We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful views and fabulous home from home...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AuntyHeat...
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice walks but cottage not to our taste”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed for 3 nights in December. The cottage is in a good location for local walks from the door. The cottage was peaceful in the evening because the road below was not busy.

There was a known issue with the heating which was frustrating but the owner drove over to attend to once we contacted him. Other than this the house was hot and we had constant hot water.

We dislike clutter and were not impressed that every surface and wall is filled with 'stuff', some of it broken or worn out, most of it seemingly from the surplus of 2nd hand shops in the local area. The cottage is small and would benefit hugely from all of this junk being removed to feel more spacious and clean.

As the daughter of a fireman I'm keen on fire safety. We noted there was no smoke alarm, fire extinguisher or fire blanket provided - smoke alarms are mandatory for cottage rentals. The front door does not open meaning the only means of exit is via the back door.

The kitchen utensils left a lot to be desired. The pans were all very worn out and some had big rust marks on them. We ate out in the evening rather than use them. The glasses and utensils I did use all needed a wash before I was happy to work with them. I suspect they are given a cursory wash by occupants and the cleaning staff do not check that they are properly clean.

The steps closest to the cottage are absolutely lethal. They are green with slime from being permanently damp and then this froze overnight. They need jet washing to make them safer.

This cottage will appeal to some people more than others. It's not to my taste and I would not recommend it to my friends but the reviews would suggest that some people do love it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2017
We do have wired in smoke alarm.( top of the stairs )
The boiler is fixed ( boiler part broke . These things happen )
There are photographs of the cottage on line to see what it's like.
We don't understand why you made the choice , perhaps it was a surprise.
Kind regards

Paul and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shan H
1 review
“Beautiful views and fabulous home from home accommodation”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely short break in beautiful surroundings. Fabulous cottage a short stroll from Matlock Bath. Steep steps and stairs but highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Thank you Shan we really appreciate your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Imladris. The cottage is beautiful, so comfortable and in a great location. It was a lovely idea to have the photobook about the refurbishment of the cottage. We couldn't believe how the owners got the bath up all those steps and into the top bathroom! Imladris is perfectly located, a short walk into Matlock Bath for dinner. A good idea to take a torch with you for the return trip up the steps. We had a little difficulty finding it on our arrival - it was already dark and the ivy had grown over the house number on the wall. The steps seemed daunting that first night in the dark, but it was fine after that. The kitchen is well equipped, has pretty much anything you could want. Very pretty too. It's such a beautiful little place, would definitely consider staying there again. Bed very comfortable, slept to well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views, so clean, beautifully furnished and equipped.
Liked least: Nowhere to put anything in bedroom and bathroom. Lovely items on all the shelves but I'm more of a minimalist but that's personal taste - my friend was totally charmed by all the knick-knacks
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living room and bathroom on top floor; central heating
Liked least: Kitchen; stairs (inside);parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kabebz
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous, fantastic, peaceful haven.”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My self and a friend booked imladris for a two night much needed break, neither of us are in our prime, and we were both sporting different foot injuries and were travelling to Matlock bath on a train.

We were given good clear instructions on all aspects of our stay by Paul and Karen (the owners) and they kindly let us use the property earlier than check in time as we had our cases to drop off.

As described the drive is very steep, and winding, and there are many steps, 47 in total to patio, with a good firm handrail. Our first ascent with cases, and an eager anticipation of arrival left us oldies slightly breathless, not only with the climb but the stunning views, it was a glorious warm and sunny day, there were climbers on the high tor opposite and we sat on the patio to catch our breath and drink in our surroundings, its a pretty patio area with seating for four, and an pretty abundance of plants and bee attracting flowers.

We accessed the property through the back door, which leads to the downstairs toilet/cloakroom and boot room which is bright and airy, due to the huge roof window, right from the moment you enter you can begin to appreciate that this cottage is well loved by the owners and its visitors. The restoration story is available in a book and is well worth a read.

The door ahead leads to a loo and wash hand basin, and the door to your right leads into to the lovely kitchen, we loved the double butler sink, the cute settle and kitchen table and the array of pretty china, all electric appliances need switching on, we soon found the fridge in the pantry and had our provisions stored away, there were plentiful supplies of condiments, and even tea coffee sugar, we bought our own and left the remainder for the next guests. We also added to the condiments.

The cottage is fully equipped, enabling home from home self catering. Nearest supermarket for supplies are Matlock, which has Sainsbury, M&S food, and Co-op, and maybe more, but we saw these three specifically. The cupboards have everything you'd need to prep and cook. Dishwasher built in and also a washer/dryer which all has liquids/tablet needed, we didn't use either of these appliances.

The stairs lead off the kitchen, and ahead is the living room with its stunning (french) fire. The room is comfortably furnished, sofa and two comfy chairs-plenty of cushions and snuggly blankets, again the router needs switching on, (and off upon departure) should you require this facility. The view again from the living room is spectacular. The beautiful front door opens onto the terrace, with the view of the high tor.

The wooden painted stairs are narrow and steep as with all traditional old cottages such as this, leading to a small landing the door to the left is the back double bedroom with a window over the side elevation, and down one step to the ensuite shower room, lovely hot powerful shower, side and roof window sink and loo, (very definitely do need a bath mat) it gets slippy, having read other reviews we used the hand towel to do this.

The beds are very comfortable. Nice Linen's and quality bedding, Plenty of pillows throws and cushions on nice beds, and the furnishing are all in keeping with the cottage, lots of nice knicknacks, everywhere.

The door to the right at the top of the stairs leads to the front double bedroom, again stunning views over the High tor, watching the sun come up over the tor was stunning, built in wardrobe and chest of drawers, with what I would have imagined being an over the stairs cupboard which has now been transformed into an attic bathroom, complete with claw footed roll top slipper bath, sink and the third loo.
The view from the loo is high tor through the velux roof window.

Subsequent trips up and down stairs in and out of the cottage get easier, once you have the measure of them, despite having a broken toe and a badly twisted ankle between us.

We had our lunch on the terrace watching the world go by, and planned our afternoon, as we were slightly encumbered with walked we decided to make use of the plentiful stream of buses. There are bus stops (dale road) within in sight of the bottom of the drive, its £2.10 into Matlock, and free for senior bus pass holders, approx 4/5 mins. We took a trip to Matlock to have a look round, browse some of the many antique and secondhand shops and collect a few supplies. Matlock bath is lacking in supermarkets.

In the boot room there is a huge basket of leaflets or what to do see and sample, there are books, games, dvd's tv etc we didn't use tv/dvd either. We enjoyed the peace and tranquility.

Despite the rain on our last morning, it was lovely sitting in the living room with the door open watching and listening to the rain. Magical atmosphere with the low clouds.

We entertained squirrels who raided the next door bird table, and even managed to meet the local Jay's we could hear squawking. The squirrels come early and they don't mind if you are sitting on the terrace, they come for breakfast. The Jay's come in for brunch!

In essence the cottage is easily accessible if reliant upon public transport, rail and or bus, it's suitable for fit active walkers/cyclists/climbers/bird watchers/photographers and for us not so fit and active if we pace ourselves .

We thoroughly enjoyed sharing a piece of Paul and Karen's second home, and we, as others before us, added to their unusual and quirky collection of possessions with a stoneware corked container we picked up on one of our forages round the local antique and secondhand shops. Which we felt fits right in with the decor, our way of saying thanks for sharing your splendid home with us for two nights.

Would recommend and give 10/10 excellent

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Incredible views
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing