We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4)
Filter reviews
4 results
Traveller rating
2
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
2
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 26 February 2015

You have to appreciate the outdoors and nature to appreciate what this property has to offer. If you are looking for four star then you are in the wrong place. If you are looking for the most unforgettable break away experience then you have found it. We have booked this camp on two occasions for our Sunday School grouping and the kids cannot stop raving about the experience. Also the adults are thrilled by the adventure experience up the river by kayak. I would recommend that you book this accommodation with at least one catered breakfast. Christa and her team will blow you away with style in the bush. Also book the adventure experience with Con and his team up river. Awesome and brings a tear to my eye it was that great an experience.

Room tip: You do not want to be connected to the outside world when you stay here. Take a comfortable pillow and slippers. Travel light. Enjoy!
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GrantH490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12345231, Owner at Breede Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2015

GrantH490, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Breede Escape and thank you for being honest in your description of what the property has to offer, because that is so important. Guests who appreciate the outdoors and nature really appreciate what Breede Escape offers. Thank you for the good comments about breakfast and all the rest, we really appreciate your feedback. We can recommend booking activities or team building exercises with Impact Adventures with Con to enhance your experience while you visit the Breede Escape. It was a pleasure having the group and we are always thrilled to hear that a customer's experience touched the heart. Hope to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2015

We had our works "Moedskep" at Breede Escape. We booked both camps as we were 37 people. It was an amazing weekend. Everyone enjoyed them self and the camp feeling. Everything you may need is available. From cutlery to braai wood. All we needed to take was toiletries, clothes and food. It's like camping in the bush.
I would defnitely recommend Breede Escape and will defnitely return again.
It's near the Dorp and far enough from any noise.

We drove about 40km to Viljoensdrift on Saturday where we had Wine tasting and a boat cruise and the lady from Breede Escape organised with a Caterer to spit for us on Saturday.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mens2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12345231, Owner at Breede Escape, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Breede Escape and thank you for visiting us for your " Moedskep " weekend. Really hope that this weekend proofed relaxing enough to give you some energy and creative thoughts for the year ahead !! Hope to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015

We visited Breede Escape on a work getaway/teambuilding and had a great time. There are two camps, and we stayed in Camp 2.

It's rustic, so no electricity plug points in the huts, so hairdryers and cellphone chargers will have to be used in the main area (yes yes, we're roughing it but we're not cavemen, we still need *some* comforts :P)

There is an indoor braai and an outdoor braai (we used both, inside on Fri and outside on Sat), a large kitchen with most of your important kitchen items (trays, bowls, plates, etc). Just bring your own sharp knives. Kitchen has two fridges.

The huts themselves have a window with a curtain, two single beds (nailed in place so you can't move them together) with an overhead bamboo shelf. You can hire bedding or you can bring your own. For those afraid of bugs, take care cos I woke with a rather large rain spider by my window. Thankfully he was spotted on the day we were leaving! The door is a stable-door type, that can be half opened, and there is a small padlock on the inside of the door to use when you leave your hut if you want to.

The main area has rows of tables, rows of chairs (beware, some are VERY rickety!) and a coffee table and some couches. There is a coffee station table, and two tables for dessert/breakfast items and plates/forks/butter knives/serving spoons for dinner/lunch.

There is a bar stocked with glasses (wine, tumbler, and beer) and shot glasses. A chest freezer for ice, and a fridge for drinks.

Bathrooms incl four toilets and four basin/shower rooms.There is also one separate basin with no door. Bring own soap and towels.

For fun, there is the braai areas, the bar, and of course, the river. There is also a volleyball court and a small trampoline between the two camps.No music is allowed at the campsites. Also note, the wind picks up around 4 but dies down around 8 - almost like clockwork!

Each camp gets 3 canoes, 3 oars and some life jackets. If you paddle up the left hand side of the river, you'll reach a fun spot with a zipline and rope swing out onto the water. Please make sure you can swim, as water at this spot is DEEP.

Wading water by Camp 2 (can't speak for Camp 1, but it looked the same) is ok, if you're not squeamish by water algae, hornwort and other such underwater plants touching your legs. It's fairly shallow and enough to relax in and do some floating about in. No engine boats allowed.

I recon we'll be returning and making this our main Work Getaway location from now on for our company. I'd recommend it to groups looking to get away from it all.

Room tip: They're all outside, they're all made of bamboo, and they're all in and around the trees - pick one that makes you happy.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank Rat_Tails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC