We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Robertswood House

Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Entrance hall. Leading of to the Lounge/Bar, Kitcken and Dining Room. Stairs up to the first floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Entrance hall. Leading of to the Lounge/Bar, Kitcken and Dining Room. Stairs up to the first floor.
Large Lounge with lots of comfortable seating plus a 42in 3D Flat screen TV, Freesat & Blu ray DVD.
Bar Area. Run your own pub for a while. We can supply Kegs of Beer or Lager as well.
South facing Dining Room. Set here for 12 but will comfortably seat 18 Adults.
Robertswood House Spa Garden.Our wonderful Spa Garden is now finished and ready to use. It's GR
The Sauna steam room with Plunge Shower beside it, Which is Not for the faint hearted......
Kitchen. There's everything you will ever need in here.
Kitchen. Loads of space for prep and cooking and people.
Room 1 West facing Twin En-suite
Room 2 South facing Superking En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 2 South facing as a Twin En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 2 En-suite.
Room 3 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 3 En-suite.
Room 4 Double En-suite. East facing overlooking the side garden & water feature.
First floor landing.
Room 5 Double En-suite. West facing with stunning views over Stanton Moor.
Room 6 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 7 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 8 East facing as a Super King En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 8 East facing as a Twin En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 9 Double En-suite. Our only room without a bath, just a walk in shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dream5340...
1 review
“Lovely house”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We visited the house in may half term as a family get together plenty of room for the 16 of us the house was great with every thing you needed the only fault was the lack of cleaning of the house on arrival kitchen is in need of a deep clean but all had a great time

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dccollins...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Robertswood House”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is our fifth visit to this excellent house. The service is good the rooms are spacious and the facilities great. It is value for money and in a superb location. The owners are attentive and listen to any issues that may arise. A very worthwhile destination and a superb place to enjoy relaxation and a great base for hill walking in Matlock and surrounding district.
Highly recommended.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family and Friends Gathering”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A beautiful huge house ideal for a group of people. I will start with the positives first - The owners were very welcoming and quick to respond to requests.The spa garden is very nice and would recommend the hot tub, we did not use the sauna but it looks lovely. The views are wonderful we had really good weather and used the barbecue which is a very good size, the front garden has lots of garden furniture and is a lovely place to sit. All bedrooms are ensuite which is an added bonus,obviously some bedrooms are bigger and have better views than others but generally speaking all are very adequate, lovely comfortable beds. The accomodation was very suitable for our needs. The only negative comment we can make about this property is as previously mentioned in the other reviews is the low standard of cleaning and can fully agree that very little cleaning is done above and below waist height and it really could do with a lot of TLC.The kitchen needs a deep clean and the washing machine was still not working which was a nuisance having stayed for one week. It may also be worth mentioning to the owners about the fire exit door onto the spa garden, the exit from the side garden is pad locked. With more attention to cleaning this house could warrant an exceptional rating.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BnBsue
Norfolk uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely views but.......”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I spent 4 nights here with my brothers and sisters to celebrate an 80th and 70th birthday. The bedrooms are all ensuite which was a must for our group. There are very steep steps up to the house which is not so good for older people as there was no handrail.
As other reviewers have noted, the kitchen really needs a deep clean, the washing machine wasn't working which was a nuisance. A lot of the dishes in the kitchen cupboards had not been washed properly and the carpet and bin were not nice at all. I agree with the previous reviewer who remarked about the lack of TLC and general low standard of cleaning . However we had a lovely few days there and enjoyed sitting out on the front lawn in the sunshine with a glass or two of wine admiring the wonderful views.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul F
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Group Holiday”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A group of us used Robertswood House as a base for a weeks walking holiday. It was a great location for this and we certainly got a good deal of exercise walking up the hill from Matlock to the house. However, the views from the front windows and the nice seating area on the front lawn made it all worth while - especially when the sun shone.
The bedrooms were spacious and the kitchen well equipped although the cleaner could be a little more attentive.
The owners were very welcoming and quick to respond to requests.
We would certainly use this house again as we enjoyed our stay and there are so many wonderful walks in the area that we still haven't done.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing