We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, well equipped cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Elm Tree Farm is the perfect venue for your next reunion or family celebration
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Elm Tree Farm is the perfect venue for your next reunion or family celebration
Dining for all guests together Spacious kitchen facilites
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Elm Tree Farm is the perfect venue for your next reunion or family celebration
Dining for all guests together
Spacious kitchen facilites
Generously equipped with almost everything you could need
Ample parking for the whole group
Romantic splendour in the old Hayloft
Arise refreshed after a comfortable night on our pocket sprung mattresses
Covered outdoor dining in the open barn
Enjoy a sheltered BBQ in the open barn
Maps and books for exploring Bakewell, Chatsworth and beyond
Children enjoy the characterful four poster bed in the walk-through old cottage parlour
Cosy comfort in the old Byre
A futon and 2 Z-beds give flexible sleeping arrangements for groups of friends
The 'Old Kitchen' enjoys step-free access to the adjacent bathroom
The Apple Loft, with double + single beds, enjoys a wide view of the Derbyshire countryside
Play on the Gallery overlooking the kitchen
Lots of toys to entertain all ages
Relax in the lounge, with the 50' TV
Great for celebrations across all seasons.
Two bathrooms are on the ground floor
Cook, eat and relax together in the huge oak beaned kitchen, dining area and lounge
Two showers and a bath
Footpaths from the gate lead to the village of Holloway and woods of the Derwent valley
Explore Matlock and the Peak District
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diane G
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Elm tree farm is a lovely cottage, with lots of room, there were 8 adults and 4 children & a 6 month old baby staying and we never felt on top of each other.
It's very well equipped, with everything you need for a self catering cottage, including travel cots with foam mattresses and highchairs, the only thing we couldn't find was a measuring jug to make jelly!
The complimentary Bakewell tart was very tasty, even those who weren't keen on almonds went back for seconds.
The whole booking process through Hilary was a joy, she was very helpful & the directions to the cottage were very detailed.
The website is informative, but does not give the true reflection of how good Elm Tree Farm is, we will definitely be using this again for family get togethers

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review - and for treating the house with such care. Sorry about the measuring jug which I had accidentally taken home with me.
We do hope to welcome you again sometime.
Hilary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick C
Uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Wonderful Cottage very well presented”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

6 adults and 5 children just spent a weekend at Elm Tree Farm.
Fantastic place, loads of space, very clean with everything you could require.
Would highly recommend to anyone

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review - this is our third completely unsolicited 5-star review in 5 weeks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria P
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage making for a fab long weekend stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Our group consisted of 8 adults and 4 under 2s and we all enjoyed staying at this cottage. The rooms where large enough to accommodate parents that had their babies in their rooms and there were enough bedrooms to house the other 2 toddlers. Having said that we still had more sleeping facilities if needed so we are planning on going back when the children are older and the weather is better so we can make the most of the BBQ and garden. The cottage is beautiful and has been restored to the highest of standard with underfloor heating everywhere. There are lots of bedding and towels provided and all the other essentials (toilet rolls, dishwasher tablets, shampoo and shower gel, coffee and tea etc) which means all you need to pack are your clothes and you're ready to go. I really don't think I can do this cottage justice with a single review but thank you Hilary and David for making the whole experience very easy and we hope to be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenSx
Sussex UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Cannot fault the helpfulness of the owners and quality of the accommodation. Everything one could wish for to enjoy a stay with friends or family. Sandra's delicious Bakewell Tart as a welcome gift made it even better!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMW1984
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Spectacular period property in a stunning location”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

The service was exceptional right from booking Elm Tree Farm to having a guided tour of the house at the start of our weekend away. The owners were friendly, incredibly helpful and had provided beautiful little touches - a delicious homemade Bakewell tart - that made the weekend fantastic.

Everything we needed was already in the house, plus more than we could ever think of ourselves. The standard of finish throughout was to a far higher standard than we were expecting and the open plan kitchen / living / dining room had plenty of space for the 11 of us.

The house was easier to find than we thought and the local pub, The Jug & Glass Inn, was only a short walk down the road, providing us with plenty of local ales, good food and a roaring fire to see us through the weekend.

I have already recommended the house to a number of family and friends and I would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$267
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing