We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most tranquil place in England”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cider Barn (dog friendly) near Lyme Regis in Kilmington, East Devon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cider Barn (dog friendly) near Lyme Regis in Kilmington, East Devon
The twin bedroom. Beds are fitted with mattress toppers and 100% cotton sheets for your comfort The Cider Barn  - twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
The Cider Barn (dog friendly) near Lyme Regis in Kilmington, East Devon
The twin bedroom. Beds are fitted with mattress toppers and 100% cotton sheets for your comfort
The Cider Barn  - twin bedroom
The master bedroom  - kingsize bed with mattress topper and 100% cotton sheets for your comfort
Soft, egyptian cotton towels are provided
The Cider Barn's private entrance
The Cider Barn
The guest garden and orchard.
Views from Valley Farm
Views from Valley Farm
The Cider Barn has stunning views, vaulted ceiling and a 50in HD Smart TV
The Cider Barn
The Cider Barn
The Cider Barn
Walk to one of our two great village pubs, grab a village takeaway curry or simple dine at home
The Cider Barn's well equipped kitchen
Our well equipped kitchen has everything you may need during your stay.
The lounge area is upstairs to maximise the fabulous views over the Axe Valley
Downstairs, the hallway
Please don't forget to sign the guest book and leave recommendations for future guests
The bathroom has plenty of storage and a spacious shower.
Hand towels and a bathmat are provided.
We hope you ....
Plough and Horseshoe cottages, the Cider Barn is just behind.
Views from Valley Farm
Views from Valley Farm
Valley Farm
The Cider Barn
Our driveway from the cottages leading to the village green and shop.
The village shop is located opposite the end of our drive
Views from Valley Farm
Each cottage has a parking space, more than one car?  the village car park is only 1 minute away
Valley Farm views
The guest garden/orchard
Our chickens - guests are welcome to help collect eggs if they so wish
Our girls!
Each cottage has it own seating area, this is The Cider Barn's overlooking the garden and Axe Valley
Valley Farm
Valley Farm - Our enterance from The Green, Whitford Road.
St Giles one of the villages' two churches situated close to the cricket field and tennis courts
Our local library, please feel free to borrow a book, but don't forget to return it before you leave
Lyme Regis
Nearby Lyme Regis, close to River Cottage HQ
Views from Valley Farm
Kilmington lambs
We hope you enjoy your holiday and leave with a spring in your step!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilmington, Axminster, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
michnick2...
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most tranquil place in England”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

After a frantic week in London, this was the perfect place for the whole family to relax and rejuvenate. We loved walking the fields between Kilmington and Axminster thanks to the informative brochures on hand and the proximity to the local pubs and farm shop meant we could park the car in the carpark and walk for dinner or cook up a storm in the cottage kitchen. I should also say that arriving to those wonderful scones was appreciated more than you can know. After three months travelling our week at the Cider Barn was the highlight of our time away and we will do everything we can to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property offered to much to choose
Liked least: Nothing at all to complain about
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your great review of your stay in The Cider Barn - Hearing our guests have enjoyed themselves really spurs us on to do the very best we can.
It was lovely to meet you, we are delighted you enjoyed the cream tea and do hope to see you again in the future.
Very best wishes
Helen Brown
Valley Farm Holiday Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, it is indeed so helpful to ourselves and future guests.
You were all a pleasure to host, we certainly would be delighted if you choose to return in the future.
Very best wishes
Helen Brown
Valley Farm Holiday Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nora G
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing family holiday”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Cider Barn is a beautiful house and suited our family of 4 very well. We stayed with Mummy, Daddy, Finn (7) and Torben (5). The set up of the twin and double bedroom worked really well for us and the boys. The beds are so comfortable!! The kitchen is very well equipped and offers everything that you could possibly need. The whole property is in immaculate condition with great attention to detail and looked after with lots of love and care. The location is beautifully peaceful yet not far from all the places you might like to see - Axminster, Lyme Regis, Sidmouth, Seaton even Exeter are no more than 30 minutes away. It is the perfect location for a seaside trip or a walk in the woods or around the local lakes. Helen has assembled a whole library of booklets, guides and information for everyone staying. Helen and her family were the perfect hosts. They were so lovely with our lively children and very helpful and knowledgable. The boys loved feeding the chicken and collecting eggs. The welcome cream tea was just the icing on the cake. We would definitely come back and stay again. Thank you Helen and family!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the Cider Barn and found the cottage comfortable and well equipped.
We love seeing the children having fun feeding the chickens - it is lovely to hear it is appreciated, and that you enjoyed your Devon cream tea.
It was a pleasure to meet you all and we hope you will visit again.
Very best wishes
Helen Brown
Valley Farm Holiday Cottages

It is a pleasure to see our guests enjoying the village and local area
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great relaxing time away in Kilmington!”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Great holiday from start to finish, the host, Helen, met us on arrival and gave us an idea of things to do around the area. She then let us settle in and said that if we had any further questions, to just ask. Her knowledge of the local area is great! This cottage is so clean and perfect for a family of 4. Fully kitted out with all items so that we could cook every night, there was even milk in the fridge when we arrived for a well deserved cuppa!
The cottage is situated in beautiful surroundings and the village pub is great. My personal highlight was fossiling on the Jurassic coast.
I would definately recommend this cottage for either a couple looking for a relaxing break away or a family wanting a fun, action packed holiday down south. Will be coming back next year Helen!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thank you, it was lovely to meet you, I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back to Valley Farm soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie R
1 review
“Fantastic from start to finish!”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I would highly recommend staying at the cider barn. Myself and friends went recently for a nice relaxing break and to do some fossiling and explore the local area. Helen met us on arrival and was so friendly. She showed us the beautifully clean cottage and then described the area and asked if there was anything in particular we wanted to know..she has great local knowledge! The cottage itself was great, a 50 inch smart tv, amazingly comfy beds, all the amenities in the kitchen you need and the view of the countryside was stunning. 10 out of 10 will definitely be visiting the friendly village of kilmington again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2016
Hi Cassie,
Thank you so much for your review, it was lovely to meet you all.
I am delighted you all had a lovely stay and hope to see you all again in the future.
Best wishes
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing