap & short duration flight - bonus. Car hire at Airport- excellent very well thought out, car hire terminal less than 5 minute walk- . Car hire standard excellent we got a brand new Fiat 500- My wife loved it!
Weather totally roasting! 33 degrees when we arrived at Faro- it got hotter throughout the week!
The weather was just incredible. The directions to Casa Verde were excellent- The motorways have an electronic toll the total cost for our toll fees that w pre-paid was 12 euros - we just paid the car hire firm in advance. The motorways are a total joy! Hardly anyone uses them- amazing! So easy to drive following Val’s directions. As we headed off the motorway towards Casa Verde - I'm a keen triathlete and love cycling long distances- the roads are just incredible! smooth and in excellent condition. We arrived and were shown around the property by Val’s friend- You go on your first instinct! Casa Verde will blow you away- Everything you need is there-very well laid out, tastily decorated and spotless!
For me what made Casa Verde special was the 2 balcony's Each morning I had my fresh squeezed orange juice sitting overlooking Portugal! listening to the wee birds! I'm not a bird watcher however I do get it! So peaceful and very therapeutic! I fell asleep often simply listening to birds chirp away!
We watched the sun go down most nights on the separate roof top balcony – Obviously sitting with a glass or two of fizzy wine! Just simply taking it all in!

Trying not to bore you too much –The outside space is huge-it’s amazing if you have large numbers wishing to barbeque etc You have everything there.

I was in training for a long endurance triathlon race up in Scotland ( Celtman) . Casa Verde gave us the perfect place to chill, visit many small towns -we also drove to Seville for the day. We had Blue skies for the full week. If you have kids or wanting to swim –you can swim on the river within 50m of the property or Simply drive a short distance 10minutes to El Granado – They have an amazing outdoor swimming pool – with a lovely wee café bar and a great grass area to soak in the sun! I used this often as my prep for my race- the cost was 5 euros for 2 adults- the pool was spotless clean.

If your cycling or running- it’s a tough mile uphill to start! the roads are amazing!

We mostly dined within Casa Verde throughout our week as to take advantage of “ This amazing rustic Spanish house” we wanted to sample a Rustic Spanish house and to be honest totally delighted with our experience.

I flew back to Scotland and spent one night at home then travelled up to Torridon- to Val’s Scottish cottage! ( I had a great 2 weeks)

Hope this review is helpful.

Thanks again

Adam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location,Weather,The fantastic house, The amazing roads, Rustic charm.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelalon...
North Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a truly wonderful place...”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have just returned from five days in heaven, what a truly wonderful place Casa Verde and the surrounding area is. The house is amazing, absolutely everything that we could possibly need, great attention to detail and the highest of standards from the minute you walk through the door, this is a very special property indeed, the ever changing views from the lovely terrace looking across the river into Portugal were just the icing on the cake! We had booked Casa Verde for a few days R&R and some good birdwatching, it was perfect for that but there is SO much to do here, we explored the trail which runs along the river, very easy access and the place is teeming with birds (even in November) watching the Azure Winged Magpies and Hoopoe in the orange groves at dusk will keep me going through the cold English winter, I cannot wait to return in spring when the warblers and nightingales will be amazing, obviously the river is a main migration route so Spring and Autumn at Casa Verde will be on my tick list, next trip with more time we will explore the National Park. It wasn't all birding, the walking, nipping across the river into Portugal on the little river taxi for a G&T at sunset, the fish market at Ayamonte, a dip in the Sea and not to be missed the zip wire experience in Sanlucar, you don't need to know anymore about our holiday, or waste anymore time, it's amazing - just book it - you won't be disappointed and it couldn't be easier, the owners have thought of everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and location,easy to reach from Faro airport
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin G
Sheringham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most perfect holiday getaway which gave us all time and space to relax and enjoy the wonderful location.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This beautiful house is set in a typical Spanish village with stunning views overlooking the River Guadiana. Our favourite spot was sitting on the shaded terrace looking out over the river, especially picturesque at night, just chilling with a book and a drink. The house is incredibly stylish, spacious and perfect for a family of 5 with 3 teenage girls who each had their own room. If you are looking for a quiet holiday away from the usual crowded spots this ticks all the boxes and more. Wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Gorgeous well equiped villa in beautiful unspoilt area of Spain. A quick boat ride across the Guadiana river takes you to Portugal. Wonderful bird life and cooling breezes off the river make this the most fantastically relaxing place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;