We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning views, wonderful facilities, a family...”
Complete tranquility and only 15 minutes from Carcassonne.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Complete tranquility and only 15 minutes from Carcassonne.
Wonderful sunsets looking South East (rather old photo!). The stunning tennis court with its beautiful views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Complete tranquility and only 15 minutes from Carcassonne.
Wonderful sunsets looking South East (rather old photo!).
The stunning tennis court with its beautiful views.
Looking out over the veranda.
The Principal Bedroom.
The Master Bathroom
Leading out to the hall.
The second spare room in the main house with ensuite.
The new en-suite to the third bedroom.
The third Bedroom in the main house.
The New Kitchen
Ditto
The Living Room.
Dining beside the pool.
The garden at the entrance to the house.
Due South and too great a view to capture in one photograph. The Pyrenees are 50 miles away.
Carcassonne Castle Bastille Day 2014. Image Copyright.
Carcassonne Cite.
The beautiful Canal du Midi just outside Carcassonne.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Roullens, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
oilydavid
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views, wonderful facilities, a family home atmosphere, private yet not remote”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

As returning guests having stayed here for several years very impressed by the major improvements and continued renovations. Pool side facilities added this year, together with comprehensive lighting around pool, gardens, driveway and tennis court and terraces. Also major upgrades to accommodation and new kitchen and bathrooms. In the annexe a new attractive private terrace has been created off one of the bedrooms. The whole property is equipped more like a family home than a holiday rental. The grounds are extensive with stunning views over towards the Pyrenees. A number of vineyards and places to eat are a short drive from the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Stunning views with lots of room
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thank you very much David for your kind words and we are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at Les Hauts de Gaubil. We do hope that you will come back again next year.
All the best

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoffrey...
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“An exceptional holiday destination”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is the sixth property we have rented in France and we can only say that this is by far the best. Its situation offers wide views as far as the Pyrenees as well as extensive grounds for walking. We were a family group of 14 aged 16 to 80 and there was plenty to do for everyone. The well maintained pool and diving board were in almost constant use and the excellent tennis court with practice wall was used when it was not too hot. The teenagers made full use of the table tennis table and the boule matches were very competitive. We also enjoyed hearing them playing the grand piano.
We ate extremely well. Couples and the grandchildren enjoyed taking it in turn to provide gourmet meals prepared in the very well equipped kitchen.
The accommodation was spacious and of a very high standard in terms of quality and cleanliness. It was well equipped with books to read for all tastes, some board games, tennis racquets and balls, table tennis bats and balls, gym equipment (which we did not find time to use) and plenty of towels for the pool.
It is a good centre for exploring the Cathar Castles and many villages as well as Carcassonne. Our party went wild swimming, visited a grotte and enjoyed the challenges up in the trees at the Parc Acrobatique Forestier at the Complexe de Loisirs Raymond Chesa.
We were all sorry to leave at the end of a marvellous fortnight and would gladly recommend this property to our friends.
We would also like to thank John and Lisa for their help and consideration for our enjoyment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, tennis court and kitchen
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are greatly rewarded to hear our guests positive reflections upon this house.We do hope that you will come back and stay with us again!
Kindest regards
John N-L
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni F
1 review
“Wonderful views, beautiful home.”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful two weeks staying at Les Hauts de Gaubil and we are already planning our next trip. A beautiful home and stunning views!

I cannot think of anywhere I would rather spend a summer evening than sitting on the terrace admiring the beautiful view. I had an idea of how amazing the view would be but the photos just didn't do it justice, you have to see it to believe it! Truly amazing! I would recommend to anyone!

We had everything we could want and our room was perfect! Les Hauts de Gaubil was even better than we imagined.

Something for everyone. We had a wonderfully relaxing trip and would thoroughly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review Toni. We are always delighted to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay. We do hope that you will come back again. Just to add that next year is already getting busy!
All the best
John and Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina221
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect for two or three families or a multi-generational family holiday”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The first week we had a family reunion (one family with teenagers, one with children of 4 and 6, and The Grandmother), the second week we were three families: six adults and seven children ranging from 16 to 20. The house worked perfectly for both. We usually holiday in a group of ten or so, and it's surprising how often a house is marketed as accommodating that number but doesn't really: the living room seats seven, there are only six sun loungers by the pool and the kitchen cupboards contain only eight wine glasses... Not so with Les Hauts de Gaubil.

The tables in the outdoor summer kitchen and the indoor dining area were a generous size, there were two fridges, the kitchen was unusually well equipped and the living room had more than enough sofas and armchairs to accommodate us all in the evenings. While the house is perfectly comfortable as it is, we gather that further improvements are being made: the annexe is being done up later this year to put a second bathroom in there, and as of next summer all three bedrooms in the main house will be fully en suite (one bathroom currently lacks a loo). The master bedroom has a very splendid new bathroom, a wonderfully comfortable bed and French windows that give a floor-to-ceiling view of the Pyrenees.

When we weren’t enjoying the excellent tennis court and lovely big swimming pool with its springboard and proper deep end, we went swimming in the river at Ribaute (the next door village to Lagrasse), visited the Monday market at Mirepois, spent an afternoon white water rafting above Alets-les-Bains and had an evening stroll around the Cité at Carcassonne.

As others have written, the house has stunning views and is wonderfully quiet. The flip side of this is that there’s no village shop within walking distance and if you want fresh bread for breakfast you’ll need to drive fifteen minutes or so. If only Roullens would acquire a boulangerie…

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are always delighted when our guests have really enjoy their stay and find the house great and unusual in the best of ways!
We do hope that you will come back again.
With kindest regards
John and Lisa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eleanor M
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place was simply wonderful and set the scene for a fantastic holiday.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The house is very well set up and laid out and exceptionally equipped and provisioned. We ranged in age from 4-74 including teenagers and everyone loved it and had plenty to do.

The views are wonderful and the pool is generous, well maintained and a beautiful temperature. The bedrooms are well laid out with comfortable beds and most have good views. The tennis court was in good condition and added a whole other source of entertainment especially for the odd overcast day. We particularly enjoyed the viewing area above it so that the supporters were in comfort!

The provision of good sized pool towels and good quality bed linens really make a difference as do the ample supply of all kitchen equipment etc. The only thing we didn't have was a long handled paddle for the pizza oven other than that it had everything and was by far the best equipped of many rentals I have stayed in.

The previous tenants accidentally taking the house book meant that we had a few gaps in our information about things but the owners made great efforts to compensate for this.

The only negative about the house and it's location is that there is nowhere within walking distance to get fresh bread etc. but against all the positives this is a very small thing.

We loved our time here and hope very much to be back!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2014
Just a very brief note to thank you most sincerely for your very kind review of Les Hauts de Gaubil. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that everyone had a great time.
Once again many thanks.
With Kind Regards
John N-L
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing