We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
US$52
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/24
Expedia.comUS$55
PricelineUS$55
Hotels.comUS$55
View all 12 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
321
48
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
321
48
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner guest house secret garden lovely garden long trip at home perfect place conway johannesburg guesthouse street hosts soweto agnes dudu uber safety
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2020

We spent 4 days at the Lucky Bean when we needed to wait for a safari we were going to start in a few days. Upon our arrival we were met by one of the women who is a caretaker for the guest house. A few minutes later the owner Conway came in and we were shown to our room. Upon our request we were moved to a room with a/c and we soon found out that we did not need it.
That night we walked down to 7th street and ate dinner, and we ubered back about $2 US. The next morning we contacted Conway and asked to move to a different room which was bigger but did not have a/c, Conway said we absolutely could and we spent the rest of our time there. Upon our return to Lucky Bean that afternoon our belongings had been moved to a beautiful and Big room. TV had some movie channels and sports, also CNN. We had a nice patio to spend some time outside and there was a pool but we did not use it.
We got information about how to get downtown and both Conway and his wife helped us. He suggested if we wanted to visit Soweto a woman who had lived there. We took a day long trip with her it was fantastic. Other days we ubered to downtown the cost and the uber was about 4.50 US each way.
Breakfast each day was made to order, great coffee, and there were also fruit and cereals if you wish. Water from the tap in all of Johannesburg is drinkable and we did drink it each day.
Conway has a fridge stocked with wines and beers as well as juices and bottled water for your use at a minimal charge which is all on the honor system.
The Lucky bean is in an area which is what we consider very safe during the day, we walked around and down to the 7th street area to eat when we wanted when it was light out. Very good restaurants there. After dark as Conway said just Uber back, very simple.
We would highly recommend the Lucky Bean Guest House for anyone who is interested in a great place to see Johannesburg and relax. Conway and staff are very nice, accommodating and the place is so comfortable. Thank you Conway and staff for a great and restful stay.

Room tip: tell Conway you want the room on the left in front or the one around the corner.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2020

I stayed at the Lucky Bean for three nights in early January 2020. My stay was very nice. I had Skyline room, nice view! and room. Breakfasts were also nice, and the staff was helpful in arranging an Uber for me.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JamesELu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2020

We stayed over with a bunch of other couples and we had a great time. The owners, Conway and Natasha were very nice and helpful. The rooms are pretty big and clean, and the breakfast is delicious (and the staff are very friendly and kind!). It was the perfect place to just sit down by the pool and relax before our flight back home. Thank you so much for your great hospitality!

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank LiorSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

This is THE place to be in Jo'burg. We got safety, space, precious decoration, comfort, tasty & full home made breakfast (even very early) and we have been welcome by so special owners. One of the double bedroom offers a very nice view on the city from a nice terrace.Book now & save the adress

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jnbop2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 December 2019

We stayed a week at Lucky Bean (with our four-year old). The room was so beautiful, open and luxurious and stylish. We had a double shower and huge bathroom, the grounds are like out of a fairy tale, with a beautiful small pool and amazing flowers and ivy everywhere -- like a secret garden. But the real standout of lucky bean is the staff. The first time I came alone in 2014 I was working and Conway and Natasha were amazing helping me do everything I needed on long work days. Then this time, they were amazing with our daughter, helping with amazing bookings and recommendations and making sure she felt close and comfortable with them and the whole guesthouse.

Then the rest of the staff! The women who work there (Loreen, Dudu, Agnes!) took such good care of us and basically became our daughter's best friends on the trip. Everything was perfectly taken care of. Like being home and also like being on a relaxing resort vacation. The location is safe (for Joburg) and really well located. And blocks from the center of melville where you can walk around at night without worrying. Restaurants and hip bars (we were super sad to miss them this trip -- parenthood! sigh) are everywhere. And our hosts set us up with an amazing underground supper club in Yeoville (that you have to go to) full of vegan pan-african food that blew our minds.

Anyway, in case you can't tell -- we loved this place. And there's no better value for money. Don't stay anywhere else!

Room tip: We had room # 3 -- it's in front across from the pool and great!
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank erubysachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews