We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“50th Birthday Weekend!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Robertswood House

Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Entrance hall. Leading of to the Lounge/Bar, Kitcken and Dining Room. Stairs up to the first floor.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Robertswood House Frontage. South facing overlooking the garden with summer house & swinging chairs.
Entrance hall. Leading of to the Lounge/Bar, Kitcken and Dining Room. Stairs up to the first floor.
Large Lounge with lots of comfortable seating plus a 42in 3D Flat screen TV, Freesat & Blu ray DVD.
Bar Area. Run your own pub for a while. We can supply Kegs of Beer or Lager as well.
South facing Dining Room. Set here for 12 but will comfortably seat 18 Adults.
Robertswood House Spa Garden.Our wonderful Spa Garden is now finished and ready to use. It's GR
The Sauna steam room with Plunge Shower beside it, Which is Not for the faint hearted......
Kitchen. There's everything you will ever need in here.
Kitchen. Loads of space for prep and cooking and people.
Room 1 West facing Twin En-suite
Room 2 South facing Superking En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 2 South facing as a Twin En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 2 En-suite.
Room 3 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 3 En-suite.
Room 4 Double En-suite. East facing overlooking the side garden & water feature.
First floor landing.
Room 5 Double En-suite. West facing with stunning views over Stanton Moor.
Room 6 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 7 Double En-suite. South facing with stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 8 East facing as a Super King En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley
Room 8 East facing as a Twin En-suite. Stunning views over the Derwent Valley.
Room 9 Double En-suite. Our only room without a bath, just a walk in shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
9 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David W
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“50th Birthday Weekend!!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Had a fantastic weekend for my wifes 50th Birthday with 6 other couples. David & Marilyn made us welcome from the start and helped us with our couple of bags and all our boxes of booze & food!!! Everything we needed was there. Robertswood is a lovely house and was ideal for our get together. Will use again for our get togethers without doubt. Thanks again and see you again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia_ab...
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family Get Together”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Superb and spacious property for a family get together. Beautiful views and a lovely garden with plenty of furniture, shade and a big BBQ - we had great weather and so were able to take full advantage! Very well equipped kitchen - so unusual to have all of the basics provided (tea towels, dishwasher powder, kitchen roll and foil etc) and more than enough to last the week .Comfy beds and all rooms en-suite - so no waiting around for your turn in the shower! Really friendly and helpful owners - excellent service from start to finish - thanks for everything.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay C
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb house for a large family gathering”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Eighteen of us stayed for three nights to celebrate a 70th birthday and the rare coming together of our large family. It was a big advantage that all bedrooms were en suite. The large rooms and bar (very popular) ensured that we all stayed together and the teenagers didn't retreat to their bedrooms. The facilities were excellent and as every group arrived their comments were very complimentary.We would definitely stay again if only we could gather everyone together - sadly not normally possible.
Carsington Water was a good multi purpose/age destination for the Saturday and only 20 minutes away.
Fox Cars provided two mini buses and a taxi at a reasonable price to transport us to and from Barringtons at Darley Dale on the Saturday night.
Barringtons friendly staff provided us with a private dining room and good meals . Local walks and Matlock park kept us all occupied on the Sunday and the unanimous opinion on Monday was that it had been a great weekend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: En suite bathrooms, large general rooms and location. General cleanliness
Liked least: Small side garden wasn't available as David is installing jaccuzzi/sauna there
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie R
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent house for a large party”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and rented the whole house with 6 other couples - 6 of our party were French and they really loved the house. The rooms are all very spacious including all the bedrooms complete with en-suites. All the rooms had lovely views over the Derbyshire countryside. The kitchen was very well equipped as you would expect from a B @ B and it was very easy to prepare our meals there. David and Marylyn were very helpful with ideas for walks and places to eat etc. Our only very small gripe were the towels. It would be nice to have larger fluffier towels but it wasn't a big problem .its unusual to find a house for 18 adults with ensuites so this would be ideal for large family or friends gatherings. Would definitely stay again if we were in the area

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasider9...
blackpo
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Venue for a Family Weekend”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Just got back from a family weekend at Robertswood House and all I can say is it is superb for a family or friends "get-together".
When looking for a venue for 18 adults, there are very few available and even fewer with all en-suite facilities. From making initial contact, David and Marylyn were very friendly and efficient.
The rooms are all en-suite and a big size. The kitchen has everything and the dining room very large. We made full use of the bar/lounge area and it made for a really good atmosphere.
The house is within waking distance of the Sycamore Inn and isn't too far from Matlock town centre.
All in all, an excellent venue with everything you need for a family weekend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$674
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing