We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant find!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
One of the stunning views from the terrace which includes table, chairs and a BBQ.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of the stunning views from the terrace which includes table, chairs and a BBQ.
Enjoy a good nights rest with Hungarian Goose Down bedding and Egyptian Cotton sheets.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
One of the stunning views from the terrace which includes table, chairs and a BBQ.
Enjoy a good nights rest with Hungarian Goose Down bedding and Egyptian Cotton sheets.
This photo was taking looking directly ahead from the South facing terrace - a great sun trap!
Taken from the terrace looking East at Riber Castle. You can also see The Heights of Abraham.
This will give you an idea of the walk down into Matlock which takes about 15 minutes.
View the Derwent Valley from above in a cable car. The Heights of Abraham is 10 minutes drive.
We are surrounded by many beautiful villages. This is Ashford-in-the-Water, 20 minutes by car.
Bakewell has a monthly Farmers Market, usually the last Saturday of each month.
Crown Square, Matlock.
Chatsworth House is a 15 minute drive. Make sure you visit the farm shop in Pilsley.
Matlock Bath is 10 minutes away. A former spa town alongside the River Derwent.
Discover the underground world of the peaks. Treak Cliff cavern - Castleton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tracey a
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant find!!!!”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

What a lovely little find this was, we had a very relaxing break.
The apartment is in a residential area about a 15 minute walk down into Matlock, might I add it is very hilly, we managed ok but just be mindful getting down is ok it's the getting up where you may need a little rest.
So the place itself is lovely, nice decked area outside with table and chairs for the nicer weather. You go in via the sun room, such a lovely view from here, this room is laid out lovely in the style of Cath Kidston. Leading on from here is an open plan living room/kitchen. The kitchen has plenty of utensils etc. and the living area is beautifully done. There are 2 bedrooms, both decorated well and the most comfiest of beds and a lovely bathroom.
On arrival cream tea was waiting for us, jazz music playing in the background, the scones were beautiful. There are also fresh flowers which make the place smell amazing and look very pretty.
We took advantage of the DVD's available on a wet afternoon, everything has been thought of to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Overall wonderful little break, would highly recommend this little place with easy access to Chatsworth House, Bakewell etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2016
Dear guests
Thank you so much for your review; it really is very much appreciated. More so I am delighted you have had a good break! Hope to see you again! :D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie g
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at this property recently and we were very impressed overall. Our emails were responded too quickly (very annoying when you have to wait hours!) and booking was straight forward and hassle free. The accommodation is beautiful, spotless and well maintained. We were drawn to this property at it didn’t look like a typical holiday let and we weren’t disappointed, it felt like a well-loved home. The area is great for visiting attractions and you can pick up walks practically from the door. There is a selection of restaurants in Matlock and we would particularly recommend Maazi (Indian).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dll189
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“A really great stay”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a delight it has been to stay here. The welcome from the owner was superb and she couldn’t do enough for us, if we required help. The views from the terrace are stunning and the inside is beautifully decorated and so comfortable that we looked forward to returning to ‘our home from home’ in the evenings!
Our main reason for the visiting the area was to visit Chatsworth House and it was only a short drive away. It didn’t disappoint. We also managed a few walks chosen from the great selection provided. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you found the information/walks we provide useful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
578rosie
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This property is not dog friendly!”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a week's holiday at this cottage with our 2 small dogs. The owner stated there was an enclosed garden, patio and balcony. In fact there was only a small piece of enclosed decking. There was nowhere for dogs to relieve themselves at the property. One of our dogs had an upset tummy and needed to go out during the night. After being out in the pouring rain for two nights during the early hours we returned home. The owner has now removed enclosed garden from her description and has been rude and sarcastic when we suggested that we should have a partial refund for the four nights we had to forfeit. Certainly needs some help with her customer care.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
Dear Guest
I am aware that you are contacting me continuously to the point of harassment and that your review is solely to try and damage my reputation. I will therefore respond only so others can understand the situation.

Having only found out that you vacated the property when you were home and your reason for doing so I have refused you a full refund and additional compensation on top for ‘distress’ because the principal of the matter cannot be justified. And although you do not say in your review, you tell me that because your dogs would not use the outdoor space to defecate, this actually caused their stomach upset!

No self-respecting Holiday Owner would want their guests’ dogs to have to rely solely on the outdoor space as a toilet and future guests I’m sure would be horrified if they thought that a Holiday Owner was happy for her guests dogs to do so, particularly when the let welcomes children.

As an owner of 3 amazing dogs I know full well how dogs love being walked and the thought of your pets just been turned out onto a garden day in day out, instead of enjoying walks, upsets me.

I have never advertised my let as having a garden, balcony, terrace – why would I? And when a property is advertised as being ‘Dog Friendly’ this is not an advertisement that the outdoor space can be as a toilet for pets. Little Larsas Retreat is dog friendly for those 99.9% of guests that respect themselves and their surroundings.

As I told you 3 months ago I am truly very sorry that your break was shortened. I really hope that eventually you will be able to move on from this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorinaori...
United Kingdom
1 review
“Great escape for a short mini moon break”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We recently just got married and wanted a short mini moon break with our children before they head back to school. This was a last minute booking and got such a amazing deal for such a beautiful location. We had good communication with the owner and when we arrived at the property, we were greeted with played jazz music and a table set up with tea, jam & cream scones. As well as that we also got a card welcoming us to our stay. The property is beautifully furnished and smells nice :) We were not far from town but would advise to drive if you have children rather than walk, unless your children are much older.

I would absolutely recommend this property and hopefully will come back at the near future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property
Liked least: Nothing we can think of
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Dear guests
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was a delight to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing